Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
#4498530 - 11/27/19 10:08 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 635
wormfood Online content
Member
wormfood  Online Content
Member

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 635
Minnesota
The Starfarer has a terrible layout. That and the Retaliator are my least favorite ship interiors.

#4498574 - 11/28/19 04:38 AM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
Ive pretty much owned every ship and sold / traded them up. My favorite sofar is the valkyrie with a buggie. Its just so much fun to pop the rear door and jump the buggie out. Traded my starfarer in for a Hercules (not in game yet) Also sold a bunch of my ships and picked up a polaris. Think im pretty much set. Have quite a few of the end game crew sized ships and I can just play by myself building on the low level ships. Then I've got the multi crew ships if anyone wants to coop in my group.

But honestly it still feels like the game is a long way away from having fun and meaningful coop. Its a screenshot simulator right now. I hope that changes this year but we will see.

And if anyone is looking to buy in... just get the base package or try a few free flight weekends. DONT go down the rabbit hole in buying ships unless you jsut want to give them money to make the game and right now they dont need any more money to get it made. So just buy in enough to play or grab a sub 100 dollar LTI ship. If you cant find a LTI package because it is between sales then just post here and someone on this forum will have a buy back LTI package I can guarantee it. LTI isnt that hard to get (or expensive)

But also if you are going to do that... use someone from here as a referal. It give everyone some extra goodies so there is no point in not doing it! There is a whole thread listing referal codes! Dont care who you use just use one.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#4498580 - 11/28/19 08:57 AM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,285
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,285
UK
I'm embarrassed to say that I still don't understand the LTI.

When I bought my starter package it came with 3 months insurance. Was that from when I bought it?

If I lose my ship it costs nothing (unless I expedite it) so what gives?


'Behind every modern strong, empowered female character lies the corpse of the male character she mugged for the costume'.
#4498586 - 11/28/19 10:12 AM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Airborn
The Insurance thing is still not implemented yet Chucky, but once it is, it´s basically that, an insurance on your ship. Once the timer ticks then you will need to upgrade (buy) more insurance (once insurance is due) if you want to get your ship back intact (does not include none stock Items).

If you buy during this Expo, you get a exclusive 10 year Insurance on the ship purchased. Not sure if it´s only on starter packs or any ship. There are "some" exclusive ships sold during the Expo with LTI too.

Not sure if you could "melt" your actual ship, then buy it again to gain that 10 year Insurance. If so, that would be a good move.

If all others fail...

Good legit shop for LTI´s or whatever:

Star Hanger Shop

Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor, Logitech G13 and G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4498631 - 11/28/19 05:41 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
I really shouldn't buy from a gray market store. If you really need a LTI starter pack or ship there are lots of people in this community who you know are trustworthy who can sell you something for cost (a lot of times cheaper than what is for sale at the website since buyback prices are locked in to what you melted it for, you can a lot of times buy back for cheap.)

3 month insurance is pretty jank though. But it's a starter package so not much you can do there.

They have an interesting deal going on right now where you can upgrade a ship to 10 year insurance for free as long as its a really expensive ship (lol) the cheapest one that qualifies is the cutlass (100 bucks)

https://robertsspaceindustries.com/comm-link/transmission/17366-Best-In-Show-IAE-Information

But like Red2112 was saying. They also are selling packages with 10 year insurance this anniversary sale. And some "warbond" ccus which will upgrade any ship to apply them to into 10 year insurance.

The whole store is overly complicated IMO but if anyone needs someone to explain it let me know.

Im on that SimHQ discord in my signature pretty much 24/7 if anyone wants to talk.

Last edited by Master; 11/28/19 05:46 PM.

And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#4498634 - 11/28/19 06:02 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Airborn
It´s not that gray Master but one can choose obiously if they don´t want to buy from them...

Star Hanger customer protection

It´s a known site by CGI. I bought my Arrow with LTI there with no issues, and upgraded officially to a Hawk yesterday and same, with no issues..

Red



Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor, Logitech G13 and G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4498635 - 11/28/19 06:03 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
They do have a LTI starter package going right now but it's WARBOND. Warbond means only new money so you cant melt your package and buy it you'd have to buy it with new cash which is stupid if you are just trying to upgrade your starter package insurance.

https://robertsspaceindustries.com/...Expedition-Starter-Pack-Warbond-IAE-2949

This one comes with sq42 and SC
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/...S-EXPEDITION-SQ42-COMBO-PACK-WB-IAE-2949

To give an overview of insurance though...

when the game leaves beta and enters full release (it is currently in alpha still) they will activate insurance. Your insurance timer will start THEN. Once it counts down and you lose the ship you will be give the option to buy the ship back like how elite does it. You can also buy in game insurance for the ship as well for in game money.

LTI is lifetime insurance. IAE insurance is 10 year insurance. Everything else will list it like 6 month - x year. This is ONLY hull insurance. So when you lose the ship you will only get back the base ship and factory components. You can also buy component insurance in game and get the ship replace as how you lost it. You can also buy cargo insurance to get the cargo replaced if you lose it. (you cant actually buy any insurance in game yet)

They also have a system on their store called cross chassis upgrade or CCU. For the most part you can upgrade any ship into a new ship. So if you have an aurora and you want to upgrade to a cutlass you would just go into the ship upgrade and pick your aurora and then pick the cutlass and buy an auror->cutlass CCU. The new ship retains the insurance of the previous ship.

This results in new concept ships (with LTI) being called LTI tokens. Since you can upgrade them to any available ship via the CCU. So if you wanted a LTI valkyrie you could buy a Pisces LTI ship for 40 dollars

https://robertsspaceindustries.com/pledge/ships/anvil-pisces/C8X-Pisces-Expedition

and then buy a pisces to valkyrie CCU and your new valkyrie would have LTI. (you can buy a valkyrie now but it comes with 10 year IAE insurance https://robertsspaceindustries.com/pledge/Standalone-Ships/Anvil-Valkyrie-IAE-2949 )

Then you have something NEW this sale. Warbond CCUs. Normally, like I said above, a ccu maintains the insurance of the base ship. But Warbond CCUs can only be bought with new money (normal ccus can be bought with credits) and they upgrade your ship insurance to whichever is better IAE or original LTI. So if you had a 6 month insurance aurora and you upgraded it to a polaris with a Warbond CCU then it would be a Polaris with IAE insurance.

Its all really #%&*$# overly complicated.

Last edited by Master; 11/28/19 06:15 PM.

And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#4498638 - 11/28/19 06:20 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,285
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,285
UK
My starter pack was AURORA MR STAR CITIZEN + SQUADRON 42 COMBO with 3 months Insurance. I upgraded to the Avenger Titan.

Master,you say I can upgrade my account to LTI for $100? I'm tempted but will it ultimately be worth it?

*edit* I see you added extra info Master,thanks.

Last edited by Chucky; 11/28/19 06:22 PM.

'Behind every modern strong, empowered female character lies the corpse of the male character she mugged for the costume'.
#4498640 - 11/28/19 06:36 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
You can for probably cheaper than 100. For instance if you bought that Pisces pack for 75 you would get a LTI pisces and you could then melt your current avenger titan pack and you'd be able to use that money to do anything you wanted down the road for upgrades.

Or if you really like the avenger titan I have a "$75.00 USD Advanced Hunter - LTI" in my buy back that comes with

Also Contains

Aeroview Hangar
Starting Money: 2,000 UEC
Lifetime Insurance
Digital Game Soundtrack
Digital Star Map
Digital Star Citizen Manual
Squadron 42 Digital Download
Star Citizen Digital Download

and again you could melt your current package and use the stuff to upgrade something or buy something else. They have cars and motorcycles for sale this week.

OR,

My cheapest buyback game package is

$45.00 USD Package - Next Generation Aurora - LTI
Also Contains

Self-Land Hangar
Starting Money: 1,000 UEC
Lifetime Insurance
Squadron 42 Digital Download
Star Citizen Digital Download
Digital Star Citizen Manual

Then you melt your current package and buy a Aurora LN -> Avenger Titan CCU for 15 dollars (in credit you got from melting). You then use the rest to do whatever. 45 bucks and you have a LTI copy of your exact package with some change to play around with.

There are lots of options. If you want to go that route let me know. Jump on discord and we can discuss all your options.



Last edited by Master; 11/28/19 06:38 PM.

And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#4498644 - 11/28/19 06:49 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Airborn
I think Chris Roberts used to sell insurance when he was young, or worked in a bank biggrin


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor, Logitech G13 and G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4498646 - 11/28/19 07:01 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Skoop Offline
Member
Skoop  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Ventura, CalifornIA
Thanks for the detailed explanation master, I was wondering how the insurance stuff worked my self.

#4501260 - 12/23/19 09:29 AM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,285
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,285
UK
Is this weird?

Yesterday I logged in to try out 3.8 (this was before the mini patch) and I had the choice to spawn at about 5 locations. Today I applied the mini patch and that option is now gone. I never played the game,just logged in.

I'm thinking it's because of the wipe,I just don't recall ever seeing it before.

Last edited by Chucky; 12/23/19 09:44 AM.

'Behind every modern strong, empowered female character lies the corpse of the male character she mugged for the costume'.
#4501270 - 12/23/19 12:41 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Airborn
Originally Posted by Chucky
Is this weird?

Yesterday I logged in to try out 3.8 (this was before the mini patch) and I had the choice to spawn at about 5 locations. Today I applied the mini patch and that option is now gone. I never played the game,just logged in.

I'm thinking it's because of the wipe,I just don't recall ever seeing it before.


It happen to me aswell...

After the updated, I had the choice to spawn in 4-5 (can´t remember) different spawn points. I spawnd in Levski and while walking inside, I fell through a floor (bug) and came out in the open air outside freefalling and died when I hit the floor. When I went to respawn the options to respawn elsewhere were gonne.


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor, Logitech G13 and G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4501310 - 12/23/19 04:37 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,213
Mr_Blastman Online content
Hotshot
Mr_Blastman  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,213
Atlanta, GA
From now on I think we get to pick our first spawn location, but only the first time.

#4501314 - 12/23/19 04:50 PM Re: So far... [Re: Mr_Blastman]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Airborn
Ok, that would make sense then as to what happend. Lucky I picked Levski as it´s close to MicroTech.

Game seems to run alot smoother, avatar is alot smoother in movement aswell. Less pop-ups in proximity in planets too.


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor, Logitech G13 and G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4501324 - 12/23/19 06:20 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
Yep, the first spawn after you make your character you get to pick where. Every other spawn is based on where and how you logged out.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#4522299 - 05/25/20 03:06 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,285
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,285
UK
Sometime ago I pointed out that I had a Freelancer appear in my fleet and I'm not sure how it got there. Someone said I must have rented it or tried it out on one of those free weekends or something. Anyway,it's still there and I enclose a screenshot. How do I tell if it's rented? My starting money is still at default. I'm not complaining of course,just curious.

*edit* Looks like it was given out for free because of a bug? Not sure if it's temporary or for ever.

Attached Files ScreenShot0002.jpg
Last edited by Chucky; 05/25/20 05:26 PM.

'Behind every modern strong, empowered female character lies the corpse of the male character she mugged for the costume'.
#4522355 - 05/25/20 09:05 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
Everyone gets an avenger for this free flight week. The freelancer is so everyone has access to a bed. If you get the infinite load screen the work around is to log into arena commander single player. lay in the bed and chose the logout menu on the bed and it should clear the infinite load screen for getting into the PU.

Im not sure when they plan to get rid of the freelancer but probably it's here until 3.10


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#4526200 - 06/18/20 06:21 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,975
Airborn
I give this a BIG welcome!

It´s about time they paid more attention to things that really matter in a space sim, like it´s flight model...





Red





Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor, Logitech G13 and G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4526207 - 06/18/20 07:12 PM Re: So far... [Re: Chucky]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,285
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,285
UK
I'm going to check those out,thanks Red.

I really wish they would fix their launcher issues. It's a toss up whether it's going to work or not. This has been an issue across multiple game versions and I've done everything to cure it including clean O/S install and game install and raising a support ticket.

Last edited by Chucky; 06/18/20 07:13 PM.

'Behind every modern strong, empowered female character lies the corpse of the male character she mugged for the costume'.
Page 5 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Life !!
by NoFlyBoy. 04/21/21 07:36 PM
A Perspective On Time Passing
by Arthonon. 04/21/21 04:06 AM
Never heard of these Viet Nam raids
by Nixer. 04/21/21 12:38 AM
How to send a fax
by Timothy. 04/20/21 10:52 PM
Ingenuity did its first flight
by kilosierra. 04/19/21 12:08 PM
Avenger Emergency landing
by KRT_Bong. 04/18/21 01:39 PM
Picard S2 preview is teeming with Easter Eggs
by NoFlyBoy. 04/18/21 02:01 AM
This is a great question! It's making me hungry.
by NoFlyBoy. 04/18/21 12:35 AM
NHL Playoffs are coming
by WangoTango. 04/17/21 07:49 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0