homepage

Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again!

Posted By: Slick

Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/25/19 05:13 PM

Disclaimer: Yes, I know the BMS version is awesome and I should “upgrade” to playing that instead of Allied Force. However, I do not have “years of married-life” available to commit myself to learning this sim all over again. All I want to do right now is just fire it up and play for an hour or two on weekends…go ahead and flame me…I can take it…I’m married remember! 😉


That said, I have had great success so far in installing F4AF and getting it to run on my laptop:

ASUS ROG G752VT
Nvidia 970M (driver version 418.91)
Samsung 960Pro NVM SSD
AOC 24” 144Hz-GSync Monitor
CH Products Fightersitck, Throttle & Pedals
Windows 10 Home

If anyone is interested, here are the steps I took to get it to work (the old posts in this forum were the key to working out the graphics->hat tip to “Comet”):

1. Copied original Falcon4AF disk’s contents and saved to laptop's hard drive
2. Install Falcon4AF
3. Update to last official Lead Pursuit patch 1.0.13
4. Install Aeyes F4AF widescreen cockpits (www.cockpits.nl)
4a. F16AM v1.1
4b. F16CG v1.1
4c. F16CJ v1.4
4d. Run updater again and patch to F16CJ v1.5
5. Install Aeyes 1680 wide splash screen (www.cockpits.nl)
6. Install HiTitles (www.hitiles.com)
7. Add/Create BFops.cfg file with “set g_bForceSoftwareGUI 1“
7a. Save a copy of VERSION.CFG file
7b. Rename file to BFops.cfg
7c. Save file in FalconAF.exe root drive (prevents display issues with Mission Ordnance and Tactical Reference screens)
From <http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3830127/allied-force-debriefing-screen-problem>
8. (Optional) Replace game menu music -> see "Comet" posted comments below
8.a Copy Music files with original Falcon 4.0 install folder
8.b Edit SOUNDRC.IRC file (notepad works fine to do this)
9. (Optional) Replace Korea Campaign videos -> see "MarkG" posted comments below
9.a Copy Movie files from original Falcon 4.0 install folder
9.b Rename OF.AVI, OR.AVI and OT.AVI to IF.AVI, RF.AVI and TS.AVI respectively
10. Edit the game shortcut and check the box to "Disable fullscreen optimizations" -> this will allow you to print the debriefing screen to your local printer (Windows 10 Home)
11. (GeForce video cards) In the Nvidia Control Panel
11a. Set the Anisotropic Filtering to “16x”
11b. Set the Antialiasing-FXAA to “Off” (enabling this will blur the main menu screens)
11c. Set the Antialiasing-Mode to “Override application settings”
11d. Set the Antialiasing-Setting to “8x”

With all that done, I’m getting a smooth 200 FPS with zero jagged edges…so far, no CTD or BSD issues with playing Instant Action and I was able to do my first full on “ramp start and takeoff” this past weekend. That of itself was a major accomplishment for me.

On a side note, I did try the Skunkworks 1.2 mod but couldn’t really tell if it was worth it or not. I can’t find the 2.0 version anywhere online. In addition, I haven’t been able to find any of the additional F4AF theaters that were known to work. I did find some older versions of the Israeli, Desert Storm and Panama theaters from the www.pmctactical.org website, but thought it best not to try them for now as I don’t have the time to do all out reinstall.

Questions:
1. Any thoughts from the “old folks” on using the old 1.2 Skunkworks mod or if anyone has the 2.0 version laying around somewhere…?
2. Any other old Allied Force files/mods that are worth having or passing along? The old file links are now all dead.

Maybe this helps those weekend warriors like me who just want a few “simplified” flight hours in their logbooks! Check Six!!!


Posted By: schnidrman

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/26/19 04:36 AM

lawncareby20mm

neaner

Haha! Couldn't resist! Enjoy what you want, it's your time m8!
Posted By: DBond

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/26/19 02:57 PM

AF rocks. While I think BMS is better all things considered, AF is still the best version of Falcon for campaign players in my opinion.

Not only do you have more control, and better feedback as to the state of affairs, the three X three, dual theater setup is fantastic, and frankly I miss it. Being able to choose from essentially three levels of challenge based purely on Blue and Red OOBs is great.

It would be difficult for someone to argue that BMS doesn't have the superior jet. But equally, it would be hard to argue that BMS has better campaigns.

As to the mod questions... I've never modded my installs, aside from the fact that versions like BMS, Red Viper, OF et all are indeed mods in themselves, I've never bothered to mess with it. Maybe some cockpits years ago but that's it. So I am not much help with those questions.
Posted By: WharfRat

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/26/19 03:39 PM

Personally, I loved AF. I had not tried to get it to work on a newer machine, but I think it is all still there on an older XP setup that I had borrowed a few parts out of. It will be a while before I will have the chance to play that old box, but if you had not found anyone else by then, Maybe i may find some of what you are looking for.
Posted By: Slick

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/26/19 07:20 PM

@WharfRat: Any and all help is greatly appreciated and I'll even give you a dust mask and gloves to handle that old machine of yours!

@DBond: Thanks for the feedback! Nice to know the single player sentiment of AF is still out there.

@schnidrman: Your reply was warmly received… explode salute


This is why my real life sucks...after all my hard work this past weekend to get it installed, I have warehouse inventory duty the next two weeks...no foreseeable AF seat time until mid-March. pitchafit
Posted By: piper

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/27/19 01:21 AM

You should reach out to a simHq member named damson for help. He loves re-visiting these great old games.

He helped me getting EF2000 to work on winXP
Posted By: theOden

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/27/19 07:41 AM

Isn't it AF that allows you to direct wingman or section to target a specific runway when on OCA?
Very nice feature for us singeplayer dudes.
Only wish they'd redirect AI to use Durandal to "saw off" the runway sections with a burst across it over the drop-one-each-700ft-apart that we've done in Falcon since Rommel left north africa.
As I came to understand lately that's how Durandal style bombs are to be deployed.
Posted By: WharfRat

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/27/19 03:33 PM

[quote=Slick]@WharfRat: Any and all help is greatly appreciated and I'll even give you a dust mask and gloves to handle that old machine of yours


Thanks, I am sure I will need them. Probably will need a BobCat just to get to it.........................
Posted By: CyBerkut

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/27/19 08:02 PM

Originally Posted by WharfRat
[quote=Slick]@WharfRat: Any and all help is greatly appreciated and I'll even give you a dust mask and gloves to handle that old machine of yours


Thanks, I am sure I will need them. Probably will need a BobCat just to get to it.........................


No, no, noooo.... Archeological digs are generally done with a hand scoop and a tooth brush! winkngrin
Posted By: MarkG

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/27/19 09:51 PM

Slick,

Are you the same Slick from USAF SuperPro? If so, good to see you again, bud. cheers

Can you believe this is still being hosted?
http://www.bobsyouruncle.net/mcflyhome.htm

++++++++++

All I've ever added to my F4:AF is Hi-Tiles (Tom's payware seasonal terrain). Love the variety but the wintery look most of all.

There was an improved 3D for AF I think (Superpit?), or was that for SP3?

One thing I remember about playing F4:AF on my old 1280x1024 LCD (which I still use) is that the 2D pit had some minor anomalies (or was that 1024x768 on my CRT)?

++++++++++

So, what ever happened to Aeyes(?) and his competitor Dr. Pit? Or was it Dr. Stop? Whichever, I liked them both, the well-worn look of Aeyes and the showroom-fresh look of the other guy's pit.
Posted By: MarkG

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/28/19 02:11 AM

Crap, NyQuil posting sucks...you already have what I listed and much more. I need to look into this.
Posted By: WharfRat

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/28/19 03:34 PM

Originally Posted by CyBerkut
Originally Posted by WharfRat
[quote=Slick]@WharfRat: Any and all help is greatly appreciated and I'll even give you a dust mask and gloves to handle that old machine of yours


Thanks, I am sure I will need them. Probably will need a BobCat just to get to it.........................


No, no, noooo.... Archeological digs are generally done with a hand scoop and a tooth brush! winkngrin



Oh boy, In that case, this may take longer than I thought.......
Posted By: Slick

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 02/28/19 07:30 PM

Copy on the NyQuil...that stuff is known to cause time warps!

Aeyes is around and his website is still up and running: http://www.cockpits.nl

I purchased the three widescreen AF pits last week and was communicating with him on a install/update question.

I'd love to have that Israeli theater for AF (if it was ever finished), but happy to have what's working!
Posted By: Comet

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 01:17 AM

Hello Slick,
I was a big fan of F4:AF, then life happened, but Falcon never left my heart -- I'm looking forward to read your exploits! yep

Earlier in the thread you listed your setup along with the modifications you've made to your install...
... may I humbly suggest the use of the old F4's music instead of the (somewhat uninspired) F4:AF's music? tuner

I got the package to do just that.
Let me know if you're interested and I'll upload it somewhere.

Ciao ciao wave2
Posted By: DBond

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 03:24 PM

Falcon has music? smile
Posted By: MarkG

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 03:49 PM

Originally Posted by DBond
Falcon has music? smile


"F4 - UI1" - "F4 - UI5"

[Linked Image]

My general mood is very susceptible to whatever playlist I'm currently listening to. The above is my flight sim playlist, gets my mindset into all things flight sims (a bit too modern though, missing those excellent Jane's WWII Fighters Big Band tracks).
Posted By: Slick

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 03:49 PM

Originally Posted by Comet
... may I humbly suggest the use of the old F4's music instead of the (somewhat uninspired) F4:AF's music?

I got the package to do just that.
Let me know if you're interested and I'll upload it somewhere.


Thanks Comet! I do have replacing the music on the to-do list. I actually have an install of the original Microprose Falcon 4.0 that I can access and pull the music from. What did you prefer to change...just the main menu music or more?

Is it just a basic copy->paste kind of thing?
Posted By: MarkG

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 03:55 PM

IIRC, the original videos are a direct copy replacement for the Korean theater.

EDIT: You may have to rename them to the AF names (don't remember), but they trigger properly for each campaign.
Posted By: Slick

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 04:26 PM

Originally Posted by MarkG
missing those excellent Jane's WWII Fighters Big Band tracks).


I think it is safe to say that game had some of the best music ever (for a flight sim)...good times they were!!!
Posted By: MarkG

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 04:37 PM

Oh yeah! biggrin

++++++++++

The campaign videos might be more trouble than I remember. Looking over my F4:AF Support Archive, I copied this from somewhere (probably Frugal's), it might help...

==========

To get the "progress movies" and victory/defest movies working in the campaign:

Copy movies off the original Falcon 4.0 CD (the one released back in 1998), and put them in the "movies" directory and the "movies/korea" directories. You should get video clips when successful, and dire news resports (via 'news video') when the DPRK are rolling across the DMZ.

==========

There are 17 different movies for Falcon 4.0 which are supposed to be working. My guess is that F4Af was not shipped with these film components dur to the space requirements on the CD. IN any case, you can get these movies off the original Falcon 4.0 CD that was realeased in 1998, and put them in your movie file (I put it in 3 plac3es to be sure, MOVIES, COMMON and KOREA2005). Im sure only one of these was necessary but I put it in all 3 because I did not want to guess where they really needed to go.

If you cannot obtain these movies and want to make your own, I think you could do it. These are *.AVI movies at 320X240 (yes, small) in a 4:3 aspect ratio. In order for the movies to make sense, you need to know what each one is called and the "event" that triggers it. So here in the rundown:

FILENAME RELEVANT EVENT

E1A.AVI The DPRK is now launching an all out attack on Seoul
E1B.AVI The DPRK has taken Seoul
E2B.AVI Pyongyang falls to combined forces (but war not over yet)
E3.AVI DPRK retreats from South of teh DMZ / heavy resistance
E4.AVI The US retreats from North of the DMZ / heavy resisistance
E5.AVI Fresh troops, materials/reinforcements arrrive. Major
offensive planned against DPRK
E6.AVI Combined Forces Campaign is unraveling/early setbacks
E8.AVI CHINA ENTERS THE WAR against the US
E9.AVI RUSSIAN ENTERS WAR against US
Intro.AVI INtro for teh whole game
OF.AVI Intro for Iron Fortress
OR.AVI Intro for Rolling Fire
OT.AVI Intro for Tiger Spirit
XL.AVI DEFEAT. US PULLS OUT.
XS.AVI GRINDING, BOODY STALEMATE
XT.AVI UN brokers Cease Fire, pyhrric victory, like a stalemate
XW.AVI COALITION VICTORY / CAMPAIGN WON


Most of tehse now work. For whatever reason, I still get teh Lead Pursuit INtro videos to teh campaigns rather than the originals (the originals had lots of video and narration). However, all teh campaign-specific event movies do work. These range from 6-24 MB in size each, and run for 12-30 seconds each or thereabouts. Now I cant wiat to see custom movies. That said, I doubt anything will be as polished as teh originals. I heard 3rd hand that Lead Pursuit may not have had teh space on teh CD to ship the movies, but hopefully someon can host them. This is not hacking the exe or the game, this is adding back movies which belong in the campaign and give it life.

ps. I figured out why the Intro movies for Iron Fortress, Rolling Fire, and Toger SPirit didnt run. These files are renamed IF.AVI, RF.AVI, and TS.AVI in Falcon4 AF. I just reneamed the original files to these and I got the original movies back. Its really cool. You get a lot more.

Falcon 4 Allied Force is really great, but these movies just make it better and the intros are better than the 10 second clips provided with F4AF.

==========
Posted By: MarkG

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 04:50 PM

Wow, I apparently had also purchased the Aeyes' Superpit for AF! thumbsup

I remember now! I wanted to purchase something from Aeyes for being such a cool guy and backing off an issue he had with some Jane's USAF Superpro cockpit graphics or something. Oh man, when I get back from vacation I'm going to get my full AF installed again, maybe even take my X-52 out of storage (been using a simple Wingman Extreme, all I've needed).
Posted By: Slick

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 06:19 PM

Originally Posted by MarkG
...Oh man, when I get back from vacation I'm going to get my full AF installed again...


LOL...I'll probably get banned from the BMS site for this for "contributing to the F4AF delinquencies of others".

And THANKS for passing along the notes on the movie mod!!! Too bad the Balkans theater can't benefit...I feel somewhat "unbalanced" now.
Posted By: MarkG

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 07:39 PM

Well, BMS isn't even an option for me as my main/gaming PC specs are:

2.66GHz
2GB RAM
Radeon X1300
Windows XP (finally upgraded from my favorite Win2000 but only to SP2, SP3 won't work with my production software).

I have several PCs in storage just like it, in case this one dies in my lifetime (doubtful).

I'll just keep replacing cheap toy laptops with Linux for going online. My cheap Andriod tablet just died, my Kindle Touch is dead. Crap today is disposable junk, seems that only my old stuff can go the distance (still using Colorado tape backup with my DOS6.22 PC).
Posted By: Comet

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/01/19 10:24 PM

Originally Posted by Slick
Originally Posted by Comet
... may I humbly suggest the use of the old F4's music instead of the (somewhat uninspired) F4:AF's music?

I got the package to do just that.
Let me know if you're interested and I'll upload it somewhere.


Thanks Comet! I do have replacing the music on the to-do list. I actually have an install of the original Microprose Falcon 4.0 that I can access and pull the music from. What did you prefer to change...just the main menu music or more?

Is it just a basic copy->paste kind of thing?


Yep yep
They're 6 files and 3 folders, arranged like this...

Code
<game install folder> (<-- wherein 'FalconAF.exe' sits)
  |
  +-- <art>
  |     |
  |     +-- <main>
  |           |
  |           +-- soundrc.irc
  |
  +-- <music>
        |
        +-- ui1.wav
        +-- ui2.wav
        +-- ui3.wav
        +-- ui5.wav
        +-- ui6.wav


The *.wav files are taken from original F4 install. Easy.
As for soundrc.irc it's a plain text file containing the following:

Code
[LOADSOUND] A_A_USED           "art\resource\IA_AA.wav"       S_BIT_NORMAL
[LOADSOUND] A_G_USED           "art\resource\IA_AG.wav"       S_BIT_NORMAL


[LOADRESOURCE] SOUND_RES "art\resource\soundfx"
#[LOADSTREAMRES] MUSIC_RES "art\resource\music"

[STREAMSOUND] SND_TAPS	        "music\taps.wav"        S_BIT_NORMAL
[STREAMSOUND] SND_TAKEOFF	    "music\takeoff.wav"        S_BIT_NORMAL

[STREAMSOUND] SND_AMBIENT1        "music\ui1.wav"     S_BIT_NORMAL S_BIT_FADE_OUT S_BIT_LOOP
[LOOPCOUNT]   SND_AMBIENT1 25000
[STREAMSOUND] SND_AMBIENT2        "music\ui2.wav"     S_BIT_NORMAL S_BIT_FADE_IN S_BIT_FADE_OUT S_BIT_LOOP
[LOOPCOUNT]   SND_AMBIENT2 25000
[STREAMSOUND] SND_CAMPAIGN_GOOD   "music\ui3.wav"     S_BIT_NORMAL  S_BIT_FADE_IN S_BIT_FADE_OUT S_BIT_LOOP
[LOOPCOUNT]   SND_CAMPAIGN_GOOD 25000
[STREAMSOUND] SND_CAMPAIGN_MEDIUM "music\ui6.wav"     S_BIT_NORMAL S_BIT_FADE_IN S_BIT_FADE_OUT S_BIT_LOOP
[LOOPCOUNT]   SND_CAMPAIGN_MEDIUM 25000
[STREAMSOUND] SND_CAMPAIGN_BAD    "music\ui5.wav"     S_BIT_NORMAL S_BIT_FADE_IN S_BIT_FADE_OUT S_BIT_LOOP
[LOOPCOUNT]   SND_CAMPAIGN_BAD 25000

[STREAMSOUND] SND_NEWS_REPORT   "music\news.wav" S_BIT_NORMAL

^^ One of the lines is commented-out, I believe (notice the leading #). Anyway, this is what I always used with AF.

Ciao ciao wave2
Posted By: Slick

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/03/19 03:36 PM

Weekend Update: I added steps in my list to edit the music and movie files (hat tip to Comet and MarkG)!

Also, I discovered that in Windows 10 (Home) if you check the box to "disable fullscreen optimizations" - shortcut Compatibility Tab - I was then able to print the mission briefing lists to my local printer. reading



Attached picture Annotation 2019-03-03 103443.jpg
Attached picture IMG.jpg
Posted By: Comet

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/14/19 04:46 PM

Soo..... have you listened closely to ui1.wav?

Ok now, listen to this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eqyD-7AnUKs wink

wave2
Posted By: __lomax__

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 01/25/20 01:47 PM

Hey everybody,

there is a trick to be able to fly every plane - namely by simply renaming the validac.bin file in the folder of the campaign where you want to enable this for. Just give it some random name.

However, I have encountered the problem that none of the other planes' radar works then... Anybody knows this / has a fix???
Posted By: heartc

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/21/20 06:30 AM

Originally Posted by MarkG
This is not hacking the exe or the game, this is adding back movies which belong in the campaign and give it life.


And if it was, do you think I'd care? Worry about the one thing that brought Falcon 4 into a playable state for me first time in ~2005, seven years after I bought it and was never able to play the campaign for more than 1 mission, because it would CTD in the second? The singular thing that is the reasons why people are even still talking about F4 today? Am I supposed to care about that now, because someone, after all these years, went to a lawyer and claimed something belongs to him even though it doesn't?

Nope, don't care.

Nothing against you btw., just my thoughts on that part. And thanks for the heads-up on the videos. Very pertinent to me as I'm flying F4AF again myself right now. Has the best AI of all in my opinion.
Posted By: heartc

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 03/21/20 06:47 AM

Fun note: Just yesterday jumped into stock F4 with patch 1.08 again, and yep, CTD on the second campaign mission. Was a great mission though. Low altitude BDA of an enemy AD site located at Miram Airbase (sp?), met up with the Strikers from a different squadron, fought our way in against MiG-29s (me and my wingman played escort for the strikers in lieu of a dedicated one), then went low alt over the target when getting low on fuel and with the whole thing ending up in a huge air battle, couldn't see any damage though, not sure if the Strikers ever hit anything, then went out full AB at low alt with GMT engaged to avoid troop concentrations, with MiGs pursuing, and just when I got clear and regained altitude over friendly territory to save fuel on my way home, CTD.

I sure am glad for "hackers".
Posted By: Darren

Re: Dusted off F4 Allied Force...again! - 04/03/20 07:52 AM

Anyone know where I can find a Profile for the CH hotas for Allied Force?
© 2020 SimHQ Forums