Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
#557175 - 05/06/01 01:05 AM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I dont want to rub anyone up the wrong way here. But lets look at this sensibly:


1) The game's "minumum spec" explicity indicates that DirectX-7 compatible graphics cards are sufficient.

2) 3dfx drivers + cards, that have been usable with DirectX7+, have been available for several months.

3) This game does not work on a large number of systems based around 3dfx chipsets

Intuitively, one might suggest that the onus is on Rage to, swiftly, provide compensation (refunds) or remediation (a patch).

But, of course, only an opinion...

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#557176 - 05/06/01 01:09 AM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


well,

As for Direct X

I have now tried every version from 7.00 to 8.1 with no change in the game. Im ahve tried copying various, likely-named-files from the demo from my hard drive. No changes.

Duh. Being a bit of a computer thickie... I reckon that a patch might be required. Hope that someone can help...

Cheers !

#557177 - 05/06/01 03:58 AM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


V3 guys, have you tried the latest drivers from http://www.x3dfx.com

btw. 3DFX's DX7 drivers have always contained files that are not fully direct draw/3D certified according to the DX setup program, but without knowing if this is the case with nvidia's detonators, I don't know wether this problem can pinned on rage or not.

#557178 - 05/06/01 06:30 AM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 1,223
Silverswift Offline
Member
Silverswift  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 1,223
Milwaukee WI
I don't mean to bash cards/card owners here, but let's face it; 3dfx & ALL of it's CARDS & DRIVERS are not current with any new game coming out that requires DX8.X. A hard thing to swallow (spending 300+ for a card that's obsolete less than a year later)I know, but that's just the way it is. If you have a game that requires DX8.X with 3dfx anything, and it runs, consider yourself lucky. GeForce Ultras are coming down to the sub $275 price. A very good card to have. But hell, you can pick up a 64 GTS for under $200 and that card will smoke any Voodoo itself.

[This message has been edited by Silverswift (edited 05-06-2001).]


Quad 9650 *
2 WD 160GB SATA, Raid 0 *
Two GTX 295, in quad *
*all water cooled by Koolance
8GB Corsair DDR3 @1600mhz
ASUS Striker 790i NSE
28" HannsG LCD
Audigy X Fi Fatal1ty Edition
1000kw Enermax PSU
Klipsch 5.1 Ultra
#557179 - 05/06/01 11:54 AM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Dudes !! I need help man.

While I have been running that automated-demo for days now I do have one small question.
WILL IT RUN ON MY GEFORCE-CARD ?????
If not I will go seriously go InSAnE
!!!!! !!!!! !!!!!
!!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!!

------------------
-=== Oh my god! was that you going down there in flames ?? ===-

#557180 - 05/06/01 12:03 PM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Dudes !! I need help man.
While I have been running that automated-demo for days now I do have one small question.
WILL IT RUN ON MY GEFORCE-CARD ?????
If not I will go seriously go InSAnE
!!!!! !!!!! !!!!!
!!!!! !!!!! !!!!! !!!!!

------------------
-=== Oh my god! was that you going down there in flames ?? ===-

#557181 - 05/06/01 01:08 PM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 41
MadCowan Offline
Junior Member
MadCowan  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 41
Edinburgh, Scotland
Quote:
Originally posted by Booga:
V3 guys, have you tried the latest drivers from http://www.x3dfx.com


Thanks for this -- it seems to have helped some of the problems, but not all. Unfortunately they're not going to be updating their drivers any more either, which is a bit of a bummer!


[This message has been edited by MadCowan (edited 05-06-2001).]

#557182 - 05/06/01 08:55 PM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


The sad thing in all this is that I shouldn't have to run all over creation trying to find out whether the sim will run on my machine. I just ordered from the UK, and so I'm afraid I won't be able to just easily take it back.

Are these games being written only for the initiated and those who have time to scour the web, look for readme's, etc. to see if it will work?

Maybe the readme does warn off 3dfx card owners. However, it seems more fair to me to clearly indicate in the add copy or on your website in a prominent place that it won't necessarily run on a Voodoo 3. It's certainly not an obscure card, and this problem certainly could have been aniticpated.

I'm very disappointed as I loved EF2000 and TAW and was really looking forward to this one.

Ken

#557183 - 05/06/01 10:41 PM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 39
stephenwhite Offline
Junior Member
stephenwhite  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 39
Macclesfield, Cheshire, Englan...
KenP, unfortunately that's life for PC users. If you want to get the most from a computer you need to learn about it. It's not my personal opinion, it's a fact of life. Driver changes, hardware changes, bugged games (not that I think EFT is bugged) and plenty of reading up on the Internet is par for the course.

Get a new card mate. You'll be glad you did. And you don't have to be rich to get a better card.

Stephen White

#557184 - 05/07/01 04:44 AM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Oh, are you going to pay for it stevenwhite? That's great!! I would like one of those "cheap" $300 Geforce Ultras! Heck, would you just go ahead and bring it to my house and intall it for me too? That would be great!!

#557185 - 05/07/01 04:44 AM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Oh, are you going to pay for it stevenwhite? That's great!! I would like one of those "cheap" $300 Geforce Ultras! Heck, would you just go ahead and bring it to my house and intall it for me too? That would be great!!

#557186 - 05/07/01 06:16 AM Re: WTF - 3dfx Voodoo 3 don't work ???  
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 1,223
Silverswift Offline
Member
Silverswift  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 1,223
Milwaukee WI
You know, Fishbed77, since you haven't even received your copy yet, perhaps you should take a chill. The world might turn for you yet.

And you, "3dfxBoy," we got it already; you hate Eurofighter and love Voodoo 3s.

[This message has been edited by Silverswift (edited 05-07-2001).]

[This message has been edited by Silverswift (edited 05-07-2001).]


Quad 9650 *
2 WD 160GB SATA, Raid 0 *
Two GTX 295, in quad *
*all water cooled by Koolance
8GB Corsair DDR3 @1600mhz
ASUS Striker 790i NSE
28" HannsG LCD
Audigy X Fi Fatal1ty Edition
1000kw Enermax PSU
Klipsch 5.1 Ultra
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
It's Friday: grown up humor for the weekend.
by NoFlyBoy. 04/12/24 01:41 PM
OJ Simpson Dead at 76
by bones. 04/11/24 03:02 PM
They wokefied tomb raider !!
by Blade_RJ. 04/10/24 03:09 PM
Good F-35 Podcast
by RossUK. 04/08/24 09:02 AM
Gleda Estes
by Tarnsman. 04/06/24 06:22 PM
Food Safety and Bad Roommates
by KRT_Bong. 04/04/24 02:16 AM
Incredible historical ironies
by PanzerMeyer. 04/03/24 01:56 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0