Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#4523798 - 06/04/20 05:44 PM Let's Talk Hearts of Iron IV!  
JohnnyChemo Offline
JohnnyChemo  Offline

Buffalo, NY
So I decided I was finally going to learn how to play this game, and I've gotten started by watching through and playing along with a couple of video series.
The first one, "An Absolute Beginner Learns Hearts of Iron IV" is very recent - since the latest expansion "La Resistance."

The second series was a 7 part tutorial by Quill18. It's a bit dated but most of it still applies, as he takes a fairly broad approach to the game.

My approach to learning this was to play along with the tutorials. The Quill18 one was interesting enough that I decided to continue it after the tutorial ended, so I thought I'd do a little write up in the vein of DBond's EUIV write ups.

Although the tutorial starts off with Quill talking about how we are going to play as Germany, somehow he screws it up and winds up playing as the Soviet Union. In Hearts of Iron IV, Soviet Union plays YOU I guess.
Since I followed his lead for the most part, I will mention that Historical AI has been turned off. So some odd things have happened, like Communist France at war with Britain, etc. But I'm getting ahead of myself.

The beginning of the game is a time for prepping and planning. As the Soviet Union, I'm going to have manpower up the wazoo but my tech will be a little behind. I'll have decent aircraft but not much of a Navy, which is mainly due to access. My plan is to get my industry up and cranking out war material, train up divisions, and begin my quest for world domination.