Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3094084 - 09/15/10 07:11 AM Anyone rebuilt an old TM or Suncom stick for USB?  
GaryM05 Offline
GaryM05  Offline

Golden, CO
I've got a couple of 90's-vintage gameport HOTAS setups moldering away in the box where they've been sitting for the past 10+ years since I stopped playing flight sims, and I'm starting to toy with the idea of rebuilding them using one of the Bodnar boards for easy USB compatibility. One is the old Suncom F-15 Talon, and the other is the venerable TM F22 stick and F16 TQS system.

I'm no electrician, but I figure (perhaps foolishly) that it might not be that tough to just clip the wires coming off of the buttons and pots, and re-route them to a Bodnar board that then plugs into the PC via USB. I know that I would lose the fancy programming (really enjoyed the Stickworks digital upgrade chip and the James Hallows programming software back in the day), but I figure that there must be some sort of 3rd-party generic joystick/macro re-mapping software out there.

Is this project worth doing, or is there more to it than meets the eye? I always loved the feel of the Suncom and TM stuff, and just can't bring myself to buy one of the alien-looking Saitek options. And, after all of the expensive quality issues that I heard about with the Cougar, I'm very hesitant to drop several hundred dollars on the new A-10 HOTAS (especially if I can save that money by re-wiring my existing sticks).

Any thoughts or ideas? I've seen a few posts here and on other boards pointing to an X-Plane thread with a guy who completely re-engineered the Suncom stuff, and while that seems very cool, it's also much further than I'm willing to go for now. I'm just looking to spend a few bucks and a couple of hours to essentially replace the existing circuits with the Bodnar stuff, unless someone tells me I'm crazy to even try. Thanks for any help!

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)