Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4615080 - 11/29/22 12:44 AM Best Computer to Play Simulations on?  
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 244
Snow46 Offline
Veteran
Snow46  Offline
Veteran
Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 244
Idaho, USA
While I didnt have much trouble with my MSI computer in Idaho, I am having all kinds of problems with my Cyberpower PC set up that is only about 2 years old. I have spent several days now trying to get my new VKB Flightstick to work on WOTR. The support person at WOTR has spent a lot of time trying to get it all to work and to tell the truth this is about the 4th technical issue I have had running the sims. When I looked at upgrading to Windows 11, I find that this computer does not qualify as the mother board is missing key features... I am thinking of donating it to a person that needs a good pc for school and buying a new one. I think I would like to go with a reliable company and stay in the $2,000 ti $3.000 dollar range. Any suggestions? Not locked into Intel, Nvidia or any particular manufacturer. Also not sure if Windows 10 or 11 is better for sims.


Fear is a natural reaction, courage is a decision.- Winston Churchill
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4615082 - 11/29/22 12:59 AM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
WangoTango Offline
I've always been mad ...
WangoTango  Offline
I've always been mad ...
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
Ontario, Canada
Watch some YouTube videos and build one. It is surprisingly easy.


Cyber Monday would be a good time to buy parts. Or get a pre built on sale.


AMD Ryzen 7 3700 8-Core Processor 3.6 to 4.4 GHz / MSI B450 Tomahawk Max MB / 32GB DDR4 Ram (3200 MHz) / EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 ULTRA 8GB GDDR6 / Cooler Master V850 Gold V2 PSU / VKB Gladiator-K- SCG Premium / VKB T-Rudder Pedals / Grass Monkey Head Tracker
#4615085 - 11/29/22 01:58 AM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 6,413
Tarnsman Online content
Hotshot
Tarnsman  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 6,413
USA
I had 3 Dell PCs and for the most part the higher end ones were good. But, no PC repair shop would touch them, it was all upgrade/repair on your own. As Dell's tech support got weaker, it got to be more do on my own. Brand name PCs always have some proprietary thing that keeps them "in house" which turns out to be a PITA. In your case it sounds like a motherboard issue. Who knows.

But I agree with Wango, build a PC yourself, its actually not that hard. I built mine step by step with Carey Holzman. He was very step by step and did not skip any steps along the way.



I built mine a few years ago and it works great.

#4615086 - 11/29/22 02:06 AM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
WangoTango Offline
I've always been mad ...
WangoTango  Offline
I've always been mad ...
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
Ontario, Canada
I've built my last 3. I got my son into it as well. He built his last couple. He's built a few for his friends too. They give him the $ for hardware, and he can bang one out in about 2 hours. He does it for free.


AMD Ryzen 7 3700 8-Core Processor 3.6 to 4.4 GHz / MSI B450 Tomahawk Max MB / 32GB DDR4 Ram (3200 MHz) / EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 ULTRA 8GB GDDR6 / Cooler Master V850 Gold V2 PSU / VKB Gladiator-K- SCG Premium / VKB T-Rudder Pedals / Grass Monkey Head Tracker
#4615129 - 11/29/22 02:05 PM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,448
wormfood Offline
Member
wormfood  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,448
Minnesota
Which "key features" are missing. Usually it's a setting in the BIOS that needs to be changed and not necessarily the board itself.

#4615145 - 11/29/22 04:05 PM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 244
Snow46 Offline
Veteran
Snow46  Offline
Veteran
Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 244
Idaho, USA
When I am up in windows it says I am missing a security processor. In thinking about it, maybe I just need to change motherboards. The cpu is an I-7 and gpu is a 3080. Power supply 850 watts and memory is 32. Just not sure which to buy. Having issues with a couple of games and constantly having to do work around.

Also thinking of switching to AMD processor.

Last edited by Snow46; 11/29/22 04:08 PM.

Fear is a natural reaction, courage is a decision.- Winston Churchill
#4615146 - 11/29/22 04:11 PM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
WangoTango Offline
I've always been mad ...
WangoTango  Offline
I've always been mad ...
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by Snow46
When I am up in windows it says I am missing a security processor. In thinking about it, maybe I just need to change motherboards. The cpu is an I-7 and gpu is a 3080. Power supply 850 watts and memory is 32. Just not sure which to buy. Having issues with a couple of games and constantly having to do work around.

Also thinking of switching to AMD processor.

You have very good hardware there, already. Do you know what motherboard you have ?
I know I had to update my BIOS, and change some settings to satisfy Windows security needs, to upgrade to Win 11.

Maybe somebody more tech savy would be able to communicate with you how to do it.


AMD Ryzen 7 3700 8-Core Processor 3.6 to 4.4 GHz / MSI B450 Tomahawk Max MB / 32GB DDR4 Ram (3200 MHz) / EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 ULTRA 8GB GDDR6 / Cooler Master V850 Gold V2 PSU / VKB Gladiator-K- SCG Premium / VKB T-Rudder Pedals / Grass Monkey Head Tracker
#4615147 - 11/29/22 04:37 PM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,448
wormfood Offline
Member
wormfood  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,448
Minnesota
You could check with the BIOS settings or updates and look for a TPM and/or secure boot option. If they're not present, you might have to change the motherboard.

#4615148 - 11/29/22 04:43 PM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: wormfood]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
WangoTango Offline
I've always been mad ...
WangoTango  Offline
I've always been mad ...
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by wormfood
You could check with the BIOS settings or updates and look for a TPM and/or secure boot option. If they're not present, you might have to change the motherboard.

This is what I had to do.


AMD Ryzen 7 3700 8-Core Processor 3.6 to 4.4 GHz / MSI B450 Tomahawk Max MB / 32GB DDR4 Ram (3200 MHz) / EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 ULTRA 8GB GDDR6 / Cooler Master V850 Gold V2 PSU / VKB Gladiator-K- SCG Premium / VKB T-Rudder Pedals / Grass Monkey Head Tracker
#4615154 - 11/29/22 05:33 PM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 8,386
Mr_Blastman Online content
Hotshot
Mr_Blastman  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 8,386
Atlanta, GA
Microcenter makes a fine PC for a reasonable price with enthusiast parts. They do not use any proprietary components. I bought one last spring and it is impressive, going with their G470.

Check their site for the "powerspec" line of machines.


In my case, at the time--I needed one fast and in another state, the price I paid for the powerspec was actually about the same as it would have cost to build myself. The best part is they come with the OS already loaded so you don't have to mess with that. My only minor issue is the power supply was a wee smaller than I wanted, but that can easily be changed later, and hard drives are simple to add to boost storage space.

#4615156 - 11/29/22 05:42 PM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
WangoTango Offline
I've always been mad ...
WangoTango  Offline
I've always been mad ...
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
Ontario, Canada
Installing Win 10 or 11 is quite easy. You download it to a USB, and set your USB as the first bootable device in Bios.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/software-download/windows11


AMD Ryzen 7 3700 8-Core Processor 3.6 to 4.4 GHz / MSI B450 Tomahawk Max MB / 32GB DDR4 Ram (3200 MHz) / EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 ULTRA 8GB GDDR6 / Cooler Master V850 Gold V2 PSU / VKB Gladiator-K- SCG Premium / VKB T-Rudder Pedals / Grass Monkey Head Tracker
#4615170 - 11/29/22 08:07 PM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 244
Snow46 Offline
Veteran
Snow46  Offline
Veteran
Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 244
Idaho, USA
I talked to my local computer shop and they affirmed the concept that it is probably only a bios setting that needs to be changed. He suggested not changing the computer for at least 2 more years as the current state of the art prices will fall and not many games are even using the new capabilities.

Meanwhile still trying to get the VKB controller set up in WOTR, which wont save the binding settings for this controller.


Fear is a natural reaction, courage is a decision.- Winston Churchill
#4615173 - 11/29/22 08:18 PM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
WangoTango Offline
I've always been mad ...
WangoTango  Offline
I've always been mad ...
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by Snow46
I talked to my local computer shop and they affirmed the concept that it is probably only a bios setting that needs to be changed. He suggested not changing the computer for at least 2 more years as the current state of the art prices will fall and not many games are even using the new capabilities.

Meanwhile still trying to get the VKB controller set up in WOTR, which wont save the binding settings for this controller.

Can you give an example ? specifically the button # you are trying to program.


AMD Ryzen 7 3700 8-Core Processor 3.6 to 4.4 GHz / MSI B450 Tomahawk Max MB / 32GB DDR4 Ram (3200 MHz) / EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 ULTRA 8GB GDDR6 / Cooler Master V850 Gold V2 PSU / VKB Gladiator-K- SCG Premium / VKB T-Rudder Pedals / Grass Monkey Head Tracker
#4615189 - 11/30/22 01:35 AM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 244
Snow46 Offline
Veteran
Snow46  Offline
Veteran
Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 244
Idaho, USA
Thanks for all your help in the PM! Really appreciate it, if I continue to play WOTR it will be on the Thrustmaster I guess. They seem unable to help.


Fear is a natural reaction, courage is a decision.- Winston Churchill
#4615192 - 11/30/22 01:49 AM Re: Best Computer to Play Simulations on? [Re: Snow46]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
WangoTango Offline
I've always been mad ...
WangoTango  Offline
I've always been mad ...
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,680
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by Snow46
Thanks for all your help in the PM! Really appreciate it, if I continue to play WOTR it will be on the Thrustmaster I guess. They seem unable to help.

NP


AMD Ryzen 7 3700 8-Core Processor 3.6 to 4.4 GHz / MSI B450 Tomahawk Max MB / 32GB DDR4 Ram (3200 MHz) / EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 ULTRA 8GB GDDR6 / Cooler Master V850 Gold V2 PSU / VKB Gladiator-K- SCG Premium / VKB T-Rudder Pedals / Grass Monkey Head Tracker

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Cindy Williams was 75
by F4UDash4. 01/31/23 02:28 AM
Why is so many famous folks dying?
by NoFlyBoy. 01/30/23 05:08 PM
Bobby Hull, RIP
by WangoTango. 01/30/23 04:12 PM
Annie Wersching passes from cancer at 45
by NoFlyBoy. 01/30/23 01:44 AM
You're going to be served
by KRT_Bong. 01/28/23 01:24 PM
Stealth modelling
by bolox. 01/27/23 05:14 PM
Living One Hundred Years....
by F4UDash4. 01/26/23 10:50 AM
How British are you.
by NoFlyBoy. 01/25/23 12:48 AM
Flight Stick/HOTAS Suggestions?
by Snow46. 01/21/23 11:35 PM
1958 guide to finding husband
by NoFlyBoy. 01/21/23 03:55 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0