Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4553225 - 01/22/21 04:24 PM Couple of queries  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
tony2006 Offline
Junior Member
tony2006  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Hello,

I've not played WOFF in a few years so just tryin to get back into the swing of things.

1. the bristol scout has a level flying top speed of 100mph yet when i use the auto level flight option or even fly level manually i cant seem to get the crate much faster that 80mph how do i get it flyin faster? Auto mixture is on auto.

2. Is there any way to amend some of my squadron mates names just for fun?

3. How do i increase ingame resolution higher that 1920x1080?



Last edited by tony2006; 01/22/21 04:45 PM.
#4553258 - 01/22/21 06:06 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 7,137
Polovski Online content
Polovski  Online Content

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 7,137
Welcome back

Not that I want to debate FMs but 100mph is not the top speed of the C or the D with 80hp engines.. There were all sorts of configurations too with top wing lewis side mounted, twin 45 degree side mounted etc all affecting performance no doubt.

1. 80HP version is in WOFF and the top speed is more like 92-94 C/D versions - but depends on what altitude too and load, and real life tests may have been without a gun + load.

2. I leave that one for others, but I think JJJ's editor will do that easier.

3. Set it to your desktop max res (hopefully higher than 1920x1080? ) and try - or try setting it in Workshops. I fly at 3440 x 1440 here.
Occassionally the list of resolutions you need to select 1 down from the top (due to how it gets sometimes sorted).


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4553293 - 01/22/21 10:40 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 538
VonS Offline
WWI Flight Sims on a Mac
VonS  Offline
WWI Flight Sims on a Mac
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 538
@OP, optimistic top speed near SL on the C variant of Bristol Scout is about 94-5 mph (151-2 kph). The D variant with a 100 hp rotary may have had a top speed near 160 kph (100 mph). The C type (80 hp) is most likely modeled in WOFF. The earlier A/B variants may have been even slower (high 140s kph or so, 91-2 mph). If you like experimenting with FMs, you might wish to give the alternate FM a whirl for the Bristol Type C - available in the ver. 6.0 pack of my FM tweaks for WOFF - over at this link (also see the small ver. 6.5 addon immediately below that post and that tweaks the Fokk. Dr.1 variants further):

https://combatace.com/forums/topic/92320-fm-tweaks-for-woffuepe/?tab=comments#comment-768452

Top speed near SL on my Bristol tweak is around 152 kph - climb rate a wee bit better than on the stock variant - you might want to check out how it behaves with the auto-level flight option enabled (keep in mind that some of the auto-pilot settings in WOFF drop the throttle to about 3/4s, depending on what the auto-pilot is doing, so this may also result in lower speeds if not flying manually - haven't really ever tinkered with autopilot settings so I can't offer much insight there).

Von S smile2


// See WOFF on a Mac post for links to FM Tweaks Packages and GPU Tuner Patch for WOFF PE/UE. (https://tinyurl.com/WOFFonMac) // VonS WOFF/WOTR mods. are tweaks of files that are © OBD Software. // FE2 Tweaked FMs & Realism Pack (https://tinyurl.com/FE2fms) // FE2 Representative Vids. (https://tinyurl.com/fe2onamac) //
#4553315 - 01/23/21 01:26 AM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
tony2006 Offline
Junior Member
tony2006  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
I got the speed info from the in game plane card so it must just have the wrong speed.

How are we meant to be aim with the bristol scout? There is no aiming point which i get because some planes didnt have them but i dont see any tracer fire as a guide.

#4553334 - 01/23/21 08:40 AM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 538
VonS Offline
WWI Flight Sims on a Mac
VonS  Offline
WWI Flight Sims on a Mac
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 538
Originally Posted by tony2006
How are we meant to be aim with the bristol scout? There is no aiming point which i get because some planes didnt have them but i dont see any tracer fire as a guide.


General (historical) rule of thumb - no tracer rounds in use until about late 1916/early 1917 - although there are tracer mods. available for WOFF (I believe JJJ did some tracer mod. packs a while back) - those may be installed via JSGME and used as per taste.

To view the "aiming point" on the Bristol Scout, recommended is the "F6" key if you also use padlock view to lock onto a target (lock on to target and then select "F6") - if in padlock view but not using F6 - be about 20 meters back of your target and about 20-25 degrees to its right - before firing. Takes some practice but the Bristol is then entertaining, also very good for deflating observation balloons in diagonal attacks (some left rudder and wallow around the balloon, but don't stall).

Von S smile2


// See WOFF on a Mac post for links to FM Tweaks Packages and GPU Tuner Patch for WOFF PE/UE. (https://tinyurl.com/WOFFonMac) // VonS WOFF/WOTR mods. are tweaks of files that are © OBD Software. // FE2 Tweaked FMs & Realism Pack (https://tinyurl.com/FE2fms) // FE2 Representative Vids. (https://tinyurl.com/fe2onamac) //
#4553344 - 01/23/21 01:38 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
tony2006 Offline
Junior Member
tony2006  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Yeah its interesting for sure. Last mission the engine fell apart at 3000 feet although i was near a friendly airbase so managed to land safely. i'm in mid may 1916 so hopefully i will get a new crate soon.

Cheers for the tips n info.

#4553346 - 01/23/21 02:19 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
tony2006 Offline
Junior Member
tony2006  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
My next step is using external maps to navigate manually. I've downloaded the maps from the site and my idea was to generate a mission and then draw the waypoints onto the downloaded map and transfer it to my ipad but the process is tedious. ROF is much better in that regard although WOFF is better with pretty much everything else.

How do other virtual pilots go about this task?

#4553350 - 01/23/21 02:45 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,679
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,679
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
some of us use dual monitors and load the map on the second screen with graphics editor program. start woff, then skip to your second monitor, add your routing info, and when the mission is finished, scrap the edited image rather than saving it.

Just my suggestion. Others may have a different approach.

Last edited by Robert_Wiggins; 01/23/21 02:47 PM.

(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
PSU: Ultra X3,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4553376 - 01/23/21 04:54 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,528
vonBaur Offline
Senior Member
vonBaur  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,528
If you're talking about Louvert's maps, I have them on a 10" tablet that's just below my monitor.


SALUTE TO ALL!
#4553383 - 01/23/21 06:00 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,679
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,679
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by vonBaur
If you're talking about Louvert's maps, I have them on a 10" tablet that's just below my monitor.


That's fine and if you have a graphics editor program you can draw your routes on the map. Does that work for you?


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
PSU: Ultra X3,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4553384 - 01/23/21 06:03 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,054
77_Scout Offline
Member
77_Scout  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,054
Vancouver Island, Canada
Originally Posted by tony2006
My next step is using external maps to navigate manually. I've downloaded the maps from the site and my idea was to generate a mission and then draw the waypoints onto the downloaded map and transfer it to my ipad but the process is tedious. ROF is much better in that regard although WOFF is better with pretty much everything else.

How do other virtual pilots go about this task?


I print the area of the map that I think will cover my expected missions. I physically print it onto a regular sheet of paper and then slip it into one of those see-through plastic protectors/covers. Then I can draw on it with dry erase marker and simply wipe clean after mission, ready to start again.

#4553397 - 01/23/21 08:21 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: Robert_Wiggins]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
tony2006 Offline
Junior Member
tony2006  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Originally Posted by Robert_Wiggins
Originally Posted by vonBaur
If you're talking about Louvert's maps, I have them on a 10" tablet that's just below my monitor.


That's fine and if you have a graphics editor program you can draw your routes on the map. Does that work for you?


I edit the map using paint or something then transfer it to ipad it works well enough.

Except when the weather is pants and i cant see #%&*$# from 3000 feet lol

#4553468 - 01/24/21 01:25 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
tony2006 Offline
Junior Member
tony2006  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Got a few workshop queries

What does AI weather generator , in cloud fog and wingman options do?

Also ive noticed that when not flying lead the AI flight mates just speed off and i cant keep up. Do most players select the always lead option due to this?

#4553470 - 01/24/21 01:33 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 7,137
Polovski Online content
Polovski  Online Content

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 7,137
The AI generator makes a new weather "front" i.e a building up of bad weather over a day or so.

In cloud fog makes a foggy effect in Virtual Cockpit when you are "in cloud". Not perfect and can be odd if you have changed view / zoomed whatever - hence you can turn it off.

Wingman gives you a "wingman" in campaign who is assigned to fly next in line in formation with you - not particularly historic so off by default.

Depends on the aircraft type usually, and the mixture settings, and if it's a mixed flight and so on. It's very difficult to make all 80 aircraft balanced perfectly, but always lead will give you control of them so that’s one way if you find a group that you can't keep up with.


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4553484 - 01/24/21 03:50 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: Polovski]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
tony2006 Offline
Junior Member
tony2006  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Ok cheers for that. I have historical weather setting turned on for campaign do i need to use the weather generator manually or does the campaign take care of that automatically?

#4553488 - 01/24/21 04:25 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 962
BuckeyeBob Offline
Member
BuckeyeBob  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 962
Ohio, USA
Hi, Tony. Welcome to WOFF!

You do not need to do anything if you are using the historical weather setting. The game will automatically read a file (OFFHistoricalWeather.xml) that will load weather similar to the historical weather for that day.

Cheers!

#4553505 - 01/24/21 08:01 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,054
77_Scout Offline
Member
77_Scout  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,054
Vancouver Island, Canada
I keep the 'in-cloud' effect off. The game works fine without it, and it often does some weird stuff as Polovski mentioned above. (This was Microsoft's attempt to give a 'lost in the clouds' effect, by pasting a misty overlay on your screen. You still get a realistic effect without it, just from the actual in-game clouds blocking your view.)

#4553506 - 01/24/21 08:04 PM Re: Couple of queries [Re: tony2006]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
tony2006 Offline
Junior Member
tony2006  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Ok cool no worries. I've got another query may as well add it on in this thread.

I use Louverts excellent maps but ive noticed some airfields dont match up with the shockingly bad in game briefing map.

I've noticed some airfield mods, should any if these or any other mods be used if navigating with Louverts maps?


Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Finger Drumming
by Red2112. 04/13/21 07:34 PM
Enlisted
by KRT_Bong. 04/13/21 05:04 PM
I thought that this was pretty amazing....
by Pooch. 04/10/21 12:21 AM
More troubles for the 737 Max
by KraziKanuK. 04/09/21 07:55 PM
Prince Philip has died
by KraziKanuK. 04/09/21 11:33 AM
On board the Wilhelm Gustloff
by Docjonel. 04/09/21 05:54 AM
Eagle deuce
by Crane Hunter. 04/09/21 01:51 AM
what's your internet context
by jroc. 04/08/21 01:40 AM
Old Tourist Film from Newfoundland
by No105_Archie. 04/06/21 03:36 AM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0