Rate This Thread
Hop To
#659215 - 07/20/02 08:16 PM Sticks with rudder control  
Skycat Offline
Hotshot
Skycat  Offline
Hotshot

Pennsylvania or Montana
I'd never really considered how much control I was sacrificing by not using the rudder until I started playing IL-2. So, I've been looking for a stick with rudder controls built in. Currently, I'm thinking along the lines of the 'twist-the-joystick-right-or-left' type. Any opinions on this style of stick?

------------------
Curator of the Vintage Mods website: http://flightsimmers.net/airbase/skycat/OriginalJanesPlanes.htm

Remove before flight
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#659216 - 07/20/02 10:08 PM Re: Sticks with rudder control  
Bill_Grant Offline
Hotshot
Bill_Grant  Offline
Hotshot

Dallas, TX
I always have an opinion!

Get rudder pedals. Period.

The twisty sticks are always a source of complaints, for various reasons.....heh heh.

Actually, email me...

~Bill

~Bill

In my defense, I was left unsupervised...
#659217 - 07/20/02 10:38 PM Re: Sticks with rudder control  
Pronto91 Offline
Pronto91  Offline

East Coast, Canada
I would suggest a Logitech WingMan Extreme Digital 3D; twist handle, 7 buttons and throttle, all in a high quality product at a very reasonable price. Peddals are for tricycles.

#659218 - 07/20/02 11:21 PM Re: Sticks with rudder control  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered

I too have a Logitech Wingman Extreme Digital 3D, and am happy with it, though I've never used pedals before, so I have no frame of reference in comparing one setup to the other. I have noticed that you have to be a little careful you don't develop the habit of unconsciously feeding rudder into your stick movements when you don't want it.