Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 6 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
#4531337 - 07/25/20 03:39 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Mr X Offline
Junior Member
Mr X  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
I am still getting the same issue from my previous post, tried a fresh install from CD's today, patched from the link below
https://www.moddb.com/games/janes-u...janes-united-states-air-force-v102-patch
I ran the game after patching and it says 1.02F so i think it was patched correctly

Extracted the files and followed the configuration instructions and still getting this error https://ibb.co/VVrLLp2 once i run the USAF.exe so I cannot get to the preferences screen.

Is there anything I could be doing wrong or anything I could try to resolve this? Any information I could provide that may help let me know.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4531349 - 07/25/20 04:33 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Czech Republic
What is your install path?

#4531352 - 07/25/20 04:39 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Mr X Offline
Junior Member
Mr X  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
I am not installing directly to C drive, could that be an issue? It is currently something like F:/old/files/games/usaf

#4531355 - 07/25/20 05:06 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Czech Republic
I don't know, but correct paths must be in sim.ibx, CTM_DB.ini and tgen.ini.

#4531359 - 07/25/20 05:18 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Mr X Offline
Junior Member
Mr X  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
ok, that could be an issue, i'll try using the default install path maybe that will help.

#4531365 - 07/25/20 05:57 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Mr X Offline
Junior Member
Mr X  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Used default directory and it plays now on windows 10! Thanks for the help!!

So i am closer to being able to play but still having some issues. The game loads fine windowed and the intro plays but there are some issues with navigating the main menu. When I try to pick a training or single mission the middle of the screen has artifact of the previous menu screen and once selecting a plane the load button cannot be clicked to play. https://ibb.co/xJ0qcLs https://ibb.co/4R7QCXN

When I try a quick mission it crashes to desktop on launch.

Last edited by Mr X; 07/25/20 06:21 PM.
#4531416 - 07/26/20 04:58 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Czech Republic
Your install patch is "C:\" or "C:\Program Files\"? You cannot install to "C:\Program Files" because it is for 64bit applications. Can you try to install to "C:\"? Then I will upgrade instructions.

#4531434 - 07/26/20 02:23 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Mr X Offline
Junior Member
Mr X  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Yes, my default install directory was C:\Program files\Jane's Combat Simulations\USAF. I can try just installing directly to C:

Update:
Installing to C: fixed the menu issues, playing great so far now.

Thanks for the help!!!

Last edited by Mr X; 07/26/20 02:59 PM.
#4531450 - 07/26/20 03:58 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Czech Republic
Updated instructions. reading

#4531555 - 07/27/20 09:45 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 190
Dornil Online smile
Member
Dornil  Online Smile
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 190
I am having only 20fps (with GTX 1060) regardless of the situation ingame. Is this normal, or can I do something about it?

#4531597 - 07/27/20 02:46 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Czech Republic
It depends on your resolution. I am using 2880x2160 and I have 25 FPS with RTX 2080 Ti. DirectX 6 calls are wrapped to DirectX 11 with dgVoodoo. I have 150 FPS without wrapping. But it is buggy when you want to run natively. Mainly on nvidia cards.

#4534711 - 08/25/20 07:11 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 7
IvyMike Offline
Junior Member
IvyMike  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 7
I’ve been able to get it installed and playing, but I’m having a hard time maintaining level flight. The aircrafts always seem to want to pitch down. Some planes are worse than others, the f-22 is the worst. I’m only able to stay level with constant pressure back on the joystick. Any idea why this might be? I kind of remember it being an issue when I originally had this sim back in the early 2000’s.

#4534839 - 08/26/20 10:17 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: IvyMike]  
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 136
Andromedius Offline
I Love Camembert
Andromedius  Offline
I Love Camembert
Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 136
Nancy, North-East of FRANCE
Hi,

You may wanna use the updated flight models (with correct fuel flow) : http://www.bobsyouruncle.net/downloads/04-01-02atk.zip

Unzip and copy-paste the files right into the "MD" folder located at C:\Program Files\Jane's Combat Simulations\USAF\Resource\MD. (before overwriting any file, make a backup)
Hopefully you should experience some noticeable improvement with your flying

Fly safe!

Andro


'Au Royaume des aveugles, les borgnes sont mal vus'. Pierre Dac.
In the land of the blind, one-eyed men are badly looked upon.
#4538762 - 09/29/20 07:28 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
SandMartin Offline
Junior Member
SandMartin  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Hello Tcklbrry.

I have issue with your Janes IAF Patch.

The fact is that when viewed from the cockpit, the game runs with a very bad FPS on default resolution (I didnt change it).
When viewed from the 3rd person, everything is ok. (60+ fps. But when is cockpit view, then I have 5-7 fps on my RTX2070 and Windows 10.

Moreover, this appears only on the Nvidia video card.
There is no such thing on radeons. (I tried on my radeons notebook and there IAF runs ok).

P.S. Janes USAF runs ok.


Last edited by SandMartin; 09/29/20 07:35 PM.
#4550180 - 12/30/20 07:53 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 26
diesel Offline
Junior Member
diesel  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 26
Hi everyone,

First BIG thanks to Tackleberry and the work he has done on these wonderful sims for modern OSs.

I have SuperPro running on Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit very well. I incorporated Tackleberrys fixes for USAF, removed or renamed all sound files (this fixed a serious mouse lag bug in the menus caused by playing sound files, also exists in USAF) intro and exit videos, and hand edited the reference section so it now works( removed ALL spaces from the file ) Also the removal of sound files now allows running the game directly without the one-core fix without any problems.

Now I can just copy the install directory, either C:\USAF or C:\SuperPro, to another Win7 64bit machine and have it work.

#4551552 - 01/09/21 09:45 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 26
diesel Offline
Junior Member
diesel  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 26
Hi Tackleberry,

I have been using your latest voodoo wrapper on Window 7 Home Premium 64bit.
I have a question about voodoo wrapper, when I set 3DFX splash to ON in dg configurator I never see this so I do not know which interface is being used. No changes are seen if I use NVidia GeForce GTX770 (my card) OR dgVoodoo DirectX wrapper.
Can you hel[p me see the 3DFX splash screen?
At first I did not like the new graphics, very bright and washed out, but then I found settings on the HOME menu that fixed most of it. So now it is looking great.

Thanks for all your work.

#4552816 - 01/19/21 08:43 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 26
diesel Offline
Junior Member
diesel  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 26
***** Cannot get USAF running on Athlon 64 X2 with MSI board and integrated nVidia graphics. ******

I have a real puzzler. I have a Systemax PC, circa 2010, with AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ and Windows 7 Pro 64bit.
Now I have run Janes USAF on several machines with Tackleberrys patches and they worked great, but now on just this one machine it all works right up to the point where the progress bar starts to move a little getting ready to fly, then crashes with the error "program has a problem and will be shut down" or similar. I have spent a lot of time trying to fix this and no luck. This same machine has 8 other flight sims of about the same time as USAF and all run great, just this one does not, so I am really lost here.

Has anyone has solved this? I am totally vexed and out of ideas.

#4553135 - 01/22/21 06:59 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 94
Czech Republic
Hi diesel,
3Dfx splash screen is for glide games. USAF is directx game. If you want, you can see dgVoodoo watermark, which can be set under "DirectX" tab.
As for graphics there is reshade so you can remove it or playing with reshade settings or effects. wink
Now for better terrain visibility USAF needs more memory to run. Maybe USAF cannot allocate enough memmory to run.

Cheers,
Tcklbrry

#4555072 - 02/06/21 04:06 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 34
Witchy Woman Offline
Junior Member
Witchy Woman  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 34
usa
I got it working perfectly. I just installed superpro followed by the original terrain files then the Tcklbrry patch over it. Runs perfect. TY!

Last edited by Witchy Woman; 02/08/21 02:34 AM.
#4557356 - Yesterday at 05:19 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Dornil]  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 1,732
Eagle114th Offline
Member
Eagle114th  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 1,732
Texas, USA
Hello everyone!

I am able to install and run Jane's USAF successfully. I managed to obtain Super pro 9.4 too.

However, I am looking for HQ texture update (terrains and other) mod for Jane's USAF. It appears that the download sites for it are down everywhere. I am still looking for it. Does anyone have all mod files for Jane's USAF?


Great pilots are made not born... A man may possess good eyesight, sensitive hands, and perfect coordination, but the end product is only fashioned by steady coaching, much practice, and experience.

Air Vice-Marshall J.E. "Johnnie" Johnson, RAF
Page 6 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Math - what is the correct answer?
by KraziKanuK. 02/24/21 01:29 PM
Tiger Woods involved in serious Car accident
by WangoTango. 02/23/21 07:45 PM
Daft Punk is no more
by Blade_RJ. 02/22/21 07:34 PM
🎥 Short Film Competition! (THE ART OF WAR)
by TangoSierra. 02/22/21 05:42 PM
United Flight 328 Emergency landing in Denver
by WangoTango. 02/21/21 12:53 AM
Sad songs...what are yours ?
by WangoTango. 02/20/21 10:08 PM
Bill's Cooking Tips!
by Bill_Grant. 02/20/21 05:59 PM
Girlfriend left me...
by Bill_Grant. 02/20/21 05:43 PM
A Wallaby Walks Into a Hospital...
by vonBaur. 02/19/21 06:45 PM
NASA Perseverance
by RossUK. 02/18/21 07:28 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0