Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4552310 - 01/14/21 09:42 PM Win10 and FPS?  
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,605
Knegel Offline
Hotshot
Knegel  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,605
Hi,

last weekend my old PXC (Win7) died, now i got a new PC with Win10. Its way faster than the old and EAW runs fine, wihout garblet screens, like before.

Strangewise the FPS is pretty low, compared to my old PC. I was used to get 60fps normally and 30fps wehn it got croweded. Now 30fps is max and its going down to 20fps, maybe less.

And iam running just 1024x768!

Is there a way to get a better performence, compatibility mode or so??

Thanks in advance!


Knegel


If you think `thats close enough´, go closer, until the plane fill up the windscreen, then a short burst is enough!
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4552352 - 01/15/21 02:18 AM Re: Win10 and FPS? [Re: Knegel]  
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 996
MarkEAW Offline
Member
MarkEAW  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 996
not sure why nobody is telling you, but win10 nearly halves the fps from win7 as you noticed. Then it lowers down from there instead of a steady 60fps like on win7.

Its not just the EAW game thats effected, many games are.
I've tried and researched and tested different things but never was able to have a good game of EAW to run like it use too. I've contacted with feedback to Microsoft a few years ago, but the lower FPS hasn't increased.

I still do reasearch now and then, but I can't find the true cause, therefore can't solve it with shims or special modes.
Just DX wrappers seem to for some speed up the game.

#4552370 - 01/15/21 09:07 AM Re: Win10 and FPS? [Re: Knegel]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 693
SkyHigh Offline
Member
SkyHigh  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 693
Ireland
I find good results with DgVoodoo2, but I'm on Win 7. One can emulate an old video card with it (choice of several). I get a peak of 30 fps, but it doesn't go below mid-twenties in even the most intense graphic situations.

#4552379 - 01/15/21 12:18 PM Re: Win10 and FPS? [Re: Knegel]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 11,532
MrJelly Offline
Veteran
MrJelly  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 11,532
Montagnac, L'Herault, France
I just got 60 fps in Win10 running in Glide with nGlide.
We imported Glide3 thanks to Zeus a few years ago, but one essential is the eaw.ini being set to the default 1024x768.

My nGlide configuration setting has the size set to 1920x1080 which is my monitor default. This maintains the round gunsight, but gives the black panels either side of the screen. The on-screen appearance is much better than the screenie, but you can make out the 60 fps smile


[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]


Fly EAW online at GameRanger: GameRanger Site

Check our page on FaceBook: UAW 160 downloads

Mark Twain: I am quite sure now that often, very often, in matters concerning religion and politics a man's reasoning powers are not above the monkey's.

I am now of an age at which I no longer need to suffer fools gladly
#4552419 - 01/15/21 04:08 PM Re: Win10 and FPS? [Re: Knegel]  
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,605
Knegel Offline
Hotshot
Knegel  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,605
Thanks Tony, it works now with the wrapper!


If you think `thats close enough´, go closer, until the plane fill up the windscreen, then a short burst is enough!
#4552534 - 01/16/21 03:13 PM Re: Win10 and FPS? [Re: Knegel]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
cass Offline
Junior Member
cass  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
This is not really framerate related but it is Win10 issue....

So i decided to try and get EAW running on my laptop with win10. I have installed UAW 1.6 to an old HD that I connect via a USB / HD connector. It works well for carrying my games around without taking up space on my desktop or laptop systems.

Anyway.

I have it up and running. Main screens are flawless, love that. I ran it in D3D first and had issues with black squares on the gun sight and black background to sprites so I used Nglide and switched to glide. Only to have this happen

[Linked Image] https://SimHQ.com/forum/tmp/28607.jpg


Additionally I get a missing file error "msflxgd.ocx" when trying to run dsp2020multiplayer.exe in the UAW directory.

any ideas? I may bring a joystick with me on my next work rotation so i can do some flying if i can get this working on my laptop.

Thanks

Dan

Attached Files European Air War 2021-01-16 9_38_26 AM.jpg
#4552549 - 01/16/21 04:52 PM Re: Win10 and FPS? [Re: Knegel]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 677
Lolo Kramp Offline
Member
Lolo Kramp  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 677
Lyon, France
It may be linked to the graphic card...

On my Laptop with Windows 7, I get pb for some specific skin colors in Glide Mode (Using NGlide emulator) using the view object option of the main menu : lot's of them are made transparent, but most of the transparent colors are then correct when I play the game in single mission mode for instance (hence 2 way different of rendering colors).

But I got also pb in game with some colors that are completly changed in game.

Example below is a beautiful skin for SM79 Sparviero from Captain Kurt for SAW campaign, which work good in D3D, but when using Glide + NGlide some yellow/sand colors turns to pale green and red/brown turns to fluo red !

The only way I found to fix it is to repaint the wrong colors in the skin with some colors ok for the graphic card.

Lolo


Attached Files SM79 wrong colors.jpgSM79 good colors.jpg
Last edited by Lolo Kramp; 01/16/21 05:19 PM.

JG51_W1
#4552615 - 01/17/21 02:00 PM Re: Win10 and FPS? [Re: Knegel]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
cass Offline
Junior Member
cass  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
Thanks LK, i will have a look at the tutorials for skinning. It was only the p40 , there were also some hurricanes on the mission and the skins were fine.

#4552722 - 01/18/21 06:57 PM Re: Win10 and FPS? [Re: cass]  
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,605
Knegel Offline
Hotshot
Knegel  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,605
Originally Posted by cass
This is not really framerate related but it is Win10 issue....

So i decided to try and get EAW running on my laptop with win10. I have installed UAW 1.6 to an old HD that I connect via a USB / HD connector. It works well for carrying my games around without taking up space on my desktop or laptop systems.

Anyway.

I have it up and running. Main screens are flawless, love that. I ran it in D3D first and had issues with black squares on the gun sight and black background to sprites so I used Nglide and switched to glide. Only to have this happen

[Linked Image] https://SimHQ.com/forum/tmp/28607.jpg


Additionally I get a missing file error "msflxgd.ocx" when trying to run dsp2020multiplayer.exe in the UAW directory.

any ideas? I may bring a joystick with me on my next work rotation so i can do some flying if i can get this working on my laptop.

Thanks

Dan



Hi,

the "msflxgd.ocx" file is one of the needed Runtimefiles, i think in Mr.Jellys D/L list you will find a "MedPackage", this will install the runtimefiles to your PC.
btw. look to your private messages!


If you think `thats close enough´, go closer, until the plane fill up the windscreen, then a short burst is enough!
#4552899 - 01/20/21 03:14 PM Re: Win10 and FPS? [Re: Knegel]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
cass Offline
Junior Member
cass  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
Perfect thanks Knegel!

i knew i read something on this error before but couldnt find it in the search. Couple of posts down on the download thread. Use the "Mission editor runtimes" download.

thanks for the PM i replied to it last week I think. Maybe i replied to the thread?

Dan

Last edited by cass; 01/20/21 03:20 PM.

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Where are you from? test
by NoFlyBoy. 02/28/21 03:51 AM
British Army cooks 1960
by PanzerMeyer. 02/28/21 12:47 AM
Join me my brothers and sisters.
by NoFlyBoy. 02/26/21 02:34 PM
The Battle of Verdun Lego style
by PanzerMeyer. 02/25/21 07:53 PM
Dinossaurs tv show behind the scenes
by Blade_RJ. 02/25/21 07:13 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0