Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3337672 - 07/08/11 06:28 PM BF3 PC specs...  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,506
Magnum Offline
Lifer
Magnum  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,506
Naples, Florida
so that means have the max, lol...

Specifications:
Minimum◦Hard Drive Space: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version
◦Operating System: Windows Vista or Windows 7
◦Processor: Core 2 Duo @ 2.0GHz
◦RAM: 2GB
◦Video Card: DirectX 10 or 11 compatible Nvidia or AMD ATI card

Recommended◦Hard Drive Space: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version
◦Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
◦Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPU
◦RAM: 4GB
◦Video Card: DirectX 11 Nvidia or AMD ATI card, GeForce GTX 460, Radeon Radeon HD 6850

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3337772 - 07/08/11 08:38 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 10,952
Jeevz Offline
Duke of URL
Jeevz  Offline
Duke of URL
Veteran

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 10,952
Clermont, FL
Cool, I'm pretty well above the recommended and I might even have an SSD by then.


Commence to Jigglin'
#3337825 - 07/08/11 09:50 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 209
johncage Offline
Member
johncage  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 209
optimized. beautiful.

but will it be challenging, in the way only realism and depth can provide?

and will it be modable?

i think you know my stance on this.

Last edited by johncage; 07/08/11 09:50 PM.
#3337895 - 07/08/11 11:41 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,506
Magnum Offline
Lifer
Magnum  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,506
Naples, Florida
Don't know your history with gaming or the series... but just FYI, the BF series has never been "realistic", but sure the hell a damn fun game.

BF3 is not a realistic tactical shooter, IMO, it's just a great tactical shooter... tactical being with basic military tactics and teamwork.... again, IMO.

#3337956 - 07/09/11 12:50 AM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 54
kabolla Offline
Junior Member
kabolla  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 54
Bryn Mawr, PA
Any info on TrackIR support?

#3338089 - 07/09/11 05:08 AM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,415
Beltfed Offline
Member
Beltfed  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,415
NYC, NY, USA
d@mn i dont wanna upgrade windows fer this game...


Tim "Beltfed" Harrison
NCOIC,
718th TFW,
SkyScrapers
http://www.718tfw.com
#3338229 - 07/09/11 12:47 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,897
December Offline
Senior Member
December  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,897
LOL Beltfed, you know your going to do it.

I don't think I will be able to run MP on large servers with my system, I may upgrade in the new year or I may not, I am spending more time away from the pc, but I will get it coz it looks sooooooo good.

Last edited by December; 07/09/11 12:49 PM.
#3338248 - 07/09/11 01:47 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 763
Punisher5555 Offline
Member
Punisher5555  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 763
Cleveland, Ohio
As soon as I saw this game and ArmA3 I set my mind to upgrade this summer.


3 Samsung 27" LED Monitors powered by a Zotac 4GB 680GTX. Set at PCI Gen3. 5760 x 1080 resolution.
MSI z68a-gd80 (g3) motherboard
Ivy Bridge 3770k 3.5Ghz
32GB RAM (all .pbo's loaded into a 12GB RamDisk)
TrackIR4
zboard merc keyboard
Saitek X-52 stick/throttle/pedals
Logitech MOMO racing wheel/pedals
Razer Deathadder 3500 black mouse
Sony receiver for 5.1 surround sound. 5 speakers and powered sub-woofer.
#3338263 - 07/09/11 02:32 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,780
PFunk Offline
SimHQ Redneck
PFunk  Offline
SimHQ Redneck
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,780
N. Central Texas
Looks like all I need to do is upgrade to Windows 7.

CPU: Intel Q6600 Kentsfeld (running stock)
RAM: 6GB DDR2
HDD: WD 640GB (32MB cache)
VID: nVidia GTX460

I might...MIGHT...upgrade my CPU to a stronger LGA775 proc.


"A little luck & a little government is necessary to get by, but only a fool places his complete trust in either one." - PJ O'Rourke

www.sixmanfootball.com
#3338266 - 07/09/11 02:40 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,965
saghen Online content
Member
saghen  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,965
USA

I'm hoping that my trusty ol' C2D E8500 3.4GHz with a GTX460 1gb will hold up okay. I want to delay any upgrade until about Summer next year, when Arma 3 comes out.

And btw...where have you guys been? I've been wanting to do some bc2 with you guys, but I'm relegated to playing with some unknown momos on random servers.

#3338269 - 07/09/11 02:46 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,780
PFunk Offline
SimHQ Redneck
PFunk  Offline
SimHQ Redneck
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,780
N. Central Texas
That's a pretty fast proc for gaming, even now. I've run BC2 at full settings with a E8400 without it even breaking a sweat.


"A little luck & a little government is necessary to get by, but only a fool places his complete trust in either one." - PJ O'Rourke

www.sixmanfootball.com
#3338272 - 07/09/11 02:50 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,506
Magnum Offline
Lifer
Magnum  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,506
Naples, Florida
ya, I'm going to have to either upgrade or build a new desktop... funny... my laptop is more powerful then my desktop, and can probably play BF3 as is. lol...

Desktop:
Intel Core2 processor Q6600
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz
NVIDIA GeForce 280 GTX (1024 MB GDDR3)

Laptop:
Intel Core2 i7 2.0 GHz (2.9 Turbo)
4GB DDR2 RAM @ 1600 MHz
NVIDIA GeForce GT 555m (3.0 GB)

#3338273 - 07/09/11 02:53 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,780
PFunk Offline
SimHQ Redneck
PFunk  Offline
SimHQ Redneck
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,780
N. Central Texas
I can't begin to say how much I really don't want to build a new desktop. It's not just that I can't afford it, I really don't want to go through the hassle that comes with custom-building a rig.

True, you get out cheaper, and it generally runs faster than anything on the shelf at Best Buy, but if something breaks, you buy a replacement or ship it off to get it replaced and that's something I really don't have time to faff around with.


"A little luck & a little government is necessary to get by, but only a fool places his complete trust in either one." - PJ O'Rourke

www.sixmanfootball.com
#3338288 - 07/09/11 03:16 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 209
Executioner Offline
Member
Executioner  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 209
Originally Posted By: Magnum

Laptop:
Intel Core2 i7 2.0 GHz (2.9 Turbo)
4GB DDR2 RAM @ 1600 MHz
NVIDIA GeForce GT 555m (3.0 GB)


Good grief! Can you carry that thing one-handed or do you need a little red cart! wink

Where did you get THAT from ??

Of course, it's still short of memory wink

Martin...

#3338295 - 07/09/11 03:21 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,506
Magnum Offline
Lifer
Magnum  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,506
Naples, Florida
sure... 6 pounds... Alienware M14x

#3338297 - 07/09/11 03:27 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 209
Executioner Offline
Member
Executioner  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 209
Originally Posted By: Magnum
sure... 6 pounds... Alienware M14x

Nice unit - never managed to get a gaming laptop - will certainly be a consideration if I start working abroad later in the year.

Martin...

#3338534 - 07/09/11 10:05 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: PFunk]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,715
Dirt_Diver Offline
Member
Dirt_Diver  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,715
Originally Posted By: PFunk
I can't begin to say how much I really don't want to build a new desktop. It's not just that I can't afford it, I really don't want to go through the hassle that comes with custom-building a rig.

True, you get out cheaper, and it generally runs faster than anything on the shelf at Best Buy, but if something breaks, you buy a replacement or ship it off to get it replaced and that's something I really don't have time to faff around with.


I hear ya PFunk. I used to build my own rigs up until my last build a couple years ago which I just had one of the smaller computer shops near by do for me. I just picked and chose all the parts into my shopping cart online and they threw it all together and tested it. Why bother going thru the blood, sweat and tears that come with DIYs? Plus, their work is warrantied.

Still though, Id hold off on upgrading till the game gets released. I have a feeling DICE is going to pull a rabit out of their asses with this title, performance wise, because theyre friggin geniuses! smile


|| Intel Quad Core Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || nVidia GeForce GTX 580 1.5GB || 8 GB Corsair DDR2 || Win 7 64bit ||
|| Logitech G500 Mouse || Logitech Driving Force GT Racing Gear || Saitek Pro Flight Yoke/Quadrant || Saitek X52 Pro Hotas || TrackIR 5 ||
#3343945 - 07/17/11 07:14 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 390
Sharky_Bob Offline
Illustrator
Sharky_Bob  Offline
Illustrator
Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 390
Wastelands
Guess it's time for a new video card, the rest is ok smile


"I'm a fuel injected suicide machine. I am the rocker, I am the roller, I am the out-of-controller!"
http://bmitkov.cghub.com
#3343967 - 07/17/11 07:49 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Magnum]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,737
FearlessFrog Offline
Senior Member
FearlessFrog  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,737
I agree with DD - Dice are usually pretty good on performance/hardware range, and it's worth waiting to see how it works out. The fact that it's also a console release tends to make sure we get a decent DX9/4GB type hardware profile. If you run a lot higher resolution, or just expect a lot more then it certainly helps with better kit, but Dice isn't one of these spend a fortune to get a good base game studios.

I'll probably time a new build around BF3, and it's nice to run it 'before cash spent on bits' and 'after' - but that might just be me. smile

#3345489 - 07/19/11 02:54 PM Re: BF3 PC specs... [Re: Beltfed]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 130
RSharpe Offline
Member
RSharpe  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 130
Originally Posted By: Beltfed
d@mn i dont wanna upgrade windows fer this game...


It's DirectX 10 and 11, so you either have to upgrade from Windows XP or sit this, and most other new games that will be coming out using current technology.


i7 4930K @ 4.7GHz | ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition | 32GB G.Skill Trident X @2400mhz| Caselabs M8 reverse | 2X 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 | GTX 980ti | Dell U3014 | TM HOTAS | TIR 5 | Win7 Pro 64 bit | custom waterloop
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Meatsheild, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Okay guys, can I ask a favor ;-)
by RSColonel_131st. 10/16/17 09:37 PM
Breaker Morant
by Chef. 10/16/17 01:40 PM
Gravitational waves - who knows about these?
by piper. 10/15/17 11:31 PM
Why did the airline pilot take off like this?
by Juggernaut. 10/15/17 08:56 PM
Americans Are The Fattest They've Ever Been
by Haggart. 10/13/17 09:37 PM
woo hoo new ISP
by No105_Archie. 10/13/17 07:15 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0