Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 8 of 12 1 2 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
#4534048 - 08/18/20 10:40 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,335
shan2 Offline
Veteran
shan2  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,335
Maryland, USA
Have you guys seen black walls under bridges? Every bridge I see has a black wall underneath it.


You're only young once, but you can be immature forever.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4534066 - 08/19/20 07:54 AM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 434
cv Offline
Member
cv  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 434
Sydney, Australia
Gday all. Does the release version have the Sydney Harbour Bridge ?

#4534067 - 08/19/20 08:05 AM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: shan2]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,727
HeinKill Offline
Senior Member
HeinKill  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,727
Cloud based
Originally Posted by shan2
Have you guys seen black walls under bridges? Every bridge I see has a black wall underneath it.


Read a review which said there are a lot of 'visual artefacts' with landscape features (buildings, rivers, bridges) that have not been hand modelled but rather just taken from Bing. IE rivers that start or end nowhere, cars driving above roads, window textures on buildings not lining up... didn't stop the reviewer from giving it 10/10.


[Linked Image]
#4534068 - 08/19/20 08:08 AM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,876
FlyingToaster Online content
Member
FlyingToaster  Online Content
Member

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,876
Scotland
There are a lot of visual artefacts in some areas - black bridges, or bridges being a 2D texture that follows the riverbed. Still, it is a wonderful game, flying Cessnas feels real, and it is gorgeous. Multiplayer is a bit of a weird system, but seems to work well. I did a sightseeing tour with a couple of friends, we each flew around where we grew up and pointed out landmarks.

#4534070 - 08/19/20 09:52 AM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,335
shan2 Offline
Veteran
shan2  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,335
Maryland, USA
Thanks. I just wanted to make sure it wasn't my PC.
Last night, I pulled off a water landing in the Reflecting Pool in front of the Lincoln Memorial. This sim is a hoot! smile


You're only young once, but you can be immature forever.
#4534096 - 08/19/20 03:05 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 7,578
Allen Offline
Hotshot
Allen  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 7,578
Ohio USA
Steam Version: Got it basic-installed (92GB) -- required one restart then went straight through. Does not recognize my favorite stick (VKBG). My basic/cheap Thrustmaster recognized but elevator control needs major calibration -- giving a serious control problem. Must sort out controls before serious flight -- flying on "medium reality" for now. Actually surprised the VKBG is not recognized -- virtually every stick sold should have been "programmed in", I think.

I did fly around my "neighborhood" for a few minutes. I live 2 miles from the center of a major airport -- fortunately not on any flight paths -- rarely hear aircraft noise. Too many trees around the airport that are too thick to see through on the ground -- not realistic. From overhead my house and good size lot are covered by trees -- not realistic. The large bridge next to the airport across a major riverbed is literally broken -- someone must have crashed into it (kidding) smile

Maybe my first mod will be to rebuild my airport and the street I live on -- after I get my favorite controller working which might take just as long (kidding about the controller -- I hope) smile


RX5700XT 50th Anniversary - 3 monitors = 23P (1080p) + 43"L (2160p) + 23P (1080p), AMD Ryzen 7 5800X, 32GB RAM@3.2GHz, Gigabyte X570 AORUS Pro WIFI MB, (2x M.2 SSD on MB + 2xSSD + 5x HD) = 26TB storage, Rosewill 1050W PSU, Rosewill Thor V2 Case, ASUS AC86U router, VKB Gladiator WW2 Stick, Pedals, Ripjaws KM780 RGB KB, AORUS Thunder M7 Mouse, W10 Pro
#4534097 - 08/19/20 03:18 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,321
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,321
UK
I have to be honest,I was both impressed and unimpressed with the graphics. I have to run on med details with full streaming. At height it all looks pretty good but if you start hedge-hopping you start to see the cracks. Maybe at higher detail levels there is an improvement. I did switch momentarily to 'high' settings but it was a stutter-fest.

I've yet to fly over a hand-crafted area so maybe that is better. I decided the first place I would fly to was my mum's house (hi mum!). I did it in the Cub so I was reduced to using the VFR map (I assume there is no other way in the Cub) and had to use a real world map to navigate to my city via the river and road network. I did find my mum's street but it was just generic scenery,very disappointing but I guess it was to be expected.

I'm not sure if I will extend my X-Box Game Pass past the month,I think I'll know if I want to buy it by then.

*edit* Anyone know how to show frame rate? (non-Steam version) thanks.


Last edited by Chucky; 08/19/20 05:50 PM.

“You know I don’t like having to use the sit-down gun, but we’ve got no time for mucking about.” - Colonel Chestbridge
#4534116 - 08/19/20 07:03 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7,634
Trooper117 Offline
Hotshot
Trooper117  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7,634
UK
I just use Fraps to check framerate... it's free and easy to use!

#4534146 - 08/19/20 08:42 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,321
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,321
UK
Thanks Trooper,that did the trick.

I think I need a new video card frown

Actually the game pretty much has my CPU sat at 90-100% and the same for the GPU. Father Christmas better have a fully loaded sack this year!

Last edited by Chucky; 08/19/20 08:44 PM.

“You know I don’t like having to use the sit-down gun, but we’ve got no time for mucking about.” - Colonel Chestbridge
#4534148 - 08/19/20 09:06 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,907
kilosierra Offline
Member
kilosierra  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,907
The very north of Germany
Hi Chucky,

I can recommend MSi Afterburner for checkin what your system is doing. You can configure all kinds of parameters to be shown on the OSD.

Greets

Karsten


i7 6700k @ 4,5 GHz
GTX1070
Asus Z170 Pro Gamer
16 GB RAM
500 GB Crucial CT500MX200 SSD
Toshiba DT01ACA300 HDD
Samsung SyncMaster BX2450 LED
W10 64
#4534189 - 08/20/20 04:05 AM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 13,081
bisher Offline
I'll be your Huckleberry
bisher  Offline
I'll be your Huckleberry
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 13,081
Manitoba, Canada
Originally Posted by Sokol1
Opera resume, the controls assignment in FS 2020 is like in any other flight game - select a command, press a joy button or keyboard key; and like any other flight game people will complain that "assign controls suck". biggrin


Still looking for that fly-by-view. Well that and external and cockpit view re: assigning controls

#4534219 - 08/20/20 02:19 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,727
HeinKill Offline
Senior Member
HeinKill  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,727
Cloud based
Wow, when I started downloading and joked I’d be airborne in 30 hours I didn’t really think it would thirty garndam hours! Am coming up on 27 now and am only at 75GB! Still a long way from takeoff!

I don’t have great broadband but it’s OK ... 20 Mb down, 10 up. So even at half rate should have been done overnight... But this download is chugging along at 2Mb average. I paused and did the tweak MS themselves recommended below but it is stable at 2Mb. Did other EU customers experience slow download or am I the lucky one?

From MSFS help site (if anyone can tell me what this does, and if I should later undo it, pls drop a line!)

If you are experiencing slow download speed when downloading Microsoft Flight Simulator, please do the following:

In the Windows search bar, type Command and look for ‘Command Prompt’
In the menu select “Run as administrator”
Enter: netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=normal
Press enter
Reboot your computer

PS bought on MS store, not Steam ...


[Linked Image]
#4534223 - 08/20/20 02:50 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7,634
Trooper117 Offline
Hotshot
Trooper117  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7,634
UK
Originally Posted by Chucky
Thanks Trooper,that did the trick.

I think I need a new video card frown

Actually the game pretty much has my CPU sat at 90-100% and the same for the GPU. Father Xmas better have a fully loaded sack this year!


Me too... I can see an RTX 2080 Super heading my way at some point!

#4534242 - 08/20/20 07:01 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 475
Roudou Offline
Member
Roudou  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 475
French countryside
Even with a RTX 2070 Super, My GPU is at 90% in Ultra in 1440p.

But after all, it is smooth.

#4534629 - 08/24/20 06:56 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 6,779
EAF331 MadDog Offline
XBL: LanceHawkins
EAF331 MadDog  Offline
XBL: LanceHawkins
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 6,779
Oslo, Norway

#4534851 - 08/26/20 11:39 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 2,017
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 2,017
Airborn


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor, Logitech G13 and G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4534855 - 08/27/20 12:15 AM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,305
Zamzow Offline
Member
Zamzow  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,305
I'm already impressed with the thing, but if it's open for mods, holy crap....

Bone stock it's already exceeding most of what FSX plus mods can do, the future is appetizing...

Some of you don't know why some of us love a civilian flight simulator - the simple answer is we just love airplanes....

#4534942 - 08/27/20 04:19 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Roudou]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,499
Pooch Offline
Hotshot
Pooch  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,499
Orlando, FL
"Some of you don't know why some of us love a civilian flight simulator ..."
There are, obviuosly, a lot of us who do. Only days into the release, Microsoft had 2.6 Billion dollars in sales.


"From our orbital vantage point, we observe an earth without borders, full of peace, beauty and magnificence, and we pray that humanity as a whole can imagine a borderless world as we see it, and strive to live as one in peace."
Astronaut William C. McCool RIP, January 29, 2003 - Space Shuttle Columbia

#4534951 - 08/27/20 04:43 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: Pooch]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,727
HeinKill Offline
Senior Member
HeinKill  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,727
Cloud based
Originally Posted by Pooch
"Some of you don't know why some of us love a civilian flight simulator ..."
There are, obviuosly, a lot of us who do. Only days into the release, Microsoft had 2.6 Billion dollars in sales.


Over the next three years yes, but their launch sales must still have been solid ... when I went online to my favorite PC kit store a week before the release, all their controller stocks were sold out. Coincidence?

Peripherals makers must also be enjoying bonanza sales!

I still haven't got airborne. It took me three days to download (don't believe the line 'if you interrupt your download it will resume where you left off...') and by then my gaming window had closed and it was work work work again. Hope to get into the cockpit this weekend!!

Last edited by HeinKill; 08/27/20 04:44 PM.

[Linked Image]
#4534983 - 08/27/20 07:59 PM Re: New Microsoft Flight Simulator announced ! [Re: HeinKill]  
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 6,779
EAF331 MadDog Offline
XBL: LanceHawkins
EAF331 MadDog  Offline
XBL: LanceHawkins
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 6,779
Oslo, Norway
Originally Posted by HeinKill

Over the next three years yes, but their launch sales must still have been solid ... when I went online to my favorite PC kit store a week before the release, all their controller stocks were sold out. Coincidence?

Peripherals makers must also be enjoying bonanza sales!

Same here, the biggest home electronic chain here was sold out on all joysticks.

Page 8 of 12 1 2 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Moderated by  RacerGT, Stormtrooper 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Mid-Air Collision in Denver, No Injuries
by Arthonon. 05/14/21 12:59 AM
Hey, Bitcoin, Elon doesn't like you.
by Mr_Blastman. 05/13/21 02:34 AM
I'll be damned !!
by NoFlyBoy. 05/11/21 07:13 PM
RM Jet Suit Boarding
by Red2112. 05/08/21 02:07 PM
Idiot for the day
by rwatson. 05/07/21 10:55 AM
The cost of Epic free games
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 08:28 PM
That mettalic smell you feel is actually yours !
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 05:15 PM
Shiny American Rocket, cheaper by the dozen
by Nixer. 05/06/21 12:48 AM
House of the Dragon
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 05:45 PM
Some funny Facebook observations
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 11:53 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0