Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#688383 - 05/18/02 12:53 PM Glide Wrapper - Good news!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,635
vonOben Offline
Senior Member
vonOben  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,635
Skåne, Sweden
I e-mailed the creator of the e-Voodoo glide wrapper last week and he is still working on the Red Baron 3D support. He has mailed me a working version yesterday! I haven tried it since I have a Voodoo card, but if any one would like to try it I can mail it to you.

Quote

I've fixed paletted textures problem, now it works in
16 bits mode without glitches...

Next step is speedup paletted textures emulation..."
End quote.

------------------
vonOben


Wer den Tod frchtet, hat das Leben verloren. /Johann Gottfried Seume

vonOben's Flight Sim Mods

[This message has been edited by vonOben (edited 05-18-2002).]


vonOben


Wer den Tod fürchtet, hat das Leben verloren. /Johann Gottfried Seume

vonOben's Flight Sim Mods

EAW Newbie Tutorial


Finnish Air War
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#688384 - 05/18/02 03:26 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Howdy
I'd like to give it a go with my radeon.

bigweasel.geo@yahoo.com

Thx!
Weasel

#688385 - 05/18/02 04:10 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I would very much appreciate it if you could e-mail me the wrapper,as I really miss playing this game,thanks!(e-mail adress Bob.silverdome@blueyonder.co.uk)

[This message has been edited by oor wullie (edited 05-18-2002).]

#688386 - 05/18/02 08:31 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I'd also much appreciate if you could mail it to me :
jmgraumann(at)freenet.de (replace (at) by @)

Thanks

#688387 - 05/19/02 11:13 AM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,118
Brigstock Offline
Senior Member
Brigstock  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,118
London, England
Mahoney,who kindly sent the e-voodoo guy a RB CD so he could work on the wrapper for us,recieved the latest incarnation about a week ago.I tested it and didn't get very good results.A lot of the graphics are missing and the FPS was between 5-10,which ain't good.
Please remember this is a work in progress and is a long way from finished.I'd wait until he has got a bit further with it.

------------------
RFC 266_Brigstock

#688388 - 05/19/02 03:12 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I'd like to try this wrapper, jmartin5@stx.rr.com . Appreciate these guys efforts. Red Baron 3D is too fun to let it die.

Salute
Chaingun

#688389 - 05/20/02 07:13 AM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,635
vonOben Offline
Senior Member
vonOben  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,635
Skåne, Sweden
eVoodoo XP 3.1 is out!

Quote
Sunday, 19 May 2002
New release of eVoodoo XP that includes two glide wrapper versions, Glide2 version and Glide3 version.

eVoodoo 2.2 includes support for new PC games compatibles with 3Dfx cards. As games that use propietary texture management based on 3DF files. Other game that now runs at 100% is Red Baron 3D after I modify paletted textures core and speedup framebvuffer routines.

eVoodoo 3.1 now can run games as FIFA, NBA Live, Test Drive 5, and starts to work with Lewpy plugin fot PSEmu Pro, althought still have some problems with textures. In Glide64 some problems with color combiners have been corrected and flashing problem have been fixed.

Finally in eVoodoo Control Panel has been added an utility to patch Electronic Arts games for use them with eVoodoo.

End Quote

Download it at http://evoodoo.emulation64.com/ and let us know how it works.

vonOben


vonOben


Wer den Tod fürchtet, hat das Leben verloren. /Johann Gottfried Seume

vonOben's Flight Sim Mods

EAW Newbie Tutorial


Finnish Air War
#688390 - 05/20/02 08:20 AM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,118
Brigstock Offline
Senior Member
Brigstock  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,118
London, England
How it is working for others,this is the best I can get it working on my Geforce





note the FPS also,first picture is 1.92 and second is 2.05!!

------------------
RFC 266_Brigstock

[This message has been edited by Brigstock (edited 05-20-2002).]

#688391 - 05/20/02 03:56 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,635
vonOben Offline
Senior Member
vonOben  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,635
Skåne, Sweden


Quote:
Originally posted by Brigstock:
Please remember this is a work in progress and is a long way from finished.


It seems as you were right.




------------------
vonOben


Wer den Tod frchtet, hat das Leben verloren. /Johann Gottfried Seume

vonOben's Flight Sim Mods


vonOben


Wer den Tod fürchtet, hat das Leben verloren. /Johann Gottfried Seume

vonOben's Flight Sim Mods

EAW Newbie Tutorial


Finnish Air War
#688392 - 05/20/02 08:43 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Howdy
I got Salvadore Dali Rb3D also on my Radeon 8500. Through it's sheer processing power
I was able to double the FPS that Brigstock
was able to get. 4-6FPS Weee hooo

By the time the ATI R600 gets here it's will
be flyable offline. I think I'll have to
wait for the R900 for online use

S! n thx or the Trial!!!
Weasel

#688393 - 05/20/02 11:24 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 83
DeltaK Offline
Junior Member
DeltaK  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 83
Germany
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Brigstock:
[B]How it is working for others,this is the best I can get it working on my Geforce

Same result but without the river.

[This message has been edited by DeltaK (edited 05-20-2002).]

#688394 - 07/19/02 06:49 AM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I tried the newer eVoodoo XP 3.2. Part of the terrain is visible now, together with the cockpit and the river. Framerate is still a problem and the horizon is missing. But still an improvement. (Athlon 500, GeForce 2 GTS)

#688395 - 07/30/02 07:46 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I just tried 3.2 version and it looks great just like the real game on my end. But problem is frame rate. I'm getting about 1 fps to 4 fps. Hardly playable but it looks good.
Edit..... Well after playing around a little more I found out It aint that good.








[This message has been edited by BonvonWinkle (edited 07-30-2002).]

#688396 - 07/30/02 10:42 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,118
Brigstock Offline
Senior Member
Brigstock  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,118
London, England
Now that is a step in the right direction at least.

------------------
RFC 266_Brigstock

#688397 - 07/30/02 11:01 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,105
Heini von Seppel Offline
Member
Heini von Seppel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,105
Cologne, Germoney
jepp, looks much better than before.

I would gladly pay up to 15 for a Glide patch which works as good as the one for Grand Prix Legends.

#688398 - 08/02/02 06:14 AM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,568
castiglione Offline
Senior Member
castiglione  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,568
Houston, Texas, United States ...
Quote:
Originally posted by Heini von Seppel:
jepp, looks much better than before.

I would gladly pay up to 15 for a Glide patch which works as good as the one for Grand Prix Legends.


Argh...so close yet so far.





------------------
"Forget it Ming, Dale's with me." - Flash Gordon


"Hello! How are you gentlemen?

You have no chance to survive, make your time!"
#688399 - 08/19/02 07:58 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I think they are using the wrong Voodoo driver, myself.........

#688400 - 08/31/02 05:40 AM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,635
vonOben Offline
Senior Member
vonOben  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,635
Skåne, Sweden
Quote:
Originally posted by VonHelton:
I think they are using the wrong Voodoo driver, myself.........


Do you mean they should use eVoodoo 2.x not eVoodoo3.x for RB?




------------------
vonOben


Wer den Tod frchtet, hat das Leben verloren. /Johann Gottfried Seume

vonOben's Flight Sim Mods


vonOben


Wer den Tod fürchtet, hat das Leben verloren. /Johann Gottfried Seume

vonOben's Flight Sim Mods

EAW Newbie Tutorial


Finnish Air War
#688401 - 08/31/02 02:54 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Different Voodoo Cards require different drivers.........This is logical.

The driver for my 4500 will not work properly for your Voodoo II, for example.

Further, there are different platforms, me on Windows XP, you or someone else on Win98SE.

When hunting for drivers that are compatable with XP, for example, I've found very few.

I think their problem is that they are trying to make "one size fits all", and such an action won't work.

They will need drivers that are platform & card specific in order to succeed at this.

I have yet to find a set of Voodoo tools that work on XP, and that is frustrating, but at least the drivers do.

For this venture, the tools arent nessesary, so that's one less hurdle to jump over. However, it would be nice if something was in the settings tab of Windows.......Especially the "Limit Texture to 2 meg" option.

If they would release platform & card specific sets, they will do better.

For XP with a Voodoo 3 or higher, I recommend using the Dozer Drivers as a base.

For Win9x with Voodoo 3 or higher, I recommend Omega Drivers.

For Voodoo 2 drivers, I'd have to check. I don't remember seeing V2 drivers for XP, but I might be mistaken on that.

As you can see, the immulator needs to be specific.

#688402 - 08/31/02 03:07 PM Re: Glide Wrapper - Good news!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I think I might know of a more productive way........Contact Raedeon, and see if they would be willing to make a card that has Glide in addition to the other formats.

This will boost Raedeon's customer base & bring in additional income they might not normally have gotten.

nVidia has made it abundantly clear they have no intention of helping the THOUSANDS of glide people out there, so their competitor, Raedeon, is our best shot.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
HMS Northumberland
by RedOneAlpha. 02/26/24 09:01 AM
Eagle Cams
by NoFlyBoy. 02/25/24 07:20 PM
For us old farts
by oldgrognard. 02/25/24 02:03 PM
Forty Four Years Ago....
by F4UDash4. 02/23/24 02:40 AM
Live Moon Landing: NOW
by F4UDash4. 02/22/24 10:46 PM
Excalibur
by PanzerMeyer. 02/22/24 07:29 PM
SimHQ Formula 1 Fantasy League
by DBond. 02/21/24 05:48 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0