Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#560012 - 05/26/01 06:33 PM THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,955
Andy Bush Offline
Site Emeritus
Air Combat Forum Moderator
Andy Bush  Offline
Site Emeritus
Air Combat Forum Moderator

Hotshot

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,955
St Charles, MO
A number of us are having problems getting the throttle to work. Maybe if you give us your basic info, we can take a shot at figuring this out.

In particular, USB models seem to have more than their share of glitches.

Give us your stick type; USB or not; if not, what sound card, and anything else you think is important. I'm not a hardware expert...I'm just collecting the info!

Thanks much.

Andy

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#560013 - 05/26/01 06:47 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


MS Sidewinder Precision Pro 2, USB, SBlive 1024. Thrust control is not working, works OK in FS2000 etc..

Not big deal to me, but I ain't hardcore

#560014 - 05/26/01 06:49 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


- Thrustmaster TopGun Afterburner USB
- Windows 2000 SP1
- DX8a
- Phillips USB Speakers

I forgot to say no throttle in the excitement.

- Dev -

[This message has been edited by devnul (edited 05-27-2001).]

#560015 - 05/26/01 06:53 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


MS Sidewinder Pro and CH Throttle Pro

Win2k SP2
DirectX 8.0a
SBLive with WHQL certified drivers

programmed buttons work, but not the throttle. In Falcon 4.0 the Throttle only works when i apply the Win2k-workaround by eRazor (maybe this is usefull).

#560016 - 05/26/01 06:58 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 970
the Gremlin Offline
Member
the Gremlin  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 970
Hi Andy,
installed and running with no problems here ( problems start when I try and install patch).
System :
AMD 1 gig T-Bird
256 mb 133
Voodoo 4500
Suncom Talon/SFS throttle (gameport)
Soundblaster live player 1024
Gremlin

#560017 - 05/26/01 07:12 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Hi, my joysticks a Logitech wingman extreme usb, sound cards a sblive 1024.
Im using DX8, all on win ME.
Just wanna add that when Flanker was upgraded to 2.5, loads of people lost the use of their usb throttles, and needed a patch to bring it back.

#560018 - 05/26/01 07:36 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Hi all.

Sigh.

No throttle for me either.
Win2k, DX8.1 (probably Beta), MS Sidewinder 3d pro...non USB. Not a peep out of the throttle. :-(

Throttle works for F-18, eFalcon, Flanker 2, and just about everything else.

Gavin

#560019 - 05/26/01 08:27 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


No problems here, all working fine

SYS

AMD1.2 @266
512MB PC100
HD IBM 30GB
GeForce2-DP-64Mb
SBlaster "Live!"
DOuble-Boot Win ME/2000
CDRom
CDRW
Logitech WIngman Interceptor (non USB) all working, the throttle is in the base of the stick, all button programmed with the joystick software.

Dot out

-.-

#560020 - 05/26/01 08:41 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


In Windows2000 I haven't got a throttle with either USB or joystick port using MS Sidewinder Pro.

In Win98 I have got a throttle.

DX8.0a on both systems.

Cheers,
Manteau

#560021 - 05/26/01 09:14 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 44
reaper20 Offline
Junior Member
reaper20  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 44
San Mateo, CA, USA
Hi,
Win 98 se, DX8, TM FLCS,TQS w/digital chips
All is fine except that throttle movement is non-proportional. RPM jumps up quick at the bottom end and then changes slower and slower until after-burner

#560022 - 05/26/01 09:40 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Hi,

Win2K
DX8.0

Logitech Extreme digital (3 axis)
- throttle works

MS ForceFeedback (4 axis incl rudder)
- throttle fails

SanC

#560023 - 05/26/01 09:54 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


same problem at 4 of 5 PCs here in our local gang.

Configuration as following:

#1 PIII500
Asus P3B-F Intel BX 256MB
Geforce CL SDR 6.34 Det driver
SB Live Player 1024
Win98se / DX-8.1beta
TM F22 Pro / SWF + TQS + RCS
---> only PC w/o problems

#2 AMD 1133 C
Asus A7M266 256MB-DDR
Leadtek GF2 Pro 64 MB DDR Det 6.34
SB Live Player 5.1
WinMe / DX-8.0a
MS FF2 USB
----> no throttle on this stick !

#3 AMD 1300 B
Asus A7V133 640MB SDR
Leadtek GF2 MX 32 MB SDR det 6.34
SB Live Player 1024
WinMe / DX8.0a
Saitek USB ( dunno which model )
----> no throttle on this stick !

#4 AMD 1100 B
Asus A7V
Leadtek GF2 MX 32 MB SDR det 6.34
SB Live Player 5.1
WinMe / DX-8.1beta
MS FF2 USB Stick
----> no throttle on this stick !

#5 Asus L-8400K Notebook
PIII 850 256MB So DIMM BX chipset
S3 Virge 8MB AGP2x
ESS Allegro Soundcard
Win98se / DX-8.1beta
MS FF2 USB Stick
----> no throttle on this stick !


thats a bloody ZERO score for USB sticks in this game .


** glad to own a Gameport TM HOTAS **
--> so it works on my Home PC

frustrated cause I cant play on my Notebook
in LAN meetings


Thunderbolt 214th Annihilators

#560024 - 05/26/01 10:41 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Hi all.

I just went to Plan B: Install my Sidewinder at a 4 button joystick with throttle (rudder checked).

This is how I solve the coolie hat problem in SEF2k.

However, still no throttle.

I am purchasing a Suncom Throttle in the next week or so... and that hopefully will solve this.

Gavin

#560025 - 05/26/01 10:46 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


WinMe, DirectX 8.1

MS FF2 (usb) No Throttle
Saitek X36 (usb) Throttle works
CH Products Combatstick (usb) no throttle

Did a fresh install on a new HD, went from DX 7 to DX 8 to Dx 8.1, throttle was inop in every case.


[This message has been edited by jzydor (edited 05-26-2001).]

[This message has been edited by jzydor (edited 05-27-2001).]

#560026 - 05/26/01 11:13 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 2
Vaider-Raider Offline
Junior Member
Vaider-Raider  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 2
Hi.. I have the same probs

Sblive!
USB MS Forcefeedback 2
WinME/2k Dx8

buttons work fine... no throttle
cheers!

Ian

#560027 - 05/26/01 11:47 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Uroboros Offline
Member
Uroboros  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Brooklyn, NY
Just got a USB MS Sidewinder Precision 2. Throttle does not work with Typhoon, but it DOES work with F22 TAW. This is using WinME under DX8.1 beta

With my USB Logitech Wingman Extreme Digital 3D the throttle worked like a charm with Typhoon.

AMD 850 Classic system
WinME

[This message has been edited by Uroboros (edited 05-26-2001).]

#560028 - 05/27/01 12:43 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 7,481
Ian Boys Offline
Hotshot
Ian Boys  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 7,481
Broadbottom UK
MS PPro 2 (USB) + Dx8.

Throttle doesn't work.

Ian

#560029 - 05/27/01 02:52 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,955
Andy Bush Offline
Site Emeritus
Air Combat Forum Moderator
Andy Bush  Offline
Site Emeritus
Air Combat Forum Moderator

Hotshot

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,955
St Charles, MO
Just a quick look at the replies...

Gameport throttles not doing too bad.

Logitech USB gear seems to work.

But MS USB gear doesn't.

Any ideas?

Andy

#560030 - 05/27/01 03:26 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,841
Hunedog Offline
Member
Hunedog  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,841
Vancouver BC Canada
Flanker 2 had the same problem after 2.5 release. They fixed it with the 2.51 Beta 1 AFAIK. EECH even worse no Stick period. Even though EEAH works They basically left us Hi& Dry with this one. Thrustmaster Afterburners and M/S Pre Pro 2s are the main players with these problems. I own a TM AB myself. Hope they fix it here so I can try this game out. No Throttle no purchase here sorry.


"It's not about the money Son, It's about rules. You see without rules we all might as well live in trees and fling our crap at each other."
Red Foreman on That 70's Show
#560031 - 05/27/01 04:02 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


TM Top Gun Afterburner USB
Sound card Hercules GTXP

Win98 & Win2k SP2

In Win98 & Win2K I've tried) DX 8.0a and DirectX 8.1

Throttle doesn't work at all in any case.

Throttle works fine in other games.

#560032 - 05/27/01 07:01 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Uroboros Offline
Member
Uroboros  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Brooklyn, NY
Looks like Steve should look into using whatever joystick routines were used in TAW. Since it appears no sticks had probelms with that game.

It reminds me of EECH. It also has problems some with USB sitcks (though my USB Logitech stick worked; but it's predecessor didn't have this problem.

Steve any idea what's up? Both EECH and Typhoon have USB joystick problems that their predecessors don't.

#560033 - 05/27/01 10:31 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Win2k SP1 then SP2,DX 8 then DX8.1, Saitek Cyborg 3d USB. No throttle.


------------------
qts

CSC/BAe Systems Stanmore

#560034 - 05/27/01 11:12 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Pentium 3 866 mhz
128 MB ram
Geforce DDR
Saitek X35/36 USB
Win98 (2nd edition)
DirectX 8.1

Besides my gfx probs with Typhoon, there's only one minor problem. To start out with, my throttle worked perfectly and I could reach 140% engine power without problems. Now I can only get it up to approx. 125% (!). But I can easily make high-g turns and make the pilot black-out. Other Saitek users had problems with this as far as I remember.

Plov


[This message has been edited by Plov (edited 05-27-2001).]

#560035 - 05/27/01 06:38 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I have an MS USB Force Feedback Pro Joystick(1998 Model, whatever the numbers are that go with that!).
Throttle works just fine.
Only glitch I have is that I can't programme the buttons with any command involving or . Not too much of a problem, so I haven't tried anything clever to fix it.
My system is a PIII 500Mhz, ATI 128 graphics card, Soundblaster 64 bit PCI soundcard. 256mb RAM... Off the shelf 'Advent 8720' system. Can't remember when I last needed to download drivers... '98 or '99 I think. Everything basically works fine in the game as far as I can see, get very occasional crashes to desktop, usually if I use the 'bracket command' on the 'escort' menu (works for other flights, problems only with 'escort').
Anyway, point is, some MS throttles work even if most don't.

#560036 - 05/28/01 04:36 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,549
piper Offline
Veteran
piper  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,549
Raleigh,NC
Saitek Cyborg 3D - throttle/joystick works; can't use programmed functions on stick with this sim......dx8, then dx8a.

#560037 - 05/28/01 09:34 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Andrew Offline
Junior Member
Andrew  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Thrustmaster TopGun Afterburner USB
SoundBlaster LIVE value
Win98 & Win2K SP2, DX 8.0a

no throttle

PS. Seems exactly the same sticks that have problems with EECH have throttle detection problem here.

PPS. Had the same problem (no throttle) in eFalcon, there was a fix in their F4Patch config for that, said for Win2k but fixed throttle under Win98 also (maybe someone from eTeam could give a hint? This seems to be DirectInput related? )

#560038 - 05/28/01 01:13 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Duron 900
512Meg PC133 CAS2 Crucial
Epox 8KTA3+ Motherboard
SBLive
Logitech Wingman Force 3D USB
DX8.0a

Throttle works in WinME but not in Win2K

Regards,

os2

#560039 - 05/28/01 08:06 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


TM F22Pro/TQS (non-digital) analog gameport on an Aureal A3D 1.0 soundcard, Abit BX6 2.0, PII400, 384MB, Voodoo5, Win2000, DirectX 8a

Throttle doesn't work in ET, but does work in other games and is properly calibrated and working in the Windows control panel.

#560040 - 05/28/01 08:09 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Analog CH Throttle along side a CH Flightstick Pro.

Everything works great. For once I'm glad I didn't upgrade to newer controllers

[This message has been edited by moloch16 (edited 05-28-2001).]

#560041 - 05/28/01 08:27 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,955
Andy Bush Offline
Site Emeritus
Air Combat Forum Moderator
Andy Bush  Offline
Site Emeritus
Air Combat Forum Moderator

Hotshot

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,955
St Charles, MO
Blaze

Your setup is similar to mine...except I'm still running DX-7...and my TM gear works just fine.

Maybe it's the DX-8...others have had problems that were linked to the DX version.

Andy

#560042 - 05/28/01 09:05 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,364
Tracer[formerly of CS] Offline
Senior Member
Tracer[formerly of CS]  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,364
MS Sidewinder Force Feedback pro (driver software 3.0) running through a SBLive! game port.
Using DX8 (and used DX7) it still becomes highly sensitive below about 70% on the throttle and basicaly cut's the engines out.

Tracer

------------------
"Flying is the second hardest thing known to man.........the first is landing!"

#560043 - 05/28/01 11:52 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 211
otto2 Offline
Member
otto2  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 211
Duesseldorf,Germany
@ Andy Bush: TM F22PRO ( Non Digital) / TQS / ELITE Rudder / SBLIVE 1024 Player, 512 MB RAM here under w2k, Win ME.
Throttle works. There should be another problem with blaze s konfiguration.

#560044 - 05/29/01 12:04 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Don't shoot, but I have no problems.

Saitek X36F with X35T throttle, USB, with SGE software version 1.4
Soundblaster 128 PCI (old variant, four sockets), last year's drivers
DirectX 8.0
256 MB RAM
Athlon 600
GeForce 32MB DDR

------------------
Fletch

#560045 - 05/29/01 12:35 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Hi Andy,

Blazes problem is not through DX versions LOL

I have a TM F22/TQS/RCS SWF Gameport HOTAS
and it works fine in EFT from DX8.0a-8.1beta, no complaints.

Just on my Notebook/USB that damn MSFF2 wont throttle arrghh


The bug is in EFT 99.99%, otherwise
the error would travel with DX versions and it doesnt

Tb 214th
LMK PC-Services

#560046 - 05/29/01 12:45 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,955
Andy Bush Offline
Site Emeritus
Air Combat Forum Moderator
Andy Bush  Offline
Site Emeritus
Air Combat Forum Moderator

Hotshot

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,955
St Charles, MO
To everyone..

Thanks much for all of your input!

Let's hope that there is enough here for Rage to come up with a fix.

Andy

#560047 - 05/30/01 10:57 AM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Any word about the large X axis deadzone on the Saitek USB X35/6?

I guess Saitek owners may notice this as I did, or may think it's ok. They will definetly notice it if they have another stick to compare it against.

No problem with the throttle though.

------------------


Hengist.

Hengist's MiG Alley Site.
http://www.hengist.co.uk/MiGAlley

[This message has been edited by *Hengist* (edited 05-31-2001).]

#560048 - 05/30/01 02:54 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


TQS/FLCS
Phillips Sound Edge
DX 7.0a
throttle works fine

#560049 - 05/30/01 07:02 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I suspect that in my case the problem lies with Win2K. During the beta test of EECh the same problem appeared, but the developer had a fix in no time. This was in early 2000, with DX7, now imagine they would have told me to wait for DX8.1 ...

Another example was Flanker2.5, throttle did not work until the beta4 patch. But finally they fixed it, without having me to wait for DX8.1 ...

#560050 - 05/30/01 07:26 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Jep they told me to wait for DX 8.1, even to try and find a beta version of 8.1 on the net.
And I found it and it still wont work.
So I got my good old CH combat stick out of retirement and that works,but that uses the gameport.
My other joustich is a Sidewinder FFB 2 so it must must be a USB problem.

#560051 - 05/31/01 04:20 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Celeron 450 MHZ (O'clocked from 300MHz)
128 mbytes RAM
Soundblaster Live 1024!
Creative Labs Geforce MX 32mb
MS Force Feedback v1, gameport
DirectX 7

Works perfectly, throttle and all :-)

Kenji

#560052 - 05/31/01 05:00 PM Re: THROTTLE PROBLEM? - A Poll  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


AMD 900, 640 meg ram, Geforce 2 64 meg graphics, Win ME, DirectX 8a,

Usb X36f and X35F combo, version 3 drivers

throttle doesnt work and no text imput when stick is connected.

poo

------------------
"if you are not living on the edge - you are taking up too much room"

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Pride Of Jenni race win
by NoFlyBoy. 04/15/24 12:22 AM
It's Friday: grown up humor for the weekend.
by NoFlyBoy. 04/12/24 01:41 PM
OJ Simpson Dead at 76
by bones. 04/11/24 03:02 PM
They wokefied tomb raider !!
by Blade_RJ. 04/10/24 03:09 PM
Good F-35 Podcast
by RossUK. 04/08/24 09:02 AM
Gleda Estes
by Tarnsman. 04/06/24 06:22 PM
Food Safety and Bad Roommates
by KRT_Bong. 04/04/24 02:16 AM
Incredible historical ironies
by PanzerMeyer. 04/03/24 01:56 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0