Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3635386 - 08/30/12 09:33 PM My first day in "DayZ".  
Ace_Pilto Offline
Livestreamer/YouTuber
Ace_Pilto  Offline
Livestreamer/YouTuber

Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
***Warning, incidents in this AAR may appear funnier than they actually were.***

Hi all,

It was my first day in "Day Z" today and I was so excited. Luckily for me I am not a newbie to Arma, I had the original game and have had Arma2 for quite a while so the learning curve wasn't too steep.

Anyway, I had been lusting to play DayZ for some time. I had the usual hassles with figuring out how to get everything set up to install DayZ and when I finally finished the patch and mod dance I finally logged on to a server, happily there are plenty of Aussie servers and I was able to get into one with a nice low ping.

The anticipation was palpable, I had been pumping myself up watching Day Z videos for the last week and I was psyched. Spawning in for the first time I immediately went prone and checked out my gear, a bandage, a flashlight and a backpack. I didn't know how to use any of them, none of the tutorials I had read condescended to include this very basic information which is a stupid oversight IMO so I spent my first few minutes trying to click and drag items around in my inventory in an attempt to discover how they worked. I left clicked them, middle clicked them, dragged-and-dropped them, dropped them on the ground and and picked them up again, but nothing, to no avail.

So I said to myself, "Self, screw this, let's go find a gun and figure this crap out later."