Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#556161 - 04/04/01 10:57 PM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


A little trick with the demo, in the typhoon.cfg file try increasing the difficulty setting a couple of notches, the Russian missiles start actually hitting their targets and the Flankers at the end of the demo actually start winning the dogfight against those Viggens (as they rightly should).

One more point, i think the long focal length that gets used in the demo most of the time makes the terrain look much more bland because it streches out the terrain textures too much, in the moments when the camera pans back the terrain looks much better, all sweeping peaks and valleys, also check out how nice the rivers look, they look like real rivers not tiled textures that you get in most flight sims.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#556162 - 04/05/01 12:13 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Otto2...
The Otto of the TAW Infograme's messageboard? Ages Ago?Former Stealth here.

I just downloaded the detonators , I will give it a try tonite.

By the way I red somewhere that the GeF2 has problems with DX8, what do you think? I still have 7.a

Can you point me to a good site with technical info on the ASUSV7700? The asus page itself sux and is sooo slow.

16:58 here, time to takeoff and return base.
I was thinking about the FA18 mission builder, the AV8 in China, and this picture...http://www.cnn.com/2001/WORLD/asiapcf/east/04/04/china.aircollision.12/index.html?s=1



I know it's a delicate matter but...still..

Later

.

#556163 - 04/05/01 03:28 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Uroboros Offline
Member
Uroboros  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally posted by joelhume:
One more point, i think the long focal length that gets used in the demo most of the time makes the terrain look much more bland because it streches out the terrain textures too much, in the moments when the camera pans back the terrain looks much better, all sweeping peaks and valleys, also check out how nice the rivers look, they look like real rivers not tiled textures that you get in most flight sims.


Yes the terrain does look a nicer from higher up, but that telephoto zoom look is really nice IMHO. Besides when you see a plane upclose like that, speeding by the ground, that blurring kind of reminds me of motion blur.

Speaking of which, Andy or Steve can you tell us what kind of camera control (if any) do we have during the smart views. Can you control ZOOM for example? Since the demo IS the game, I gather that the Smart Views are control by the game. Thing does ZOOM in a little too much sometimes. Makles you loose track of who shot who.

And yes the rivers are nice. They appear to be part of the geometry as opposed to a just a texture. Maybe a we'll see some boats using them

Speaking of rivers/water anyone else notice the moving texure on them? As for textures,

#556164 - 04/05/01 05:11 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Yeh, Dot, I have the same problem. The Viggen crashed and the flames came out of the ground. Also, when there was close ups of the eurofighter, there was flickering:
the back of the seat of the pilot flashed on and off.

If you find a cure, please tell me. I'm not exactly a driver expert, just a flight sim fan.

Cheers

#556165 - 04/05/01 07:28 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Uroboros Offline
Member
Uroboros  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally posted by -Dot-:
Steve.


Also I saw several times the planes entering the hills while they were going down, and actually exploding inide the hill itself.

Dot.



I don't know if what you mention is really an error. It's possible that this is the way the game handles crashing planes. The planes disppear when they hit the ground to be followed by the explosion etc. I notice that there is no debris left on the ground when the plane crashes like I believe there was in TAW. So when the plane goes down all you see are the flames and smoke coming from the crash site. The missing debris does make it look like the plane went into the ground then exploded. The fact that ther camera often goes down low to the ground when this happens enhances the effect. If you watching this from the air you wouldn't notice it.

It would be nice if there was some sort of debris/crater texture when a plane crashed. Even is only for the few seconds you get to see the crash.

Unless it's there and I missedit.

[This message has been edited by Uroboros (edited 04-05-2001).]

#556166 - 04/05/01 12:32 PM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Hi,

The drivers for G-Force have a Z-Buffer bug in them. We told them about this but they weren't interested in fixing the problem until DX8.

So we've put in a key to switch on Software TnL which fixes the problem. This isn't on the demo CD though.

Cheers,

Steve

#556167 - 04/05/01 01:16 PM Re: Typhoon demo comments  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Uroboros Offline
Member
Uroboros  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally posted by Steve Hunt:
Hi,

The drivers for G-Force have a Z-Buffer bug in them. We told them about this but they weren't interested in fixing the problem until DX8.

So we've put in a key to switch on Software TnL which fixes the problem. This isn't on the demo CD though.

Cheers,

Steve




Steve are you talking about these 2 key files?

ForceSWTnLOn.reg

ForceSWTnLOff.reg

If so they are actually in the zip file that the demo comes in but they are not installed

#556168 - 04/05/01 03:13 PM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Steve Hunt:
Hi,

The drivers for G-Force have a Z-Buffer bug in them. We told them about this but they weren't interested in fixing the problem until DX8.



So now that Dx8a is out, has the problem been fixed? Or did development of Typhoon stop while Dx7 was around, thus the problem still exists even though were now on Dx8a?

I'm slightly confused as to what you're saying Steve, care to elaborate a little further?



------------------

\:\)

Hengist.

Hengist's MiG Alley Site.
http://www.hengist.co.uk/MiGAlley

#556169 - 04/07/01 01:08 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,094
HarryR Offline
Member
HarryR  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,094
UK
I have dx8a and a geoforce2 gts (latest drivers) and I can see through the wings and cockpit floor of the eurofighter when the view pans in.
The tornado always gets its arse kicked, although the grippen that sometimes appears gives a good show of it self, the chisel nosed volvo (viggen) looks wierd and alot of the missiles miss by a mile.....but, get the game out 'cause I want it now!


To..
#556170 - 04/07/01 05:12 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Hey, I've finally fixed the see thru problem.

I found the detonator 11.01 driver on this site:

http://download.infonet.by/eng/download.asp?file=944

and it fixed the problem. Man you should see the demo running at 32 bit true colour and
1200X1600! It looks like the real thing! (Except I still feel the terrain could've been done better, man those mountains are sharp!)

Hope everyone's enjoying the demo as much as I am, and yeh the Tornado always loses. No wonder, taking into account that it's got 5 S37 Berkuts on its tail!

Nb I have directx 7.a, not 8.

#556171 - 04/07/01 05:15 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Uroboros Offline
Member
Uroboros  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally posted by EF2000 crazy:
Hey, I've finally fixed the see thru problem.

I found the detonator 11.01 driver on this site:

http://download.infonet.by/eng/download.asp?file=944

and it fixed the problem. Man you should see the demo running at 32 bit true colour and
1200X1600! It looks like the real thing! (Except I still feel the terrain could've been done better, man those mountains are sharp!)

Hope everyone's enjoying the demo as much as I am, and yeh the Tornado always loses. No wonder, taking into account that it's got 5 S37 Berkuts on its tail!

Nb I have directx 7.a, not 8.


1200x1600?!

How did you get it to run at that resolution??


[This message has been edited by Uroboros (edited 04-07-2001).]

#556172 - 04/07/01 08:30 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


I've been using these drivers (11.01) with Dx8a for a couple of weeks... there's still a 'see-through' thing going on with the demo.

Perhaps its Dx8a?



------------------
\:\)

Hengist.

Hengist's MiG Alley Site.
http://www.hengist.co.uk/MiGAlley

#556173 - 04/07/01 09:40 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Uroboros Offline
Member
Uroboros  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 604
Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally posted by *Hengist*:
I've been using these drivers (11.01) with Dx8a for a couple of weeks... there's still a 'see-through' thing going on with the demo.

Perhaps its Dx8a?



I've been using 11.01..with DX8a as well, but haven't noticed the "see through" problem here. Of course I only have a Geforce 256. I'll be getting a Geforce2 GTS in a day or so, hopefully this doesn't pop up for me.

The 7.xx versions of the drivers are optimised for DirectX 8, but does anyone know if the 10.xx versions are as well.

#556174 - 04/07/01 10:39 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Anyone knows if the detonator 11.01 drivers will work with my Geforce DDR? I also get this see-through thing when the demo shows a plane from close distance.

Plov

#556175 - 04/07/01 11:08 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 211
otto2 Offline
Member
otto2  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 211
Duesseldorf,Germany
@ PLOV: The Detonator Drivers work with all Nvidia Cards, you can use em also for the old TNT1 and TNT2 cards.
I m using a ASUS V7700 DELUXE with DDR RAM and the driver works fine.

#556176 - 04/09/01 10:09 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Uroboros:
1200x1600?!

How did you get it to run at that resolution??


[This message has been edited by Uroboros (edited 04-07-2001).]


EF2000 crazy
I would like to know that too! In the 3Dream setup, I can only choose between 640x480, 800x600 and 1024x768. As far as I know, my Geforce should be able to show higher resolutions...

Plov

#556177 - 04/09/01 10:57 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Sorry, my mistake,
I only changed the main resolution to 1600 by 1200 in the settings tab of the desktop properties, but that doesn't mean the game runs at that. ..........Silly me.

Sorry to get your hopes up.

#556178 - 04/10/01 07:56 AM Re: Typhoon demo comments  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Originally posted by Uroboros:

Steve are you talking about these 2 key files?

ForceSWTnLOn.reg

ForceSWTnLOff.reg

If so they are actually in the zip file that the demo comes in but they are not installed


Nice one Victor,

Yep, that's the one... run the SWTnLOn.reg.. didn't realise they were on the demo. This will fix the Nvidia driver problems.

Cheers,

Steve

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Pride Of Jenni race win
by NoFlyBoy. 04/15/24 12:22 AM
It's Friday: grown up humor for the weekend.
by NoFlyBoy. 04/12/24 01:41 PM
OJ Simpson Dead at 76
by bones. 04/11/24 03:02 PM
They wokefied tomb raider !!
by Blade_RJ. 04/10/24 03:09 PM
Good F-35 Podcast
by RossUK. 04/08/24 09:02 AM
Gleda Estes
by Tarnsman. 04/06/24 06:22 PM
Food Safety and Bad Roommates
by KRT_Bong. 04/04/24 02:16 AM
Incredible historical ironies
by PanzerMeyer. 04/03/24 01:56 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0