homepage

WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod

Posted By: JJJ65

WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/17/20 08:39 AM

WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod v 1.0 available here .
Check the readme file included and follow included instructions to enable/install the mod, please.
NOTE: I did not have enough time to test it thoroughly (just three missions sofar), so any bug/improvement reports are welcomed.
Enjoy.
Posted By: Becker01

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/17/20 03:46 PM

Hallo @JJJ65,

a short question:
Mode-Enabler okay, after facilities-mods 0,1,2,4 okay.
But is it possible to use it without ME? What would be the consequence?

Thanks for answer!
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/17/20 05:30 PM

Originally Posted by Becker01
Hallo @JJJ65,

a short question:
Mode-Enabler okay, after facilities-mods 0,1,2,4 okay.
But is it possible to use it without ME? What would be the consequence?

Thanks for answer!

No, Mission Editor is responsible for placement of historically correct planes and units on airfields before each campaign mission. Without ME you will not get correct planes on airfields.
Posted By: FurphyForum

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/17/20 11:52 PM

Someone has been very busy....again thanks. thumbsup
Posted By: BuckeyeBob

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 01:39 AM

Thanks, Jara. Well done!
Posted By: Fullofit

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 11:47 AM

Thanks Jara!
Should this mod be installed before installing custom airfield mods? I’ve noticed orientations and locations of the dromes have changed after installing it last. I guess global layer I set to vanilla WoFF locations.
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 07:30 PM

Originally Posted by Fullofit
Thanks Jara!
Should this mod be installed before installing custom airfield mods? I’ve noticed orientations and locations of the dromes have changed after installing it last. I guess global layer I set to vanilla WoFF locations.

No, it should be installed after. See attached readme, pls.
Posted By: Fullofit

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 08:05 PM

Thanks Jara. In that case this mod overwrites the locations and orientations of the custom airfield mod. Would there have to be a separate mod with modified global layer to retain the locations of the airfield mod, or is there an easy fix?
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 08:37 PM

No, this mod is (or should be) based on custom airfields mod. In fact, it uses data from custom airfields. However, I may be wrong. Can you provide me , pls, with airfield names that are overwritten? I will check it.
Posted By: Fullofit

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 09:00 PM

Well, maybe it’s just me then. When I installed the mod there was a warning with a list of files being overwritten, which I assumed was normal. I’m flying from Auchel in Flanders. Before the mod, the airfield was positioned for take off in the southerly direction. After mod installation I’m taking off in the west direction. Also, the entire airfield was moved away from the forest. Before, it was right adjacent to it. I don’t know about other airfields.
Posted By: Robert_Wiggins

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 09:03 PM

Fullofit

Do you have the consolidated airfields mods active or are you using stock WOFF airfields?
Posted By: Fullofit

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 09:16 PM

Consolidated. That’s what this is about. Jara just said his mod is designed for the airfield mod.
Posted By: Robert_Wiggins

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 10:08 PM

5Hmmm, he must be accessing old data from somewhere.
Posted By: Fullofit

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 10:33 PM

Let’s not ignore the most obvious reason. It could be just me. scuseme
No one else seems to have this problem.
Posted By: Robert_Wiggins

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/18/20 11:14 PM

Oh, that's highly unlikely...
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/19/20 05:25 AM

Originally Posted by Fullofit
Well, maybe it’s just me then. When I installed the mod there was a warning with a list of files being overwritten, which I assumed was normal. I’m flying from Auchel in Flanders. Before the mod, the airfield was positioned for take off in the southerly direction. After mod installation I’m taking off in the west direction. Also, the entire airfield was moved away from the forest. Before, it was right adjacent to it. I don’t know about other airfields.

Location and positioning of arfields is defined in period's global_layer.csv files and I have used these files from WOFF PE 2 - Consolidated Periods and CampaignData Mod by RJW, so it should fully conform to this mod. Did not you compare airfield location pre and post Consolidated Facilities mod? My mod does not modify airfield locations in any way.
Let me check related files today, pls.

EDIT: Just compared both airfields and both are the same (the same coords, headingand elevation):
Quote
airbase 1 N50*30'41.5002 E2*29'30.0002 0 44.196 Auchel / Lozinghem 112 France WW1 usa ---- 1917+6 Consolidated Periods and CampaignData Mod
airbase 1 N50*30'41.5002 E2*29'30.0002 0 44.196 Auchel / Lozinghem 112 France WW1 usa ---- 1917+6 Realistically populated airfields mod

So, there seems to be something wrong with your mods installation than? Because WOFF PE vanilla airfield looks as follows:
Quote
airbase 1 N50*30'51.0000 E2*29'58.0000 112 44.196 Auchel / Lozinghem 112 France WW1 usa

You can see that airfield coordinates differ, as well as airfield heading.
Either you were flying from vanilla airfields before or you have installed the mods incorrectly.
Posted By: Fullofit

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/19/20 04:02 PM

Triple J, we're not in 1917+6 yet.
Check 1917, you will find that it is indeed:

airbase 1 N50*30'51.0000 E2*29'58.0000 112 44.196 Auchel / Lozinghem 112 France WW1 usa - which is the same as vanilla WoFF

Thanks for looking at this insignificant item. salute
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/19/20 05:39 PM

You are right, Fullofit. However, I do not understand how that happened, because these csv files were generated/copied from Consolidated mod by software - no manual alterations confused .
But, anyway, I will generate corrected csv files and respective gls libraries tomorrow. Accept my apology, pls, and thx for pointing me to this bug,Fullofit.
Posted By: Fullofit

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/19/20 06:59 PM

No worries Triple-J. I'm glad you can fix it. In fact, is there a way to make sure the locations/orientations of the 'dromes remain the same throughout all periods? Obviously something that can be done with a "click of a button" as opposed to wading through all global layers and checking visually. Yuck!
Thanks for all your hard work!
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/20/20 12:17 PM

WOFF PE Realistically Populated Airfileds mod v1.1 released, download available here .
Revised and fixed 1917 airfileds - thx to Fullofit for pointing it out.
Posted By: Fullofit

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/20/20 07:19 PM

Thanks Jara!
Posted By: 77_Scout

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 04/22/20 11:55 PM

Originally Posted by JJJ65
Originally Posted by Becker01
Hallo @JJJ65,

a short question:
Mode-Enabler okay, after facilities-mods 0,1,2,4 okay.
But is it possible to use it without ME? What would be the consequence?

Thanks for answer!

No, Mission Editor is responsible for placement of historically correct planes and units on airfields before each campaign mission. Without ME you will not get correct planes on airfields.


A possibly dumb question: If the mod works only with the Mission Editor, would it simplify things to bundle the two together? Perhaps i am missing a wrinkle, but seems easier if it was all wrapped together in ME and people can then hit the button to realistically populate airfields or not? Just thinking out loud duck

Nice work!!
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/05/20 05:18 AM

IMPORTANT NOTICE for users of this mod - Global Layer mod by Xavier Jouve is fully incompatible with this mod because it overwrites all global layers and libraries. Never use both mods simultaneously!
Posted By: Adger

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/05/20 11:53 AM

Thanks Jara for the heads up..As much as I like what Xav is doing,I for one will be sticking to your mod, if there ever made compatible then il certainly take a look at Xavs Global layer mod.
Cheers Adger
Posted By: Redwolf

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/07/20 05:06 PM

Originally Posted by JJJ65
IMPORTANT NOTICE for users of this mod - Global Layer mod by Xavier Jouve is fully incompatible with this mod because it overwrites all global layers and libraries. Never use both mods simultaneously!


? Elevation mod (*terrain mod*) or Landcover mod ? - was only planning using the elevation mod and not the others. Just looking for clarification of "Global Layer mod." Thanks.
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/07/20 06:34 PM

Global Layer Mod here
Posted By: VonS

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/07/20 06:34 PM

Originally Posted by Redwolf
Originally Posted by JJJ65
IMPORTANT NOTICE for users of this mod - Global Layer mod by Xavier Jouve is fully incompatible with this mod because it overwrites all global layers and libraries. Never use both mods simultaneously!


? Elevation mod (*terrain mod*) or Landcover mod ? - was only planning using the elevation mod and not the others. Just looking for clarification of "Global Layer mod." Thanks.


The elevation/terrain mesh mods are essentially compatible with most other mods in WOFF. Also compatible is the water mod and landcover modification patch (ver. 1.032).

The one that is incompatible is the other one called "global layer" and that is at ver. 1.0 I think.

(I do have a further comment, however - if running the landcover modification patch (1.032), without the global layer modification - trench lines may begin to look "interesting," depending on what year of war you are flying in. Often, in 1915, with the landcover patch installed, but without the global layer - I see a mixed combination of green pastures, trenches, shell holes, etc., sometimes even a town or two located right next to the patch trench lines. Will disable Jara's historically populated airfields mod and will enable ver. 1.0 of the global layer - to see if the classic trench lines are then restored, but simply moved further west or east.)

EDIT: Have now test flown with both the global layer and land cover mods installed - trench lines move approx. 10 km to the west of where they usually are in WOFF, and the mixture of trench indentations and green meadows remains, as in my note above - more subtle to spot than the continuous/linked trench lines seen in stock WOTR. Looking forward to more developments with this.

Happy flying all,
Von S
Posted By: HarryH

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/23/20 07:30 PM

Originally Posted by JJJ65
WOFF PE Realistically Populated Airfileds mod v1.1 released, download available here .
Revised and fixed 1917 airfileds - thx to Fullofit for pointing it out.


Hi JJJ, I am getting an error "Caution - Mod Not Found!" when running ME and selecting static only. The PE version 1.1 is installed. I'm not using Xjouve's global layer mod. Any ideas what's broken? I've tried reinstalling both ME and the RPA mods a couple of times without success....

thnks!
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/23/20 08:02 PM

Hi Harry. Are you sure all mods IAW attached readme file are enabled? ME shows this caution when it does not find modified airport names in global layer csv file ( WOFF Senery/Period/campaign year/global_layer/global_layer.csv). Can you send me one of your global_layer.csv files to check compatibility?
BTW, your flying Fridays videos are great. I am looking forward to next episode. thumbsup
Posted By: HarryH

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/23/20 10:00 PM

Originally Posted by JJJ65
Hi Harry. Are you sure all mods IAW attached readme file are enabled? ME shows this caution when it does not find modified airport names in global layer csv file ( WOFF Senery/Period/campaign year/global_layer/global_layer.csv). Can you send me one of your global_layer.csv files to check compatibility?
BTW, your flying Fridays videos are great. I am looking forward to next episode. thumbsup


Thanks JJJ, glad you enjoyed it!

I'll take a look and get back to you. It's quite possible I have other mods wrongly installed.
Posted By: HarryH

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/23/20 11:17 PM

I had installed wrong. My bad. Sorry to have bothered you!
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/24/20 04:48 AM

NP, I am glad if it works.
Posted By: HarryH

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/24/20 02:30 PM

Works perfectly now, thanks! One question I have been meaning to ask for a while now: there are two choices with your mod, static and full. With the full option selected, the mission plane count goes up significantly. Why is that? I had always thought that the difference was simply whether the historically populated flights were in the air or not, but I think perhaps the real difference is that the static option doesn't load the actual 3D models??

Anyhow, ME is such a great mod. Really excellent work Jara, thank you!
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/24/20 05:22 PM

Static - historically correct static planes are placed in front of hangars, but not ready to take off;
Full - static planes (as above) + historically correct planes ready to take off (GAI) or planes preparing to land
Posted By: HarryH

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/24/20 07:03 PM

Originally Posted by JJJ65
Static - historically correct static planes are placed in front of hangars, but not ready to take off;
Full - static planes (as above) + historically correct planes ready to take off (GAI) or planes preparing to land


Thanks Jara. So the WOFF campaign engine is aware of these additional GAI squadrons and will (if triggered by player proximity) put them into action?

I guess a related question: do you cull your additional historical planes' flights along with the campaign generated flights if the player uses that feature of ME to reduce plane counts?

Sorry for all the questions. I've been meaning to get all this stuff straight so that I can talk about it on the Twitch channel without being wrong / stupid smile
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/24/20 07:27 PM

1) Yes, they can be triggered and put into action. However, the trigger distance will keep as a secret wink .
2) Honestly, I am not sure if these additional planes are being culled confused I will have to look into it and adjust the code accordingly. Good question, Harry. Thx for pointing it out.
Posted By: HarryH

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/25/20 01:55 AM

Thanks Jara.

As a general comment, I think it would be really cool if it were possible to see in realtime how many planes / flights will be culled while adjusting the range slider, prior to accepting the result and starting the mission.... my wish list item for the future smile
Posted By: JJJ65

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/25/20 05:44 AM

Unfortunatelly, that would be programmatically very, very difficult to implement.
But back to your previous question - yes, the GAI planes on airfields are culled too. It means, that on airfields located further from player's flight path than selected distance are not placed any GAI flights. Only static planes (inside and in front of hangars).
Posted By: HarryH

Re: WOFF PE Realistically populated airfields mod - 05/26/20 01:57 AM

Excellent, thanks! That's just perfect.
© 2021 SimHQ Forums