homepage

New release - what add ?discussion

Posted By: BANITA

New release - what add ?discussion - 07/03/19 08:02 PM

What should be include from POSSIBLE cool things

mfd export, mi28 and ka50 instruments, hover mod.

From me- rapota blue helicopters and vehicles.
But there is no ees files,i dont know how properly do this.
there all lwo files, for anyone who know how properly save ess files is 30 min work.
Posted By: messyhead

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/03/19 08:05 PM

There's converters in the code repo to convert to/from ees/lwo. You run them from the command line.
Posted By: BANITA

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/03/19 08:13 PM

yes, I mean, there are no new ees files saved with new models. They are only with the old ones.
rapota only made files lwo, without any ees.
you need to open the ees old file in the editor scene and save it with the new model.
Posted By: Javelin

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/03/19 08:38 PM

Are we anywhere close on the external Ka-50N model? With the updated cockpit model & textures, updated instruments, and FLIR installed, the cockpit is almost ready. We could shoot for upgrading the entire Ka-50.
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/03/19 08:39 PM

The MI-28N is still a long hard way to go. Lot harder than the KA-50 was.

I just take a look at the all textures we already have in EECH and what I can reuse also for the MI-28N instruments.

The photos of the MI-28N cockpit are really good, but to use them for the cockpit textures you have to correct every instruments perspective, as if you would look directly centered top down to the instrument.

I can for sure correct some perspective things, but that's a real hard work. Much harder as you would think of. At the moment this is my biggest problem. Much bigger as the 3D work itself.

The MI-28N will really take a while, before finished. I don't know what plans you have for the release of the new version, but I think I will certainly need three months at least to get the MI-28N done. I can not promise this, cause I have a lot other things also, that must be done.
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/03/19 08:55 PM

The new external model of the KA-50 was done two years ago by myself. At the time of working at it I didn't knew that we will make a KA-50N somewhere in future, so I could not say if it is somewhere near finished.

It was only a, what I thought, nicer looking version of the KA-50. The animation of the nose sensors is still missing an I have no clue how this works.

I have not worked at it now. I'm only at the MI-28N at the moment. But I could also switch back to the KA-50, if you like, so that this one is faster finished.
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/03/19 09:09 PM

I will also need some assistance with the animations. I have to learn this from scratch, cause I never done anything with it before. Two years ago I also wanted to make the nose-sensors of the KA-50 working but to get this done you also have to know the code and here is my problem.
Posted By: BANITA

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/03/19 09:27 PM

Imho better make the most complete cockpit and model ka50, it does not make sense to release half done.Mi28 can wait.
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/03/19 11:05 PM

Ok, just tested the KA-50 in EECH. I have seen a lot of textures still missing in the pit. I have made a completely new k50_cockpit_2.tga/bmp back those days. I have tested it now, copying it to EECH, but it hasn't any effect.

Same goes for my completely modified fuselage (I also tested today). Also no textures here, even if I copy the textures I made back two years ago to EECH.

As far as I remember I was further with this work, but I couldn't find the files yet. I will now switch back to the KA-50 and try to fix the missing textures in the pit and also update the external model to the "KA-50N" (the model I already made) and fix those missing textures also. I think I have to do the whole UV-mapping for this again. Maybe I could find the last version of my work, but as things are at the moment I doubt about it.

Attached picture k50_cockpit_2.jpg
Posted By: Javelin

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/04/19 02:11 AM

Hi Viper. I'm going to fix the MFD TV view clarity first, then I'll take a look at the animation code for the sensor turret and guns. They don't pop out of a bay like the Comanche guns do, they just rotate and point. I'm thinking it's similar to the instrument needles animation, but with 2-axis motion instead of just one. The 3D object needs to be a complete ball or cylinder for the camera sensor, so when it rotates in 3D it's solid from every angle. Half a sphere would leave an open hole when rotated. It's only going to take me a day or two to fix the TV cameras, I've already found the code that controls the MFD scene lighting and tinting. And I'm off work for most of the next five days!
Posted By: messyhead

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/04/19 06:09 AM

Originally Posted by Viper1970
Ok, just tested the KA-50 in EECH. I have seen a lot of textures still missing in the pit. I have made a completely new k50_cockpit_2.tga/bmp back those days. I have tested it now, copying it to EECH, but it hasn't any effect.

Same goes for my completely modified fuselage (I also tested today). Also no textures here, even if I copy the textures I made back two years ago to EECH.

As far as I remember I was further with this work, but I couldn't find the files yet. I will now switch back to the KA-50 and try to fix the missing textures in the pit and also update the external model to the "KA-50N" (the model I already made) and fix those missing textures also. I think I have to do the whole UV-mapping for this again. Maybe I could find the last version of my work, but as things are at the moment I doubt about it.


When I'm back I'll send you the updated cockpit files, as I made slight changes when I was doing the instruments
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/04/19 06:57 AM

Ah ok, that's good, thanks. What I've seen yesterday is that the k50_cockpit_2.tga/bmp is still the old one from Soczkien. I've made a new one two years ago, but there are still some missing UV-maps (e.g. the hoops at the top left and right besides the overhead-panel and the inside cockpit window frames etc.).

I have tested it yesterday and the texture has no effect, also it has the same name as the one from Soczkien. I think I had a newer version of the KA-50 cockpit EEO file, including the UV-maps for those missing textures, but I have no clue where it is. I will redo this mapping, so that the cockpit is complete. I think it won't have any effect to the changes you made, cause it's only stuff from the k50_cockpit_2.tga/bmp which isn't relevant to the main front panel and the whole textures which are used for the instruments. Those textures are completely in the first k50_cockpit_1.tga/bmp which is already integrated in our new version of the cockpit. I will recompile the new eeo-file we now use and do the uv-mapping for it.

After fixing this, I will go to the external model of my KA-50N and do some changes, so that Javelin could make the nose-sensors working and we could use it. As far as I know, I did not used full balls for the sensors at final, cause I didn't see any way to get the animations done and it was simpler to make the sensors a part of the fuselage itself.

I will now fix this and also redo the UV-mapping for the external camo and other details. I used the full 4096x4096 two years ago to get smooth textures with some details, but this distorted the textures in there shape and it was hard to get the details matching in size. I will also try to fix this too, cause I have to do the UV-mapping for it again anyway. I hope I can still get a good resolution for the textures, because if I fix the aspect ratio, I will loose a lot of the pixels in the height for the fuselage. At the other hand it's a lot easier to get e.g. the different rims, I also made for each camo, working with the normal, desert and winter textures, cause I can put them to the main texture. The texture itself will still remain 4096x4096.
Posted By: BANITA

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/04/19 08:16 AM

If you have the same name texture tga and bmp you must delete one. Move the same name textures out of eech folder,leave only what you need .
Posted By: messyhead

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/04/19 09:30 AM

I think the sensor ball needs to be a separate object in the scene. So when you create it in the model at the right size and shape, save it as a separate object.
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/04/19 04:38 PM

Quote
If you have the same name texture tga and bmp you must delete one. Move the same name textures out of eech folder,leave only what you need


I have deleted the original file and replaced it with the new one. I also made two versions of all the files related to the cockpit, one TGA and one BMP. It still had no effect, regardless what I did.

It's simply not the last version of my pit I have available at the moment and the odds are good that I have mixed up something before I did the backup, two years ago. The termination of my tenancy came really unexpected and I had to manage so much things, that it could happened easily, that I did a final backup of the wrong version of the KA-50. It's really a problem with missing UV-mappings in the version we now have. It's sadly not the final version we have, but even the final one was not completely finished.


Quote
I think the sensor ball needs to be a separate object in the scene. So when you create it in the model at the right size and shape, save it as a separate object.


Thank's messyhead, I will do this. I hope I will be able to find out what I had already all done. It's really a problem if you have to remember things you did two years ago and never again, cause there were so much other things you had to manage screwy biggrin

I do not want to think about my homepit. Oh god, I have no more clue what I had soldered all together at the electronics confused
Posted By: BANITA

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/04/19 04:59 PM

Good advice for the future - every day I make copy of work on a disk in the cloud gdrive or dropbox.
Posted By: PatrykW

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/04/19 06:35 PM

I think some elements should be fixed:

Missing dirty windscreen in apache - during rain or snow there is no visible crap on the windscreen.

Overtorque - you can fly at 110% without any issues.

Helfire word said by the weapon operator (only when radar version of helfire is used you we can hear word “hellfire” while going through the weapons.

Choppers are moving (actually rocking) on the helipad at the beginning of the mission

That’s it for now ;-)
Posted By: BANITA

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/04/19 06:47 PM

"Missing dirty windscreen in apache - during rain or snow there is no visible crap on the windscreen."
I forgot about it, could you please Javelin or messyhead look at it?it appeared with the add lighting to apache cockpit by thealx. his last work.it's a different rendering mode from I remember.Also no dirty window in ka50? if i good remember.
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/04/19 09:54 PM

I have just seen that the wiper of the KA-50 is a bit far to the left. I think this is an animation problem. Is there a way to correct this, so that the axis attachment is at the right front window frame?
Posted By: Javelin

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/05/19 02:47 AM

On the textures, I've noticed that they tend to stay loaded in the graphics card buffer even after you've shut down EECH all the way and restarted it. I messed with a texture a month ago and had to launch another graphics-intensive program in order to flush the current texture out of the buffer so I could see the changes I had made. Just an observation. It may just apply to my graphics card, but then again it may not.
Posted By: BANITA

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/05/19 06:18 AM

Check other folders,probably you have copy in another place in eech\. Dont do backup graphic files in game folder!. Is always cause mess and problems.
Posted By: PatrykW

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/05/19 10:38 AM

Javelin - thanks for confirming this. When I was redoing the HD textures for AH cockpit it was the most annoying thing - did everything yet at some point the cockpit was still showing the old textures and not the HD ones. I nearly punched the screen lol biggrin
Posted By: messyhead

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 08:04 AM

Do we know how much of the cockpit improvements made it into 1.16?

http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3961554/cockpits-improvement-program#Post3961554
Posted By: BANITA

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 08:34 AM

Nothing frown apache avionics is most complete, mi24 is complete in 50%. Will be great finish apache,new symbology Pnvs,new terrain folowing radar symbolgy 2x bigger mfd resolution new flir symbology wacky
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 08:44 AM

Just seen yesterday while testing, that there is no more WUT-file loaded in the new "cohokum_test12.exe"?

I don't know if this was also the case in the original 1.16 Fix1 version, cause I mainly used the 1.15.4 back those days.
Posted By: PatrykW

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 10:05 AM

Now, big question for you guys - all these improvements will have some impact on the performance. How smooth things will work? Don't get me wrong, these improvements are bloody brilliant but I have noticed that certain things can kill the FPS (or maybe my PC is just a pile of sh£$% biggrin ).

In the past I have noticed that if I have the hi res map on one MFD there is a noticeable performance drop. Smoke can do the same to my FPS. I guessing all this is related to the original code that was not really optimised for modern machines.
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 10:42 AM

Maybe this has also to do with Win 10. Don't know what version of windows you use, I still use the good old Win 7 64. No problems even with my old low spec laptop. Ok, I only did a bit of keyboard-test-flying, no missions or something else.

I avoid Win 10 like plague, although I'm already having Win 10 licenses. But sadly it will not be possible to stay with Win 7 in future with new machines.

No more drivers and even the install is a pain on modern PC's. I had to use an old PS2 keyboard and mouse to setup the system of my girlfriends son (very similar to the systems I still bought).

There is no native support of USB 3.0 in Win 7 and you need this to get your USB-keyboard and mouse running during the setup. On the other hand there is still a support for the old PS/2 confused , but here you need an y-adapter to get both running, mouse and keyboard. And of course you have to own a old PS/2-mouse/keyboard.
Posted By: Javelin

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 11:14 AM

I just ran both cohokum_test12 and 13 and GWUT 1160 shows up in the upper right corner of the screen. I didn't change anything.

Yes, DirectX 9 is very processor oriented, GPU's hadn't taken over the graphics yet back then.
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 11:24 AM

Hmm, must be a problem with my installation. Doesn't really matter I only noticed it yesterday.

I thought that this could have to do something with all the new changes, but if it's running for other guys, there is something wrong with my own install. biggrin
Posted By: BANITA

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 11:33 AM

We taking about fps. Is possible check.why in apache cockpit in cpg i have 10 fps less than in pilot seat? Im 100% sure this,checked many times. Maybe is some bug? Or this is normal?
Posted By: AndyB

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 03:22 PM

Hi Guys,

Very glad to see work being done on the sim again. Thought it was dead for a while there.

I have a request please.

When you are in working on the code, could you look and see, if there any way to include a few exports from the game ?

Specifically I'd like the flare and chaff count exported and, if possible, the "Up Front Display" message exported. I think there was some work done on this a while ago. Even if it was exporting a code for each message. i.e 1=engine on fire, 2=oil pressure low etc

I could pick the codes up in SIOC and re-create the full message to send to the simpit UFD.

Cheers,

Andy
Posted By: Viper1970

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 04:14 PM

Hi Andy,

nice to see you here again!

You are using SIOC for your homepit eek . I had also looked at SIOC as a solution for some things in my homepit, but I quickly resigned with it. It was to complex for my knowledge biggrin

I'm still searching for a solution to get the different simulations I would like to run, working.

I think Javelin is the right guy to ask about exports. He had also made some new other exports for EECH. It would be real nice to have some more exports to have an option to interface them with homecockpit. Don't know if it is possible, but Javelin had made a lot of cool things the last months thumbsup
Posted By: Javelin

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/06/19 06:49 PM

Hi AndyB, I've looked through a bit of the code, it's exported via the commserver app which hasn't been touched in a while. I got it to compile after fixing a few errors. It's a lot more complicated than you'd expect. If I can get the new values inserted into the shared memory data structures, I have no idea how to test it. All I can do is hand it off to you and you'll have to test it and tell me what went wrong. C++ is not my native language, it always takes me a while to figure out what the other guy did.
Posted By: AndyB

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/07/19 02:41 PM

Hi Guys,

Any help would be appreciated. I understand how difficult it is to pick up on someone else's code. I believe it was either Firebird or Thealx that wrote the original commserver app.

If I knew the address range in memory that the shared memory area was located, I could use a memory editor to view it and see if it was right. Like you, C++ is not my language. Did some Pascal, Machine Code, Basic, HTML, ASP, the usual stuff.

Cheers,

Andy
Posted By: Javelin

Re: New release - what add ?discussion - 07/07/19 09:54 PM

OK AndyB, there is a new thread on the Commserver just for you. I think I have it exporting data, but you will have to test it and tell me.
© 2019 SimHQ Forums