Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4641685 - 01/27/24 03:23 AM A few questions-  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 38
FlyinJ Offline
Junior Member
FlyinJ  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 38
I've flown about 10 missions in a squadron now. Every mission I see that my squad mates are getting several kills in the post-mission briefing.

However, when I go to the duty room the only one with kills is me, everyone else has zero. And in the "claims' section every other squad mate entry says 'n/a' except for some reason the last entry has a zero. Many of these same squad mates have shown multiple kills over that past 10 missions.

I also have kill reporting on the middle difficulty. Does that affect squad members getting records of their kills?


Also, I wanted to transfer to a different fighter squadron that were using newer Spads. I found one and it showed its active planes as just Spads. I finally got my transfer request approved, and when I arrived they somehow had 1 very early recce plane and they assigned it to me. Every other plane in the squadron is a Spad, but the single recce plane is assigned to me. And the missions I get are just me alone doing recon while the rest of the squadron does fighter sweeps. My previous squadron was a fighter squadron and I specified wanting to be in a fighter squadron when I initially created my pilot.

Is there something I am missing when doing transfers? How can I tell if a squadron has a single recce plane so I can avoid going there and getting stuck with it?

Last edited by FlyinJ; 01/27/24 05:07 AM.
#4641703 - 01/27/24 10:09 PM Re: A few questions- [Re: FlyinJ]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,724
Rick_Rawlings Offline
Senior Member
Rick_Rawlings  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,724
Hey, FlyinJ!

I think that historical aces show n/a for their claims. If you are in an elite squadron, it's possible that all the other pilots are historical aces. There's a setting in the workshop on pg 2 where you can select Top Aces Only under Aces and Historical Pilots. Maybe try that?

As for flying the recce craft, click on the Inventory/Workshops oval on the main campaign screen and then click on the plane assigned to you. It should cycle through to the SPAD. Note: you have to click on the plane, not your name. 'Course that means some other schlep will be stuck with the Breguet, but that's war, wot?

Hope that helps!

*edit: to some of your original questions; your claims settings shouldn't affect that and their claims can be denied, as well. Also, I think that there are so many aces that not all the kill databases are complete, that might account for the 0.

Some squadrons are mixed recce/scout and planes are assigned by rank, I believe, so that may be catching you. It could also be a bug!

Last edited by Rick_Rawlings; 01/27/24 10:13 PM.

The older I get, the more I realize I don't need to be Han, Luke or Leia. I'm just happy to be rebel scum...
#4641719 - 01/28/24 03:46 AM Re: A few questions- [Re: FlyinJ]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 38
FlyinJ Offline
Junior Member
FlyinJ  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 38
Another-

Is there an updated keychart that has all the actual keyboard commands? The only one I've found is the PDF keychart that OBD offers but it is missing an extensive amount of the keys in the game.

#4641743 - 01/28/24 09:07 PM Re: A few questions- [Re: FlyinJ]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,132
77_Scout Offline
Member
77_Scout  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,132
Vancouver Island, Canada
Originally Posted by FlyinJ
Another-

Is there an updated keychart that has all the actual keyboard commands? The only one I've found is the PDF keychart that OBD offers but it is missing an extensive amount of the keys in the game.


One option is to look in the 'Workshop' under 'remap keys' and all the key assignments are shown there.

#4641744 - 01/28/24 09:44 PM Re: A few questions- [Re: FlyinJ]  
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 384
Burning_Beard Offline
Member
Burning_Beard  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 384
Red Bluff, CA
That is what I would suggest also, there are so many commands available a key chart is just confusing. You can also assign the functions to any key you like for your own convenience.


More Scotch and Stogies for my Wingman!
#4641746 - 01/28/24 10:32 PM Re: A few questions- [Re: FlyinJ]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,993
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,993
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
FlyinJ;

You could also take screen captures and print those out.


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
PSU: Ultra X3,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4641748 - 01/28/24 11:17 PM Re: A few questions- [Re: FlyinJ]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 38
FlyinJ Offline
Junior Member
FlyinJ  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 38
Hmm yeah I guess I'll just screen capture the options screen if there is no updated key chart.

Another few=

Is there any way to expedite/shorten all the screens between missions? Especially waiting for a load just to have it tell me that all missions are cancelled when I have the "auto cancel missions when weather is bad" checked in options. Why doesn't it just automatically skip to a day when weather is better? I feel like I'm waiting for loading and clicking through screens more than I'm actually playing.

Is there damage persistence in the campaign? If I fly over a facility I attacked a few missions before will it be damaged when I return to it in a later mission?

Last edited by FlyinJ; 01/28/24 11:29 PM.
#4641751 - 01/29/24 01:18 AM Re: A few questions- [Re: FlyinJ]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,724
Rick_Rawlings Offline
Senior Member
Rick_Rawlings  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,724
No and no thumbsup


The older I get, the more I realize I don't need to be Han, Luke or Leia. I'm just happy to be rebel scum...
#4641760 - 01/29/24 09:43 AM Re: A few questions- [Re: FlyinJ]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 8,148
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 8,148
Originally Posted by FlyinJ
Hmm yeah I guess I'll just screen capture the options screen if there is no updated key chart.

Another few=

Is there any way to expedite/shorten all the screens between missions? Especially waiting for a load just to have it tell me that all missions are cancelled when I have the "auto cancel missions when weather is bad" checked in options. Why doesn't it just automatically skip to a day when weather is better? I feel like I'm waiting for loading and clicking through screens more than I'm actually playing.


Maybe in Workshops, turn off historical weather, and switch to AI Weather generation, then you will get lovely weather more often. The historical weather was appalling for most of the war (possibly due to constant large explosions) - or choose a pilot date in Summer - or time advance through to Spring/Summer for more good weather - or in Workshops go to "more" and set 'Bad Weather Cancels Flights' to 'optional' and fly some occasionally.



Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4641813 - 01/30/24 08:59 PM Re: A few questions- [Re: FlyinJ]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,132
77_Scout Offline
Member
77_Scout  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,132
Vancouver Island, Canada
Originally Posted by FlyinJ
Why doesn't it just automatically skip to a day when weather is better?


I personally like that it doesn't skip ahead because I would miss the war updates (newspaper), and also it gives a sense of time passing as it actually did. But I'm a bit odd that way and I can totally see the case for your 'jump to the action' desire as well!

#4642714 - 02/17/24 10:56 PM Re: A few questions- [Re: FlyinJ]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 1,523
BuckeyeBob Offline
Member
BuckeyeBob  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 1,523
Ohio, USA
Isn't there now a button that you can click to look at previous war updates you may have missed? I thought that was added a while ago.


“With Major Lawrence, mercy is a passion. With me it is merely good manners. You may judge which motive is the more reliable.”

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
It's Friday: grown up humor for the weekend.
by NoFlyBoy. 04/12/24 01:41 PM
OJ Simpson Dead at 76
by bones. 04/11/24 03:02 PM
They wokefied tomb raider !!
by Blade_RJ. 04/10/24 03:09 PM
Good F-35 Podcast
by RossUK. 04/08/24 09:02 AM
Gleda Estes
by Tarnsman. 04/06/24 06:22 PM
Food Safety and Bad Roommates
by KRT_Bong. 04/04/24 02:16 AM
Incredible historical ironies
by PanzerMeyer. 04/03/24 01:56 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0