Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#4599181 - 05/09/22 05:47 PM Help required learning Falcon BMS  
Greybeard Offline
Greybeard  Offline

Italy
Hello everyone!

I am new to Falcon 4.0 and this is my first message. I purchased and installed Falcon 4.0 from Steam five days ago in order to take advantage of its modern update of the Benchmark Sims, of which I downloaded and installed the current version 4.36. I believe I have all the original manuals, especially the Dash-1, Main Checklist and BMS Training. I started the "Ramp" mission three days ago and I struggled to get to communications - and here I am stranded: I absolutely cannot understand how to communicate with the control tower and everything else - I am in total confusion between DTC, COMM1 & 2, UHF, VHF, frequencies (I see that I can only set one, but in the briefing there are many ...), etc.
I managed to start the engine, I can get to the runway and take off, but if I can't communicate with anyone I don't know what I'm doing ...
Please, simple help! I would hate to give up on this beautiful simulator with its engaging dynamic campaign and one that reminds me of the much fun I had thirty years ago with its venerable predecessor: Falcon 3.0. Thanks!

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4599183 - 05/09/22 06:04 PM Re: Help required learning Falcon BMS [Re: Greybeard]  
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Veteran

NooJoyzee
To set your tower comms, use the DTC. On the lower right of the planning map screen is the DTC button, looks like a USB stick I think. In the comms section find an unused preset channel and click set tower and save. Be sure you're tuned to that channel when you enter the jet and you should get clearance and chocks removal.

Let's say you put your base on channel 18. If not already tuned to it in the jet, on the ICP hit

Comms 1
Enter

That should get you talking with the tower.

This assumes it all still works the same.