Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4588064 - 12/29/21 07:54 PM Old school wet shaving  
WangoTango Offline
Hotshot
WangoTango  Offline
Hotshot

Ontario, Canada
Anyone here wet shave ? mug/bowl of soap and brush, and a double edge safety razor ? ( the real brave may use a straight razor).
Some may recall that since October I have been a CPAP machine user. Well I could not find a mask that would seal adequately with my goatee/beard. I very reluctantly accepted the fact that the facial hair had to go. I have been sporting either a goatee or beard for close to 25 years.
I have used shaving soap and a brush for many years. I noticed in the stores lately I have seen a resurgence of old school double edge safety razors, and even straight blade razors. I decided to grab a Wilkinson Sword DE butterfly razor. About $20 with 5 blades. First few shaves were a bit of a bloodbath. I learnt to let the weight of the razor head do the work, no need to apply pressure. There are a surprisingly (maybe not) amount of Youtube Channels dedicated to wet shaving. I bought a mid range Edwin Jagger Safety Razor (UK brand) with some Christmas money I was given, it came with some blades called Derby, I have never heard of them. They are manufactured in Sweden and Turkey. amazing blades, and you can get 100 blades for about 12$ on Amazon.
I have a stack of Dollar Shave Club 4 blade cartridges. I am giving them to my son, who at 19 only gets a bit of fuzz. They will last him a long time.
Bottom line is I get away smoother shave from the old school razor, and the blades are cheap. Plus the soap seems to be very good for my complexion.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4588065 - 12/29/21 08:11 PM Re: Old school wet shaving [Re: WangoTango]  
wormfood Online content
wormfood  Online Content

Texas
Those Derby blades are great, maybe not the best, but good enough and dirt cheap.

#4588066 - 12/29/21 08:12 PM Re: Old school wet shaving [Re: WangoTango]  
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

UK