Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#689420 - 10/11/02 12:22 AM Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered





The Promised Land

[This message has been edited by Kess (edited 10-10-2002).]

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#689421 - 10/11/02 12:43 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


OMG!!! I can't thank you enough for releasing this today!!!!

#689422 - 10/11/02 01:08 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,118
Brigstock Offline
Senior Member
Brigstock  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,118
London, England
Nice one Kess....

BTW I'm finding myself visiting your site once in a while ,not for updates,just to hear "Spirit in the Sky" now and again.Good man

------------------
RFC266 Brigstock

#689423 - 10/11/02 01:13 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Brigstock, this thing is set up for ddraw all the way around, looks perty too (if you ask me)

#689424 - 10/11/02 02:31 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,015
Dantes Offline
Member
Dantes  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,015
Toronto, Canada
Wow! It's finally here. Thanks Kess for all your great work. Loking forward to trying it out.

S!

#689425 - 10/11/02 02:46 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Looks good, Kess, but it's not compatable with ROTJ II.

Now that I've got it, I can correct that.

#689426 - 10/11/02 04:15 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 2,140
No105_ Savage Offline
Member
No105_ Savage  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 2,140
Houston, Texas, USA
I love the new terrain. I have it installed with ROTJ II, but I now have jagged areas around the perimeter where there used to be a subtle horizon fog effect (I was using Beery's terrain/seasons patch). Is this the incompatibility issue of which you spoke, Von Helton?

BTW-I am running RB3D with a GeForce3 Ti500 with the Glidos wrapper.

Edit: I did a re-install of RB3D, and applied the 2 Promised Land patches. The fog is back, and it's a regular pea-souper.

Following is a link to two screenies showing the terrain with the default install and another (actually RB II patched to RB3D) with ROTJ II installed.
Click here .

I only re-installed RB3D a week ago after hearing about the Glidos wrapper, so the jaggly terrain/fog issue may be a well known one.




[This message has been edited by No105_ Savage (edited 10-11-2002).]

#689427 - 10/11/02 07:33 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I am just blown away with this Promised Land Patch, it's a real full package...the sound pack that is included is just GREAT!!!

I have it running on "Full Autopilot" on the computer beside me and I am going through all the weather/season combinations and love the detail done with the skies and clouds. Trees...effects...it's all included and it's polished looking work.

It's a beautiful piece of work and I am seeing fantastic framerates...

Rather than choose between two great UOP Patch approaches, I have set up two installations of Red Baron, one running ROTJ (with all my collected addons), and the other for PL with perhaps some variations on flight models and other stuff as I explore what it does.

Very nice work...

#689428 - 10/11/02 09:45 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Pardon the noob question, but having a fresh install with RoTJII patched is it possible to add this wonderful terrain set on top without complications/problems?????

John

#689429 - 10/11/02 12:56 PM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by John O'Reilly:
Pardon the noob question, but having a fresh install with RoTJII patched is it possible to add this wonderful terrain set on top without complications/problems?????

John


John, when I installed PL over ROTJ II, my game locked up tight.

When I did a fresh install of RB, installed PL it worked fine.

When I did a fresh install with only ROTJ II it ran fine.

So, there is a conflict somewhere......Shouldn't be hard to find, thankfully.


#689430 - 10/11/02 03:30 PM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


ROTJ and Promised Land patches are not compatible running with one installed on top of each other. They each have different 3d models and ROTJ has extra slots for planes that didn't come with the original sim.

The easiest way to have both is to make two installations of Red Baron and patch each one separately.

You can either use two computers or install Red Baron to two different partitions on one computer.

I swear that they will be playing this sim on the Moon and Beyond!!!

#689431 - 10/11/02 04:32 PM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 2,140
No105_ Savage Offline
Member
No105_ Savage  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 2,140
Houston, Texas, USA
Hans Offen: I've got RB3D on separate partitions now, so I think I will follow your advice and keep it that way, with differing sets of enhancements for each. Promised Land on one and ROTJ II on the other.

Thanks to Glidos, I am just glad I did not give my remaining copy of RB3D away!

#689432 - 10/11/02 04:32 PM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,105
Heini von Seppel Offline
Member
Heini von Seppel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,105
Cologne, Germoney
Kess,

a major achievement.

You can be very proud of your work.

S!
Heini von Seppel

#689433 - 10/11/02 06:34 PM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Not to worry, folks......

I *WILL* find a way to have both.......COUNT ON IT!


#689434 - 10/11/02 08:47 PM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,105
Heini von Seppel Offline
Member
Heini von Seppel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,105
Cologne, Germoney
"I *WILL* find a way to have both.......COUNT ON IT!"

!

#689435 - 10/12/02 12:36 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,118
Brigstock Offline
Senior Member
Brigstock  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,118
London, England
I think by dropping the lowres.vol from simpatch will help compatability between PL and ROTJ.Its the lowres.vol that contains the plane 3d models and such stuff.

------------------
RFC266 Brigstock

#689436 - 10/12/02 01:31 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Brigstock:
I think by dropping the lowres.vol from simpatch will help compatability between PL and ROTJ.Its the lowres.vol that contains the plane 3d models and such stuff.



Already tried that...........Still locked up tight at EOM (end of mission).

Plus, half the sounds disappeared.

I'm close to a solution......


#689437 - 10/12/02 11:25 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,485
Winding Man Offline
Member
Winding Man  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,485
Jhb, South Africa
Great work Kess, thanks, the PL package and Glidos has RB3D running on my comp again after a long absence.
BTW what is the new shell music? - really sombre tune - great mood stuff.
The dynamic campaign really makes a world of difference compared to the recent flightsim campaign offerings.

Winding Man


OBD Software
#689438 - 10/12/02 12:56 PM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Your welcome ;D that music is something that i wrote and recorded for a WW1 sim i was working on with a group of guys a few years back called "17 hours". i was going to be handling the graphics and audio for that sim and had already wrote and recorded up some pieces for various shell screens.

i titled that piece "17 hours" and its part of the PL Shell pack! ive been working on that will show up in its entirety in a future revision of the PL all seasons superpatch.

#689439 - 10/12/02 03:00 PM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,485
Winding Man Offline
Member
Winding Man  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,485
Jhb, South Africa
Kess you are a man of many talents - that is one impressive piece of music - perfect for the scenario that we are trying to re-create.
I find myself listening more to the music than playing.
I tried to play it on my audio system - wrote the WAV to a CD, but the sampling freq must be low, as high freq interpolation noise was bad - either that or I did something wrong in the transfer.
However I wonder if you have a "full" track at 44.1 16bit?
Anyway excellent work.

BTW what "nominal" tweak distances are recommended for the graphics draw distances?

Thanks, Winding Man


OBD Software
#689440 - 10/12/02 08:26 PM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


The original cd quality version of the 17 hours piece at 44Hz wav is huge! your best bet is that if you have some sort of audio editing software see if it will let you resample the wav to 44Hz/16 bit depth then it should burn to CD fine.

OH, ill have to look into recommended distances, will probably have a premodified object.dat file in the RB vol file for the next revision.

[This message has been edited by Kess (edited 10-12-2002).]

#689441 - 10/13/02 01:47 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Kess:
The original cd quality version of the 17 hours piece at 44Hz wav is huge! your best bet is that if you have some sort of audio editing software see if it will let you resample the wav to 44Hz/16 bit depth then it should burn to CD fine.

OH, ill have to look into recommended distances, will probably have a premodified object.dat file in the RB vol file for the next revision.

[This message has been edited by Kess (edited 10-12-2002).]


Probably get drop outs if you do......Going lower is easy, going higher stinks.

#689442 - 10/13/02 03:33 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


ive not really experienced that (probably more apt with a bad recording to begin with) i would think the song would fair well, ill check it out on my system. the sound patch in the all seasons patch is full of all sorts of samples at all types of sample rates, bit depths, and channels... whatever worked best for what i needed.

#689443 - 10/13/02 04:51 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Well just did a trial run using soundforge and it sounded fine.

#689444 - 10/13/02 04:55 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Kess:
Well just did a trial run using soundforge and it sounded fine.


Is Soundforge what you use to make the RB Menu music? I've tried Sound Recorder & a few other aps, and the music won't play!


#689445 - 10/13/02 04:57 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Kess:
OH, ill have to look into recommended distances, will probably have a premodified object.dat file in the RB vol file for the next revision.


What data files are in LowRezVol?

#689446 - 10/13/02 06:20 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 655
Nift Offline
Member
Nift  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 655
Duluth, GA, USA
Three Chears for VonHelton and his efforts to combine these 2 awesome products.

Keep at it, please.

Thanks.

------------------
"Men never do evil so completely and cheerfully as when they do it from religious conviction."
-- Blaise Pascal

"If you try to idiot-proof a society, you get a society full of idiots."
-- Winston Churchill?


"Men never do evil so completely and cheerfully as when they do it from religious conviction."
-- Blaise Pascal

"He who sacrifices freedom for security is neither free nor secure."
-- Ben Franklin

"If you try to idiot-proof a society, you get a society full of idiots."
-- Winston Churchill?
#689447 - 10/13/02 06:32 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Naw james,
i used cakewalk pro for its midi capabilities, i used sample cd's of various classical instrument combo's, violins, oboe's, bass, viola's, things like that along with classical percussion instruments multitracked onto cakewalk tracks. since im a guitarist and cant really play a lick of keyboards (unless you count the three chords to bill withers "lean on me i am able to knock out bits and pieces of melodies that i hear in my head then go in on a midi track and physically edit the parts and clean up the mess but i do use soundforge quite a bit for my sound effect editing.

Quote:
Originally posted by VonHelton:
Is Soundforge what you use to make the RB Menu music? I've tried Sound Recorder & a few other aps, and the music won't play!




#689448 - 10/13/02 06:35 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


sound effects, plane shapes, skins, buildings, most anything thats 2d and 3d compatible. 3d will look in it and ddraw draws its info from it... oh, it also has all the ddraw terrains.


Quote:
Originally posted by VonHelton:
What data files are in LowRezVol?


#689449 - 10/13/02 10:50 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,485
Winding Man Offline
Member
Winding Man  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,485
Jhb, South Africa
Kess - thanks for the tip - I'll try it with a copy of Cool Edit that I am getting next week.

Keep up the wonderful work - I am looking forward to hearing more of your music in the sim - as said that is one helluva moving piece of music: "17Hours" - Hats off.

WM


OBD Software
#689450 - 10/19/02 11:19 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Mirror sites are posted on PL for those that are still in need of the patch.

#689451 - 10/20/02 10:24 PM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Flybert Offline
WingWalkers Staff
Flybert  Offline
WingWalkers Staff
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
California
Guys , you can probably remove or rename PL's lowres.vol from your data directory and have *compatability* with ROTJ , and still have PL's terrains ..

just a guess

*unfortunately* lowres.vol is an undocumented .vol file that take precidence over rb.vol , rbmulti.vol and I think even rbshell.vol .. meaning the game looks to lowres.vol first , and if it finds the file name there , it won't look in the other ,vol files ..

The *problem* we have is that rb.vol is virtually impossible to recompress in it's entirety , or it comes out 4 times it's expected size .. this may be because of the rather unusual pbmp compression that was used for the textures in rb.vol (rbshell.vol and rbmulti.vol).

Hoping to work this out with others soon, however compressing files into .vol files is definitely the *wave* of the future for SP and MP RBII/3D mods ...

#689452 - 10/21/02 12:34 AM Re: Available now at the Promised Land...  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


No you cant, it starts all new problems along with losing the PL soundpack.

Just a FYI.

Quote:
Originally posted by Flybert:
Guys , you can probably remove or rename PL's lowres.vol from your data directory and have *compatability* with ROTJ , and still have PL's terrains ..

just a guess

*unfortunately* lowres.vol is an undocumented .vol file that take precidence over rb.vol , rbmulti.vol and I think even rbshell.vol .. meaning the game looks to lowres.vol first , and if it finds the file name there , it won't look in the other ,vol files ..

The *problem* we have is that rb.vol is virtually impossible to recompress in it's entirety , or it comes out 4 times it's expected size .. this may be because of the rather unusual pbmp compression that was used for the textures in rb.vol (rbshell.vol and rbmulti.vol).

Hoping to work this out with others soon, however compressing files into .vol files is definitely the *wave* of the future for SP and MP RBII/3D mods ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
HMS Northumberland
by RedOneAlpha. 02/26/24 09:01 AM
Eagle Cams
by NoFlyBoy. 02/25/24 07:20 PM
For us old farts
by oldgrognard. 02/25/24 02:03 PM
Forty Four Years Ago....
by F4UDash4. 02/23/24 02:40 AM
Live Moon Landing: NOW
by F4UDash4. 02/22/24 10:46 PM
Excalibur
by PanzerMeyer. 02/22/24 07:29 PM
SimHQ Formula 1 Fantasy League
by DBond. 02/21/24 05:48 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0