Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#689019 - 09/20/02 07:51 AM Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Cele 500 mhz
128 mb ram
ABIT BH-6 mboard
GeForce 4 vid card(latest drivers)
SB Live! soundcard
DSL
recently defragged
Temp Net Files deleted

I get really poor framerates and I dont know why. I cant get a framrate over 25. Most of the time my fps hovers around 10. What can I do to increase my framerate?

------------------
"For a world of happiness and equality is but a fantasy driven by men who envy the ruling class."

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#689020 - 09/20/02 01:05 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Are you using the Glidos wrapper and checking your framerate from the inflight map screen? If so I wouldn't worry about the framerate being at 10.Probably you can't get better.

If you are running RB in DD and not using the wrapper I would think that even with a 500 mhz box you could beat 10-25 fps. I suggest:

Head over to http//:www. madonion.com

register and download the 3D Marks 2001 benchmark utility program.

Run the program to benchmark your system then follow the links to compare your system to others with similar systems.

If you are below what other folks are seeing with their setups(without overclocking), post your results on the board and ask for suggestions to improve performance.

Keep in mind that you will get advise on boosting overall system performance not specific RB tips.Things to do to boost framerate with RB are the standard:reduce resolution,reduce colors, no background programs running,turn off FSAA,and choose the lower graphic settings from RB Preferences /Graphics menu.


Luck!

#689021 - 09/20/02 04:28 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I do have the wrapper but the fps using it was so bad that I had to go back to DD.

Another question...how do I uninstall the wrapper? I couldnt find any uninstall utility nor could I find it on my Remove Programs list.

CPU Score -- 1172
Mem Score -- 878
HDD Score -- 156


------------------
"For a world of happiness and equality is but a fantasy driven by men who envy the ruling class."

[This message has been edited by Teufel Eldritch (edited 09-20-2002).]

#689022 - 09/20/02 06:08 PM Re: Framerate probs  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 677
Tailgunner Offline
Member
Tailgunner  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 677
UK
When you usde the latest version of the wrapper, all you should have done was to copy 2 files into your RB folder.

To remove the wrapper, just delete those 2 files.

If your aren't running in Glide with the wrapper, though, it shouldn't have any impact on yur framerates!


Athlon 64 3000 ( S939)
1024Mb DDR 400 (Don't leave home without it)
GeForce 6800GT
Abit AV8 Pro
#689023 - 09/20/02 06:14 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Teufel Eldritch:
I do have the wrapper but the fps using it was so bad that I had to go back to DD.

Another question...how do I uninstall the wrapper? I couldnt find any uninstall utility nor could I find it on my Remove Programs list.

CPU Score -- 1172
Mem Score -- 878
HDD Score -- 156



To remove the two files which constitute the Glidos wrapper open the RedBaron3D directory and remove the:

Glide2x.dll

OpenGLid

files.


If you really enjoy RB maybe you should consider getting a VooDoo card.Your system should be more than adequate to run RB at a good framerate.RB in DD without the wrapper is just too ugly to comptemplate(at least for us old diehards)

#689024 - 09/20/02 06:43 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


There are some enhanced DD terrains at Swwisa. However, their website is down. The delphi forum still works, and DeltaK is the Keeper of All Things DirectDraw. You can go to there, or wait until (hopefully) this weekend and go to swwisa.net to get them.

Droops

#689025 - 09/20/02 07:05 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Its strange that I am expierencing these fps probs as back in the day(a few years ago) I played RB w/no probs at all and w/o a Voodoo. Sure I didnt have the Voodoo graphics but my game ran fine. Something is wrong somewhere. There is no reason(there is, but you know what I mean) that I shouldnt be getting a decent framerate.

------------------
"For a world of happiness and equality is but a fantasy driven by men who envy the ruling class."

#689026 - 09/20/02 11:51 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


If you haven't already, try turning off the sunglare (in realism prefrences). Sunglare and the 'red screen' when wounded are fps killers with the wrapper...

Cheers!

#689027 - 09/21/02 03:16 AM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


This is my Glide ini settings. Perhaps I need to adjust them.

Configuration File for OpenGLide

Version=Version0.06b10

[Options]
EnableMMX=0
CreateWindow=0
InitFullScreen=1
EnableMipMaps=1
EnableFog=1
EnablePrecisionFix=0
EnableWrap565=0
EnablePackedPixelsEXT=0
EnableVertexArrayEXT=0
EnableSecondaryColorEXT=0
EnableFogCoordEXT=1
PalettePrecision=32
TextureMemorySize=32
WrapperPriority=2



------------------
"For a world of happiness and equality is but a fantasy driven by men who envy the ruling class."

#689028 - 09/21/02 05:45 AM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Teufel Eldritch:
This is my Glide ini settings. Perhaps I need to adjust them.

Configuration File for OpenGLide

Version=Version0.06b10

[Options]
EnableMMX=0
CreateWindow=0
InitFullScreen=1
EnableMipMaps=1
EnableFog=1
EnablePrecisionFix=0
EnableWrap565=0
EnablePackedPixelsEXT=0
EnableVertexArrayEXT=0
EnableSecondaryColorEXT=0
EnableFogCoordEXT=1
PalettePrecision=32
TextureMemorySize=32
WrapperPriority=2



Try these settings.....

[Options]
EnableMMX=0
CreateWindow=0
InitFullScreen=1
EnableMipMaps=0
EnableFog=1
EnablePrecisionFix=1
EnableWrap565=0
EnablePackedPixelsEXT=0
EnableVertexArrayEXT=0
EnableSecondaryColorEXT=0
EnableFogCoordEXT=1
PalettePrecision=32
TextureMemorySize=8
WrapperPriority=2

#689029 - 09/21/02 06:26 AM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Mmmmm that just made it worse. =*(

------------------
"For a world of happiness and equality is but a fantasy driven by men who envy the ruling class."

#689030 - 09/21/02 04:55 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Teufel Eldritch:
Mmmmm that just made it worse. =*(



NUTS!



Ok, first, get the latest version of the wrapper. Second, are you running any UOP's, such as ROTJ or WFP?

?

#689031 - 09/21/02 05:07 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Its running better now. Not only did I dl the new wrapper files but I also tweaked my card settings a bit. I also get better fps if I dont have the fps display on the screen. That little display takes a huge chunk outta my fps. Prolly something like 10 frames or so...cant be sure tho. Im getting 15-20 w/the fps display and prolly 25-30 w/o it now. A combination of three things improved my fps. Im happy.

------------------
"For a world of happiness and equality is but a fantasy driven by men who envy the ruling class."

#689032 - 09/21/02 06:39 PM Re: Framerate probs  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 25
Andrewsdad Offline
Junior Member
Andrewsdad  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 25
Concord, California
Salute, All !!!
I have not been able to successfully uninstal the glidos wrapper.
When I shut down RB and try to remove the glide file I get the "Cannot remove file because the disk is full or in use" message. The only way I can remove it is to completely uninstall RB.

What am I doing wrong??
Hopefully, the wrapper will soon work on my machine and this won't be a problem!!!

And one other thing...
The wrapper seems to goof up the SP campaign game. The after action briefing is all wrong and the pilot statistics are messed up too.

Thanks for any advice...
AD

#689033 - 09/21/02 07:43 PM Re: Framerate probs  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,105
Heini von Seppel Offline
Member
Heini von Seppel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,105
Cologne, Germoney
Thanks for the tip with the Alt-F frame coun ter !
I was wondering why people with half the processor and half the graphic card got more frames than me.
So I put out the frame counter and counted with Fraps. The RB frame counter eats about twenty frames on my system !

Folks, whatever you do, DON`T measure with RBs counter, use FRAPS

From the latest Glidos release I only have minor issues remaining : The muzzle flash has distorted blackish colours now (did not before) and I still get a huge drop in frames whenever the sun or the moon is on the screen.
Also very occasional transparency errors on rudders and such.
Apart from that, its fantastic !!!

This will start a second life for this classic sim.

And Herr Baron von Helton, your Flugzeuge look gorgeous in 1024x768

#689034 - 09/21/02 11:10 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Andrewsdad:
Salute, All !!!
I have not been able to successfully uninstal the glidos wrapper.
When I shut down RB and try to remove the glide file I get the "Cannot remove file because the disk is full or in use" message. The only way I can remove it is to completely uninstall RB.

What am I doing wrong??
Hopefully, the wrapper will soon work on my machine and this won't be a problem!!!

And one other thing...
The wrapper seems to goof up the SP campaign game. The after action briefing is all wrong and the pilot statistics are messed up too.

Thanks for any advice...
AD



I just opened the Sierra/RedBaron3D folder on my installation and dragged the 2 Glidos files to desktop.Then I stuck them back in.No problems.

It should cause no problem to do it that way.Drag them to recycle instead of to desktop.

What method were you using to uninstall when you got the message?



Also there is something else at play if your SP is messed up ,I think.Are we talking about the same wrapper...from Glidos.net...the RB specific one?


[This message has been edited by Seminole (edited 09-21-2002).]

#689035 - 09/21/02 11:25 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Heini von Seppel:
[B]Folks, whatever you do, DON`T measure with RBs counter, use FRAPS
[B]



I always thought the in game counter might be under reporting.It tells me 25-70 FPS and yet the planes zoom around like jets at times.Kind of reminds me of years back when I got a new 186 MHz computer and installed "Their Finest Hour" on it....I could fly across the channel in 2 seconds and one brief squeeze of the trigger and my guns were empty.

#689036 - 09/22/02 01:52 AM Re: Framerate probs  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 25
Andrewsdad Offline
Junior Member
Andrewsdad  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 25
Concord, California
Salute, Seminole !!

I used the Glide2x.dll and the OpenGL.ini for RB.

I did not try to delete them via the desktop, but I may take a whirl at that. I think that Pentallion was having the same problem as I am with the inability to delete the .dll file because of a message that it is in use.

As for the SP after action sequence and the pilot log not working... I have no idea about that.

AD

#689037 - 09/22/02 02:24 AM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Are you using any kind of campaign manager like that might be screwing up your debriefs?

That's the only thing I can think of off hand.

#689038 - 09/22/02 02:38 AM Re: Framerate probs  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,967
Hentzau Offline
Member
Hentzau  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,967
Tampa, Florida USA
Andrewsdad, I had something similar with an evoodoo Glide3X.dll that I had renamed to Glide2X.dll and dropped in the RB3D folder. Not sure what I did exactly, but eventually was able to delete it and/or move it to recycle and then delete it. Make sure that the SP and MMP game are both set to DD instead of glide before deleting it. I think that might have been my problem. Might also want to have everything but "systray" and "explorer" turned off before trying to delete.

I think the idea of the wrapper is that its going to work for the newer/faster generation of computers with newer video cards like geforce 3s and 4s. If you're using an old system with an old video card it might be better to use file sets that have been done with DD in mind. I guess I could be wrong about that and if so great, but it seems realistic.

#689039 - 09/22/02 07:54 AM Re: Framerate probs  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 25
Andrewsdad Offline
Junior Member
Andrewsdad  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 25
Concord, California
Thanks for the replies, guys.

Seminole, no I am not using anything but Rens' .vol file and Flyberts paints. I am flying the stock game campaign and that is the one that goofs up.

Hentzau, I think that I will stick with the DD stuff that is with the .vol from Rens. I am pretty happy with it, the ground is neat, the aircraft models are superb and the sound is also good.
And the rivers are brown !!!!
I deleated the wrapper by reinstalling RB after saving the paint, 1078 patch and Rens' downloaded files.

If/when I upgrade to a new computer I will try the wrapper again.
AD

#689040 - 09/22/02 08:58 AM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Sounds like some people need to upgrade to Windows XP to me......

Windows 95/98 have "hooks" in everything, and can report them as still running even though they are not.

This is *GREATLY* lessened in WinXP.


#689041 - 09/22/02 09:00 AM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Heini von Seppel:
And Herr Baron von Helton, your Flugzeuge look gorgeous in 1024x768


Danke!



S!

#689042 - 09/22/02 09:00 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Heini von Seppel:
So I put out the frame counter and counted with Fraps. The RB frame counter eats about twenty frames on my system !

Folks, whatever you do, DON`T measure with RBs counter, use FRAPS
Even using FRAPS lowers my fps. =( Mebbe even more than the default counter.



------------------
"For a world of happiness and equality is but a fantasy driven by men who envy the ruling class."

#689043 - 09/23/02 05:36 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I found my problem deleting the files was that I had originally downloaded them to a temp file and then copied them to Red Baron instead of moving them there. Everytime I deleted the files in Red Barons folder they came right back again! My Recycle Bin had several copies of deleted glide2x.dll files in it! Even emptying the bin didn't help. Finally, I remembered the temp file and deleted them from there. Presto! No more problems deleting the files.

Somehow it was putting itself back into the Red Baron folder from the temp file. So if you cannot delete the file, make sure it is not somewhere else on your system.

Oh, and don't tell me that's impossible or ask me why that would be the case. I haven't a clue why it is that way, I only know it's what happened to me.

[This message has been edited by Pen (edited 09-23-2002).]

#689044 - 09/23/02 06:30 PM Re: Framerate probs  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I believe you, Pen!

I repair computers, and I've ran into some pretty wierd stuff!


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
HMS Northumberland
by RedOneAlpha. 02/26/24 09:01 AM
Eagle Cams
by NoFlyBoy. 02/25/24 07:20 PM
For us old farts
by oldgrognard. 02/25/24 02:03 PM
Forty Four Years Ago....
by F4UDash4. 02/23/24 02:40 AM
Live Moon Landing: NOW
by F4UDash4. 02/22/24 10:46 PM
Excalibur
by PanzerMeyer. 02/22/24 07:29 PM
SimHQ Formula 1 Fantasy League
by DBond. 02/21/24 05:48 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0