Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#676419 - 01/30/06 08:06 PM Please help! Problems with Operation: Flashpoint  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 86
** HELLFIRE ** Offline
Junior Member
** HELLFIRE **  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 86
I recently re-installed OFP, including Resistance, and patched it to 1.96; everything seems to install correctly without any errors, but whenever I try to play, I get a CTD after a few seconds. I used to play OFP before and never had these kind of problems. Any ideas? Thanks!

#676420 - 01/31/06 12:34 AM Re: Please help! Problems with Operation: Flashpoint  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 760
Wicked Offline
Member
Wicked  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 760
Germany and the Netherlands
Quote:
Originally posted by ** HELLFIRE **:
I recently re-installed OFP, including Resistance, and patched it to 1.96; everything seems to install correctly without any errors, but whenever I try to play, I get a CTD after a few seconds. I used to play OFP before and never had these kind of problems. Any ideas? Thanks!
I have to guess here:

1. Turn your terrain detail level down to normal or lower in the game's main options menu. This you have to do when you get memory problems.
2. The refresh rate could be a problem? Not sure about this.

Hope this helps.

Cheers!


Hnschen klein ging allein
In die weite Welt hinein.
#676421 - 01/31/06 05:27 PM Re: Please help! Problems with Operation: Flashpoint  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 86
** HELLFIRE ** Offline
Junior Member
** HELLFIRE **  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 86
Nothing \:\(

I even tried uninstalling and reinstalling the game; sometimes, I'm able to play for a little longer before it crashes; sometimes, it crashes right away.

Could it be a hardware problem?

#676422 - 01/31/06 06:06 PM Re: Please help! Problems with Operation: Flashpoint  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 760
Wicked Offline
Member
Wicked  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 760
Germany and the Netherlands
Quote:
Originally posted by ** HELLFIRE **:
Nothing \:\(

I even tried uninstalling and reinstalling the game; sometimes, I'm able to play for a little longer before it crashes; sometimes, it crashes right away.

Could it be a hardware problem?
Sorry, no clue here too. Perhaps its wise to have a look here: OFP Forums

Cheers!


Hnschen klein ging allein
In die weite Welt hinein.
#676423 - 01/31/06 08:27 PM Re: Please help! Problems with Operation: Flashpoint  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 320
Bars Offline
Member
Bars  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 320
Today i fly a La-5F!
Quote:
Originally posted by ** HELLFIRE **:
Nothing \:\(

I even tried uninstalling and reinstalling the game; sometimes, I'm able to play for a little longer before it crashes; sometimes, it crashes right away.

Could it be a hardware problem?
What sound card you have? There are known crash problems with some of the sound cards /mostly onboard sound/. Try turning hardware acceleration in Windows to "none", and try playing OFP.


"Therefore, in Korea, we did not view the Americans as enemies, but only as opponents. Our motto in the air was 'Competition - with whomever.'"
#676424 - 02/01/06 01:33 AM Re: Please help! Problems with Operation: Flashpoint  
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 416
joeblow Offline
Member
joeblow  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 416
Canada
Ya, if you dont have it sorted yet, you might want to list your system specs.


Hardcore� - Remember me?
#676425 - 03/02/06 04:17 PM Re: Please help! Problems with Operation: Flashpoint  
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,585
Hengist Offline
Senior Member
Hengist  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,585
Balsa Munitions R&D Institutio...
Samething happened to me. I found out that the culprit was the duff 1.96 patch on the GOTY CD. I downloaded one from the Codemaster website and all is ok now.




Hengist.
#676426 - 03/03/06 10:25 AM Re: Please help! Problems with Operation: Flashpoint  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 247
Oden Offline
Member
Oden  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 247
Toledo
If you are using Win XP look in your events log and see if it has an entry when the game crashes. That could at least tell you what is happening when the game crashes.


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Drug combo working. Covid. Dr Zelenko NYC hospital.
by TerribleTwo. 03/29/20 12:27 PM
HILARIOUS videos found on YouTube.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/28/20 09:59 PM
Stuka!
by RedToo. 03/28/20 04:56 PM
social distancing
by KraziKanuK. 03/27/20 07:30 PM
How to correctly wash your hands properly.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/25/20 12:58 PM
Humble Bundle Driving Deal
by F4UDash4. 03/25/20 11:00 AM
Myheritage colorize b/w photos free
by Chef. 03/24/20 06:11 PM
True HP of the 8 most powerful classic era muscle cars
by Crane Hunter. 03/23/20 05:54 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0