Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4555389 - 02/08/21 09:16 PM Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Daskal Offline
Member
Daskal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
For tose of you interested in WW2 tank sims and Panzer Elite in particular I just wanted to get the word out that there is a new version of the mod/expansion in the works.

- further changes to sound effects
- visual updates to several units
- bug fixes from previous versions
- additional scenarios (if I can figure out the sce editor)

I'll be posting screens and videos to this thread - here is a short clip with the King Tigers having received some additional facelift along with sound updates:

https://youtu.be/AqcsYzgv_ac

Attached Files 0.jpg
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4555394 - 02/08/21 09:38 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Daskal Offline
Member
Daskal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Tigers near Prohorovka - using additional 3D details/objects by Murkz

Attached Files 0.jpg1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg
#4555400 - 02/08/21 09:51 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,972
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,972
Airborn
Thanks Daskal!

I don´t know if it´s me but it looks like they have smoothen out the terrain a bit, it looks alot better now. At least it seems that way to me.

This is a video I did 3 years ago and the terrain looks more jagged...



Best tank sim after Steel Beast IMHO smile2


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor, Logitech G13 and G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4555473 - 02/09/21 06:32 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Daskal Offline
Member
Daskal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Originally Posted by Red2112
Thanks Daskal!

I don´t know if it´s me but it looks like they have smoothen out the terrain a bit, it looks alot better now. At least it seems that way to me.

This is a video I did 3 years ago and the terrain looks more jagged...



Best tank sim after Steel Beast IMHO smile2



were you using the Beta version or 2.0 of Ostpak Redux?

#4555494 - 02/10/21 12:40 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Daskal Offline
Member
Daskal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Updated Tiger models - Winter setting

Attached Files 2.jpg1.jpg0.jpg
#4555497 - 02/10/21 01:15 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,050
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,050
Belfast, NI
Great stuff, looking forward to this!

One minor gripe is that early-model Tigers Is (with the 'dustbin' cupola) didn't have a mount for an AA MG34. While the 'vision cupola' on later Tiger Is and the King Tiger certainly did, the MG seems to have been usually fitted only on the march and rarely if ever in battle...plus as can be seen in the video clip, its barrel sort of gets in the way of the view.

#4555511 - 02/10/21 08:25 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: 33lima]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Daskal Offline
Member
Daskal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Originally Posted by 33lima
Great stuff, looking forward to this!

One minor gripe is that early-model Tigers Is (with the 'dustbin' cupola) didn't have a mount for an AA MG34. While the 'vision cupola' on later Tiger Is and the King Tiger certainly did, the MG seems to have been usually fitted only on the march and rarely if ever in battle...plus as can be seen in the video clip, its barrel sort of gets in the way of the view.


The AAMG is an optional add-on. By default it does not appear on the Tigers - you have to enable it as an add-on during the mission briefing screen/fitting out your platoon. I just put it in for the screenshots.

Here is the default view:

Attached Files 1.jpg
Last edited by Daskal; 02/10/21 08:26 AM.
#4555518 - 02/10/21 11:05 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,050
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,050
Belfast, NI
Looks much better!

#4555581 - 02/10/21 07:21 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,972
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,972
Airborn
Originally Posted by Daskal
were you using the Beta version or 2.0 of Ostpak Redux?


The Beta version if I recall correctly. It´s been so years now sorry.

Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor, Logitech G13 and G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4555951 - 02/13/21 02:59 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 113
Vox Offline
Member
Vox  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 113
Thanks Daskal and Murtz PE keeps getting better. This is something to look forward too. One thing that always pulls me back to PE is that in the sim you have tactical control over a platoon of tanks rather than a single. This aspect of the gameplay, and not necessarily the graphics is what pulls me in.

#4556856 - 02/20/21 02:20 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Daskal Offline
Member
Daskal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
... oh yeah and how about a facelift for Normandy setting, and well frankly how about getting in some detailed models and textures - check it out:

Attached Files 0.jpg1.jpg2.jpg
#4557005 - 02/21/21 01:11 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Daskal Offline
Member
Daskal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Wittmans Final battle - Tiger 007 (009 , 312, 314 set as wingmen)

Attached Files wittman PE_2.jpg
#4557093 - 02/21/21 05:06 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,309
Wodin Offline
Member
Wodin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,309
Liverpool
Wish I could play that well. I get hammered every time I try and play. I find the orders to other tanks too limited and though realistic the restricted camera views very difficult. Before I know it every tank is scrap. Though orders for other tanks in SF is non existent I find I can last abit longer playing that game than this one.

#4557122 - 02/21/21 08:39 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,050
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,050
Belfast, NI
Hi Wodin, you realise that you can allow an external view in PE's difficulty options during the mission briefing process? The camera control is somewhat different but I find it provided situational awareness as god as SF's. Plus you can switch to controlling any tank in your platoon, and usually, call down artillery or mortar fire. As in either sim, difficulty is liable to be down to how challenging the mission builder decides to make things. As for platoon command and control, PE seems particularly good in that respect, much better than SF (which is limited but not non-existent, albeit nearly everything that you can do has to be done from the F8 map).

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]




Attached Files gameProject 2021-02-10 22-29-18-35.jpggameProject 2021-02-10 19-26-35-34.jpg
Last edited by 33lima; 02/21/21 08:46 PM.
#4557164 - 02/22/21 04:53 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,309
Wodin Offline
Member
Wodin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,309
Liverpool
Thanks, yes I use the outside view, it's just not being able to zoom out etc I find difficult. I need to spend more time with it and get into the manual!

#4557473 - 02/24/21 12:44 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Daskal Offline
Member
Daskal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Thanks to Murkz new object are being created for the various models - in this case a previously missing front piece from the Tiger I model - new "bumpers"

Attached Files 0.jpg1.jpg2.jpg
#4557759 - 02/25/21 09:07 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,460
Brit44 'Aldo' Offline
Every Human is Unique
Brit44 'Aldo'  Offline
Every Human is Unique
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,460
Alt plus the arrow keys and alt plus page up/down keys moves the camera in external view. This feature is disabled in multi-player.

Last edited by Brit44 'Aldo'; 02/25/21 09:09 PM. Reason: clarifying that alt must be used with all keys

TPA who TWI
#4557787 - 02/26/21 12:03 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Daskal Offline
Member
Daskal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Normandy with weather and a platoon of Tigers

Attached Files 1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg6.jpg7.jpg8.jpg
#4557817 - 02/26/21 08:48 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,050
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,050
Belfast, NI
Looking good! However, I hope the loader hatch and loader figure animation is separate from the tank commander. The TC needs to be able to fight 'heads out' as illustrated, but when the TC is 'heads out', the loader should be buttoned up and his hatch closed. The model needs to prioritise combat conditions, not a route march.

#4557828 - 02/26/21 11:19 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux - New version in the works [Re: 33lima]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Daskal Offline
Member
Daskal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Originally Posted by 33lima
Looking good! However, I hope the loader hatch and loader figure animation is separate from the tank commander. The TC needs to be able to fight 'heads out' as illustrated, but when the TC is 'heads out', the loader should be buttoned up and his hatch closed. The model needs to prioritise combat conditions, not a route march.


Yes this is one thing I have to check with Aldo in terms of how this is triggered. TC should remain heads out and loader button up once engagmenet starts. Right now these are set to different attributes (loader and commander) - but how that is interpreted in game is another thing.
The great thing about PE is that you can have wingemen variations for a particular unit (5 in total). Take a platoon for example - the loader will be unbuttoned for the 2nd tank only - for the rest the hatch might be open but loader is down.

Again I hope we can work around this, because we have the models, and its just looks lively when doing a roadmarch and the loader pops out as well.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Meatsheild, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
A Perspective On Time Passing
by Arthonon. 04/21/21 04:06 AM
Never heard of these Viet Nam raids
by Nixer. 04/21/21 12:38 AM
How to send a fax
by Timothy. 04/20/21 10:52 PM
Ingenuity did its first flight
by kilosierra. 04/19/21 12:08 PM
Avenger Emergency landing
by KRT_Bong. 04/18/21 01:39 PM
Picard S2 preview is teeming with Easter Eggs
by NoFlyBoy. 04/18/21 02:01 AM
This is a great question! It's making me hungry.
by NoFlyBoy. 04/18/21 12:35 AM
NHL Playoffs are coming
by WangoTango. 04/17/21 07:49 PM
24 hrs. after Pfizer #2...
by MarkG. 04/16/21 06:18 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0