Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2583628 - 09/09/08 03:02 AM SOLVED: Need help F4AF won't start *****  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,788
Clydewinder Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Clydewinder  Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,788
New Berlin, WI United States
My previously-functional installation of F4AF seems to have taken a crap after a few months of not playing. When I double click the start shortcut, the screen goes black and I can hear the air-raid siren playing but no visuals. Hitting mouse btn or ESC does not stop the sound and the only way out is CNTRL-ALT-DEL. The only thing that I have changed since last running F4AF is the driver for my 7800 GS card, I'm running 175.19 from the Nvidia website.

Anybody else had or overcome this problem?

Last edited by Clydewinder; 09/10/08 01:30 AM.

Robots are stealing my luggage.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2583643 - 09/09/08 03:53 AM Re: Need help F4AF won't start [Re: Clydewinder]  
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,328
Panther Offline
Senior Member
Panther  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,328
Straight from the Lead-Pursuit Website:

2. When I start the game up I get only a black screen and not even a User Interface.
FSAA (Full Screen Anti-aliasing) currently causes problems, especially when set to 4x, though 2x can cause some problems in cockpits too, particularly for nVidia graphics cards. Switch off FSAA via your Display Settings menu for your graphics card. Consult your graphics card manual or the manufacturer's website if you have difficulty finding this. Also, uninstall and reinstall your graphics card's drivers, and install the latest version of DirectX from the Microsoft website. If you have "ffdshow" installed at the same time, it might be a cause of a conflict, too.

http://www.lead-pursuit.com/FAQ_01.htm#Graphics


Virtual Thunderbirds, LLC | Sponsored by Thrustmaster

ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO, i7 6700k, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB, 980TI 6GB G1 OC, Obutto oZone, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog, CH Pro Pedals, NP TrackIR5, ***Soon*** Oculus Rift
#2583647 - 09/09/08 03:57 AM Re: Need help F4AF won't start [Re: Panther]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,788
Clydewinder Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Clydewinder  Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,788
New Berlin, WI United States
I have FSAA set to "application controlled", should I override to "always off?"


Robots are stealing my luggage.
#2583944 - 09/09/08 04:45 PM Re: Need help F4AF won't start [Re: Clydewinder]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,218
Bard Offline
Member
Bard  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,218
vancouver
search for 'quincunx' in this forum - you should find a thread on the FSAA settings that'll work.


What WW2 Fighter pilots say about Angels and Airspeed:

"Nice job of getting down to the basics - love your choice of a cover!" Col. Clarence 'Bud' Anderson

"I have enjoyed reading angels and airspeed, it should prove good reading for all interested in combat tactics and their application related to the fluid air environment and state of technology in WWII years. All the best as you make it available." - Col. Charles McGee - Tuskegee Airman

NEVER ENGAGE STUPID.
#2584219 - 09/10/08 12:11 AM Re: Need help F4AF won't start [Re: Bard]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,788
Clydewinder Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Clydewinder  Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,788
New Berlin, WI United States
search function inoperative.

disabled all forms of AA in the Nvidia control panel, same result. Black screen, air raid sound but won't advance from that screen. maybe my installation is broken. or i gotta figure out what "ffdshow" is.


Robots are stealing my luggage.
#2584267 - 09/10/08 01:30 AM Re: Need help F4AF won't start [Re: Clydewinder]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,788
Clydewinder Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Clydewinder  Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,788
New Berlin, WI United States
Solved:

I had downloaded a codec pack for Media Player called "K-Lite mega codec pack". After uninstalling, F4AF works normally again. Something to do with that ffdshow hoo-ha. Thanks for your assistance, Bard & Panther!


Robots are stealing my luggage.
#2584319 - 09/10/08 02:52 AM Re: Need help F4AF won't start [Re: Clydewinder]  
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,328
Panther Offline
Senior Member
Panther  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,328
By the way, if you go into your falcon setup and disable startup movie you can reintall that codec pack, and it won't prevent falcon from starting.


Virtual Thunderbirds, LLC | Sponsored by Thrustmaster

ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO, i7 6700k, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB, 980TI 6GB G1 OC, Obutto oZone, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog, CH Pro Pedals, NP TrackIR5, ***Soon*** Oculus Rift
#2586976 - 09/14/08 11:24 PM Re: Need help F4AF won't start [Re: Panther]  
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 539
The Punisher Offline
Member
The Punisher  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 539
Or you can disable the MP42 codec and keep everything else the same.

Check here for details:
http://forums.frugalsworld.com/vbb/showthread.php?p=1375950


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
I'll be damned !!
by NoFlyBoy. 05/11/21 07:13 PM
RM Jet Suit Boarding
by Red2112. 05/08/21 02:07 PM
Idiot for the day
by rwatson. 05/07/21 10:55 AM
The cost of Epic free games
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 08:28 PM
That mettalic smell you feel is actually yours !
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 05:15 PM
Shiny American Rocket, cheaper by the dozen
by Nixer. 05/06/21 12:48 AM
House of the Dragon
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 05:45 PM
Some funny Facebook observations
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 11:53 AM
Chinese Rocket
by carrick58. 05/05/21 12:26 AM
Hope everyone is having a good day
by oldgrognard. 05/04/21 02:09 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0