Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 8 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
#4483514 - 07/20/19 07:05 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
OK, it's ready for testing. The Havoc Engine Gauges are working. Go to the MFD Export Upgrades thread to get it.

MFD Export Upgrade Thread

Attached Files Pic_12.jpg
Last edited by Javelin; 07/20/19 07:23 PM.
#4483515 - 07/20/19 07:13 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
Finally. Great news. Im only on phone one week,cant test now.

#4483575 - 07/21/19 06:44 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
Just had a quick try of this, and it looks great. Finally a fully working Havoc cockpit, like we had in EEAH. Thanks for your work Javelin.

I think this cockpit does need some love though, so probably one for a future project. I always preferred flying this helo in the game. It's like a flying tank.

There's a couple of things I noticed. The right hand gauges seem to increase quicker than the left hand ones. And only when the left hand engine NG reached max, did I get an engine over torque warning, as if that was the "real" value.

I also got a crash to desktop, but there doesn't seem to be a DEBUG.LOG generated to see what it was. So I'm not sure if it's related.

I'll do some more testing.

Edit: Actually, there was a log being generated, as a debug.txt, but it's not in the usual format as the other DEBUG.LOG files. I've attached it.

This time I got another CTD, when I pressed CTRL Q to quit free flight, I get a CTD when it quits.

Attached Files IMAGE019.jpg
debug_log.txt (47 downloads)
Last edited by messyhead; 07/21/19 07:11 AM.
#4483578 - 07/21/19 07:59 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
Done some more testing. When you do manual engine start, and throttle up, the NG bar picks up, then drops to around 60 (on the gauge) and picks up again. The same happens when throttling down.

I took a video of it.


Last edited by messyhead; 07/21/19 08:00 AM.
#4483579 - 07/21/19 08:21 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
I found an old image of the original cockpit. To the right of the engine gauges, there's a couple of other smaller gauges. Does anyone know wht these are for, and would it be possible to get them working?

I wonder if it's the engine NP, as at some point, someone added 2 small needles to the rotor rpm gauge for this, perhaps as it was missing from these gauges.

[Linked Image]

#4483609 - 07/21/19 02:41 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
I don't know what the log file means. It hasn't crashed on my machine at all. I can make you a debug version, or you could compile one on your end since you have the code now.

On the engines, I haven't touched any of the engine operational code at all, all I did was show the numbers on the gauges. I did also noticed that the right side is more reactive than the left. I don't know why. Temperature responds to engine rpm correctly though.

Engine rpm is on the 0 to 200 inner gauges (the top number should be 110, not 200). Someone should fix that, the values are bounded in the code to 120. I don't know what the four small gauges to the right are for. And Rotor rpm is missing. Is that the gauge just to the left of the engine gauges?

I see the glitch in the numbers when it hits 70, then drops down to 60. I'll fix it, that looks like something I did wrong.

#4483617 - 07/21/19 03:42 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
OK, I fixed the 0-60 glitch and Pushed the change up to Master. The download looks the same, I reused cohokum_test16.exe as the name for the cmake executable.

I also made a slight addition to the Hover code. The Heading while in Hover mode was drifting too much after taking out the joystick deadzone, so I added in a dampener to fix it. We don't have a Heading-Lock control like the real helicopters do, but this works just as well. When flying, the tail does it for you, it's only needed when you Hover.

#4483620 - 07/21/19 04:10 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
Originally Posted by Javelin
I don't know what the log file means. It hasn't crashed on my machine at all. I can make you a debug version, or you could compile one on your end since you have the code now.

On the engines, I haven't touched any of the engine operational code at all, all I did was show the numbers on the gauges. I did also noticed that the right side is more reactive than the left. I don't know why. Temperature responds to engine rpm correctly though.

Engine rpm is on the 0 to 200 inner gauges (the top number should be 110, not 200). Someone should fix that, the values are bounded in the code to 120. I don't know what the four small gauges to the right are for. And Rotor rpm is missing. Is that the gauge just to the left of the engine gauges?

I see the glitch in the numbers when it hits 70, then drops down to 60. I'll fix it, that looks like something I did wrong.


Rotor RPM is on the gauge on the left of the cockpit.

#4483627 - 07/21/19 05:46 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
I added a Debug version of the exe into the download just for you. Boy, it takes a long time to compile the code when you do it that way. I have an abbreviated method, I only delete the obj files in the section I'm working on so it only has to recompile a few files, then link the exe together.

#4483735 - 07/22/19 05:39 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
Originally Posted by Javelin
I added a Debug version of the exe into the download just for you. Boy, it takes a long time to compile the code when you do it that way. I have an abbreviated method, I only delete the obj files in the section I'm working on so it only has to recompile a few files, then link the exe together.


Yeah, it takes a while. Noone, as far as I know, has looked at the compile scripts to improve them. The dbug exe enables all the debug messages, and debug windows if you need to see more of what's going on.

#4494401 - 10/24/19 06:15 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
Also i have many ctd, only with the last build. especially if i want to exit ctrl x.
maybe because there is not one full version, and you need to install the messyhead version, then Javelin.there is a big mess with it.

Last edited by BANITA; 10/24/19 06:16 PM.
#4494644 - 10/26/19 10:53 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
I don't think you should have to install both versions one after the other. All of the changes Javelin made, are also in my build. We use the Master branch to build from. Maybe installing both is causing your problems?

#4494691 - 10/26/19 03:25 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
NVM.

Last edited by BANITA; 10/26/19 10:31 PM.
#4494779 - 10/26/19 11:58 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
Even though you removed your post, I got it in the email notification. So to answer the points you made.

I've not been on this forum for a while, or done any coding as I started a new job, and that is taking all my time now, and my free time is family time. So I forgot what I previously have posted.

It's a debug build as it's for testing, and the debug log is more detailed when things go wrong. I've never said it's a stable release. It's still in testing. Only releases made with an installer should be considered stable and complete.

A completely green person should use the last "released" version that was provided with an installer.
If they choose to use other updates for work in progress, they should accept things might not work.

My comment regarding my build being the same as javelin, was to do with the content of the exe as it's built from the same branch. Any additional files that Javelin changed will only be in the download he provided. This is part of the problem with there being no unified approach to making mods.

I can't make promises when I'll be back on this, as life is busy, and takes priority.

#4494838 - 10/27/19 03:08 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
Ok now is more clear.Sorry for the aggressive post, just too much confusion:
your version no have dyn files Javelin.
javelin version no have ka50 cockpit files.
Your version is debug mode.
To be sure - the Javelin version has all your latest ka50 fixes or not?
If yes, properly installation is unpack your version
and next unpack Javelin version, which is commercial without debug mode?

Last edited by BANITA; 10/27/19 03:09 PM.
#4494860 - 10/27/19 06:22 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
I don't think Javelins exe has my code changes.

I'll try and find time this week to make a commercial build, so you should have to use my exe and cockpit files with javelins dyn files

#4494863 - 10/27/19 06:37 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
Thank you notworthy

#4495466 - 11/01/19 03:28 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
Hello guys,

what's going on here? Banita be a little more patient, all of us have to do others things in life, too.

I've seen Javelin has done a lot of good work for the Havoc's pit and also made some more MFD screens exportable.
Messyhead has finished the KA-50 pit and also worked at the Havoc. Thank's to you both for this great work!!!

I will continue my work at the MI28N now, but I also have a lot of other building sites too, so it could take a while.
I had to manage a lot of things and also started again with my homepit.

Since the last time I was working on it, so many things changed again, that I have nearly to start from scratch.

Since ED has released a lot of new very interesting modules I always wanted and my pit never was primarily designed to run with DCS
(cause I never thought that those modules will see the light of day during my lifetime), I have to change many things now to make it also mostly compatible with it.

DCS uses completely other methods for instrument and MFD extraction as BMS does with it's shared memory.
So I have to learn a lot new things like dealing with lua-scripts. This will take also a lot of my free time.





Last edited by Viper1970; 11/01/19 03:31 AM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
Page 8 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Moderated by  messyhead, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Ken Block's - Climbkhana Two
by David Kennard. 11/19/19 05:18 PM
New Half Life game.... but VR only?
by Khai. 11/19/19 01:31 PM
Too Funny
by vonBaur. 11/17/19 04:51 PM
Important Birthday Tomorrow
by rwatson. 11/17/19 12:00 PM
70 weeks of intense self-learning
by MarkG. 11/16/19 07:15 PM
We are about to hit peak Nicolas Cage
by Ajay. 11/16/19 12:52 AM
Legacy Rock Bands
by PanzerMeyer. 11/14/19 04:02 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0