Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4623540 - 03/26/23 12:03 PM BH&HII and AMD GPU  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 46
wiiired Offline
Junior Member
wiiired  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 46
Northeast Ohio, USA
Hi all,
Was wondering if anything is available as a workaround for the recommendation warning of AMD graphic cards or am I destined to fly WOFF UE for the duration? Thanks for any replies.

Wiiired aka Michael Christy (Ohio USA)

#4623544 - 03/26/23 02:02 PM Re: BH&HII and AMD GPU [Re: wiiired]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 945
kksnowbear Online content
Member
kksnowbear  Online Content
Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 945
I can't say for sure, but it seems to me that there were issues with AMD cards long before BH&H...you'd have to go back before that to avoid some of the issues reported. I will look back over some threads here and see if I can find references - but, in any case, I am almost certain it's accurate to say there were issues with AMD prior to BH&H.

If you don't mind my asking, are you running UE now without graphics issues? What AMD GPU are you using?

#4623547 - 03/26/23 04:41 PM Re: BH&HII and AMD GPU [Re: wiiired]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 934
VonS Offline
WWI Flight Sims on a Mac
VonS  Offline
WWI Flight Sims on a Mac
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 934
@OP, the important thing isn't so much the (recent) generation of WoFF, whether UE, PE, or BH&H2, but the generation of AMD vid DLL that you have loaded. I am running both a WoFF-UE era install and BH&H2 with no oddities on AMD vid, but I am using AMD vid DLLs that date to about the middle of 2017. Another detail to be aware of is that the generation of Win10, or 11, that you have loaded possibly limits further the version range of AMD DLL that you can load/install.

Theoretically, if you are running WoFF UE with no problems on your current AMD vid card / generation of AMD vid DLL / ver of Windows installed, then BH&H2 should run well too. No guarantees what will happen however if you upgrade Windows and/or the generation of AMD vid DLL installed.

We AMD-GPU-WoFFers also had an "AMD support thread" going a while back -- might be worth it to check over the posts there too -- the link is:

https://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/4560077/amd-help-and-support#Post4560077

Cheers & happy AMD-GPU-WoFFing,
smile2


~ For my various FM/AI/FPS/DM Mods. for First Eagles 2, WoFF, RoF & WoTR, and tips for FlightGear, recommended is to check over my CombatAce profile (https://combatace.com/profile/86760-vons/) and to click on the "About Me" tab while there. ~
#4623570 - 03/27/23 08:32 AM Re: BH&HII and AMD GPU [Re: wiiired]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 8,130
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 8,130
If UE works for you, BH&H II should be fine.


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4623576 - 03/27/23 09:46 AM Re: BH&HII and AMD GPU [Re: wiiired]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 46
wiiired Offline
Junior Member
wiiired  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 46
Northeast Ohio, USA
Much thanks for the replies.

Working might be a little ambitious statement because I've only run a couple quick scenarios, but it does start and quit perfectly. VonS, thanks for insight, it was very interesting. I'm running a brand new install of Win 10 Home Edition Ver 22H2. I had run out of space finally on my 256 ssd and so I had it upgraded to 2 Terabyte and they do a fresh install, wipe it all, so literally putting it all back on slowly. I'm running an AMD Radeon HD 8700, Driver 22.6.1 released 8/2/2022.

Pol, that's great news, thanks.

Last edited by wiiired; 03/27/23 09:48 AM.
#4623580 - 03/27/23 10:54 AM Re: BH&HII and AMD GPU [Re: wiiired]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 945
kksnowbear Online content
Member
kksnowbear  Online Content
Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 945
Please see this post: >LINK<

With the graphics card and drivers you specify, you would fall under the "old card/new drivers" heading:

- Old card, new drivers; technically supported by the drivers (to a point) but drivers beyond a certain point would likely have the issues mentioned some three years ago, per the thread linked above from ~Nov 2018 - again, depending upon specific hardware.

Meaning you are likely to experience the issues as reported by others beginning c.2018, discussed in the linked thread, and unresolved to date AFAIK. I believe it accurate to say the recommendation to avoid AMD cards followed those issues.

HTH

Last edited by kksnowbear; 03/27/23 12:07 PM.
#4623619 - 03/27/23 04:30 PM Re: BH&HII and AMD GPU [Re: wiiired]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 46
wiiired Offline
Junior Member
wiiired  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 46
Northeast Ohio, USA
Thanks, I'll take time to read it. Just flew a campaign mission, no problems, in eu.


Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Eagle Cams
by NoFlyBoy. 02/25/24 07:20 PM
For us old farts
by oldgrognard. 02/25/24 02:03 PM
Forty Four Years Ago....
by F4UDash4. 02/23/24 02:40 AM
Live Moon Landing: NOW
by F4UDash4. 02/22/24 10:46 PM
Excalibur
by PanzerMeyer. 02/22/24 07:29 PM
SimHQ Formula 1 Fantasy League
by DBond. 02/21/24 05:48 PM
Brand New, 26 Year Old, House for Sale
by F4UDash4. 02/18/24 11:52 AM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0