Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4524239 - 06/07/20 02:38 PM Using WOTR assets  
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 66
Ekaton Offline
Junior Member
Ekaton  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 66
Serving in RNAS 5 seems a bit unrealistic without bombing German ships and ports. If I’m not mistaken, assets for these already exist in WOTR - perhaps they could be moved to WOFF and add some more realism to coastal operations?

#4524366 - 06/08/20 10:43 AM Re: Using WOTR assets [Re: Ekaton]  
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 703
Maeran Offline
Member
Maeran  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 703
UK
I was waiting to see if anyone who knows more in this would answer. In the meantime, it is certainly possible to bring shipping assets into WOFF. Both games are based on CFS3, which had shipping in it.

If my hazy memory is correct, earlier versions of WOFF (OFF phase 2 I think) still had ships in it. OBD removed them for some reason. If there was some issue that caused them to take the ships out then that might be resolved now, since there are ships in WOTR.

#4524369 - 06/08/20 10:48 AM Re: Using WOTR assets [Re: Maeran]  
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 66
Ekaton Offline
Junior Member
Ekaton  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 66
Originally Posted by Maeran
I was waiting to see if anyone who knows more in this would answer. In the meantime, it is certainly possible to bring shipping assets into WOFF. Both games are based on CFS3, which had shipping in it.

If my hazy memory is correct, earlier versions of WOFF (OFF phase 2 I think) still had ships in it. OBD removed them for some reason. If there was some issue that caused them to take the ships out then that might be resolved now, since there are ships in WOTR.


That was my thought process exactly, as both games have the same engine, assets should be more or less interchangeable.

It is possible that WOTR assets represent WWII-era ships, and as such are not accurate - if that’s the case, they shouldn’t be added to WOFF. If, however, they’re reasonably accurate, they would definitely be a welcome addition. Even without special missions added to them - I sometimes adjust recon missions to include long patrols just off the Belgian coast, imagining that my observer notes all the ships, their positions etc. No special missions needed smile

#4524396 - 06/08/20 12:45 PM Re: Using WOTR assets [Re: Ekaton]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 4,280
RAF_Louvert Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
Senior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 4,280
L'Etoile du Nord
.

Ekaton, the "ships" folder is already in WOFF so for now it would simply require special missions to be built that would make use of them and allow you to spot them and/or bomb them. I am hopeful we may see them added into a future WOFF update as I too would love to have the added immersion factor during those coastal patrols and North Sea Zep and Gotha intercept flights.

Cheers!

Lou

.


[Linked Image]

Three RFC Brass Hats were strolling down a street in London. Two walked into a bar, the third one ducked.
_________________________________________________________________________

Former Cold War Warrior, USAF Security Service 1974-1978, E-4, Morse Systems Intercept, England, Europe, and points above.
"pippy-pahpah-pippy pah-pip-pah"


Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Top 10 greatest film performances
by PanzerMeyer. 10/29/20 05:14 PM
Happy birthday to the Marine Corps
by No105_Archie. 10/29/20 12:26 PM
Taking camouflage a bit too far,
by Blade_RJ. 10/28/20 09:20 PM
Funny film bloopers that are easy to miss
by PanzerMeyer. 10/28/20 05:42 PM
Unidentified orbiting? objects
by jroc. 10/28/20 03:50 PM
China is copying airliners too.
by NoFlyBoy. 10/27/20 07:18 PM
Account Deletion
by SamMetcalfe. 10/26/20 12:34 PM
Dr. J. Michael Lane was 84
by Rick_Rawlings. 10/25/20 02:08 AM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0