Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4507712 - 02/17/20 10:58 PM Well, I guess it was inevitable...  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
BuckeyeBob Online content
Member
BuckeyeBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
Ohio, USA
...but WOFF crashed on me last night and will not start anymore, so I am looking at a complete reinstall. While I'm at it, this would be a perfect time to (finally) upgrade from UE to PE, so I am wondering if anyone has any advice or recommendations on how to proceed, any potential pitfalls, items I may want to back up first, etc.

I've looked at or at least plan to look at the latest FAQ, and have both Jara's mission editor and Robert's back-up program that I will use to restore my previous settings, but is there anything else that I may have overlooked?

I'd like to get up and running again as soon as possible as I am again finally making progress on an update to my cloud mod. Thanks in advance!

#4507713 - 02/17/20 11:55 PM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Bob, you should be good to go. Out of curiosity, did you keep a backup of the UE install packages that OBD released.


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4507714 - 02/18/20 12:07 AM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
BuckeyeBob Online content
Member
BuckeyeBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
Ohio, USA
I'm not sure, Robert. I think so. Are you talking about the files in the main OBD Software directory? I haven't deleted or uninstalled anything, yet.

#4507732 - 02/18/20 02:01 AM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
No, I'm talking about the WOFF download installs and updates you get from the OBD site


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4507734 - 02/18/20 02:15 AM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
BuckeyeBob Online content
Member
BuckeyeBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
Ohio, USA
You mean the skin packs and additional music files? Those are on another drive, I believe.

#4507780 - 02/18/20 01:56 PM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Yes those and the original WOFF installation packages.


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4507795 - 02/18/20 04:30 PM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,711
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,711
Buckeye, Robert is referring to the setup files, those needed to actually install UE. If you are not sure see section 3 of the WOFF UE FAQ where they are described.

To install PE, you need to have installed UE, and of course it's best if you install over a "working" UE.

You could try installing PE over the UE, and I guess it could "fix" it, depending on the actual issue as many updated files are replaced.


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4507798 - 02/18/20 04:44 PM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Thanks Mark for jumping in and getting right to the issue.


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4507851 - 02/18/20 11:05 PM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
BuckeyeBob Online content
Member
BuckeyeBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
Ohio, USA
Thanks, Mark and Robert. I think I will start by reinstalling UE and then update to PE.

BTW, I think this is only the second time I have had to reinstall WOFF because of a crash since I first received a copy of WOFF phase two, which is pretty amazing, considering all of the extra bells and whistles that have been added since then. Cudos to OBD for creating such a stable product.

#4508080 - 02/21/20 05:17 PM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,711
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,711
OK, make a backup of any files you were working on Good luck, success for 77_Scout on a re-install so should be good for you too.
(oh and backup your controller/keys configuration WOFFKeys.xca file) using Robert's backup tool or manually

find it in C:\Users\<YOURLOGON>\AppData\Roaming\OBD_Games\OBDWW1 Over Flanders Fields




Last edited by Polovski; 02/21/20 05:19 PM.

Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4508098 - 02/21/20 11:01 PM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: Polovski]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
BuckeyeBob Online content
Member
BuckeyeBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
Ohio, USA
Thanks, Mark. Other than the usual stuff, I want to make sure I don't delete anything critical to my ongoing modding projects, particularly the cloud mod.

Speaking of, can you clue me in on any changes to the way weather is handled or displayed in PE? You can PM me if you wish. Or not, I understand if you don't wish to reveal any super secret, hush hush, propietary information. yep

#4508551 - 02/26/20 05:43 PM Re: Well, I guess this was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
BuckeyeBob Online content
Member
BuckeyeBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
Ohio, USA
Update: WOFF UE successfully installed, although for some reason, even though I used Robert's utility program, my keyboard settings were reset. I am also getting a weird graphics anomaly (no cockpit or aircraft textures) when using Robert's ui.xml file.

Will update to PE once I am satisfied that nothing else is amiss.

#4508582 - 02/26/20 10:30 PM Re: Well, I guess it was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Bob, I presume you mean "viewUI.xml" !
If so you can download my viewUI.xml file if you like. I think you might want to compare mine against the other one of mine you have. Maybe the one you have is out of date.
Just remember to remove the "bk" label on the file extension before using it.

click to download






Last edited by Robert_Wiggins; 02/26/20 10:31 PM.

(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4508628 - 02/27/20 12:26 PM Re: Well, I guess it was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,711
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,711
Sounds like a partial install or GPU/Driver issue.


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4508681 - 02/27/20 09:45 PM Re: Well, I guess it was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
BuckeyeBob Online content
Member
BuckeyeBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
Ohio, USA
Sorry, I meant Robert's custom d3d8.ini file seems to be causing the problem. It was working before I reinstalled WOFF, but now when I load it, I get the texture problem. Disabling it and everything seems to work as expected.

Note: I have not optimized my video settings since I reinstalled, so perhaps it has something to do with that.

Thanks to both of you for your help!

#4508694 - 02/27/20 11:18 PM Re: Well, I guess it was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
BuckeyeBob Online content
Member
BuckeyeBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
Ohio, USA
I believe I have identified and solved the problem.

The problem was not the d3d8.ini file. Instead, it was the d3d8.dll file. Robert's version of the .dll file was older than the WOFF version. Deleting the .dll file from Robert's mod fixed the problem.

BTW, Robert, I tried to download the most current version of your mod from Sandbagger's site and it said the file was unavailable.

#4508700 - 02/28/20 12:11 AM Re: Well, I guess it was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,249
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Hi Bob, glad you are up and running. I am not sure that the D3D8 was ever up on Sandbaggers site. I wonder if you can tell me why you originally downloaded it. There are a number of tailored features in my original. If time permits, I can revisit it and port over to the new version.

Best Regards


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4508720 - 02/28/20 02:06 AM Re: Well, I guess it was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
BuckeyeBob Online content
Member
BuckeyeBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 708
Ohio, USA
My memory is a little fuzzy now, but I am fairly certain I downloaded the following file from Sandbagger's website:

"WOFF UE V4_14 Custom d3d8 dll Settings Mod by Robert Wiggins"

Quoted from the Tools and Utilities page on Sandbagger's site:
"WOFF UE custom settings for the D3D8.DLL file
(Version 1.0)

Created by:
'Rob Wiggins (RJW)'

(Dated 18 March 2017)
(File Size 237 Kb)"

Judging by the date, I'm sure I was using an old version. The mod itself was composed of these three files:
d3d8.dll
d3d8.ini
d3d8BAK.ini

#4508822 - 02/28/20 08:27 PM Re: Well, I guess it was inevitable... [Re: BuckeyeBob]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,711
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,711
Yeah we cannot troubleshoot with mods, way too many variables. Always remove them all when troubleshooting

d3d8.dll and required settings has changed a few times over tim, and WOFF manager also has changes along the way to use those changes properly.


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Mount and Blade II Bannerlord
by Rick_Rawlings. 03/30/20 09:27 PM
11 th day on lockdown
by carrick58. 03/30/20 12:26 AM
Drug combo working. Covid. Dr Zelenko NYC hospital.
by TerribleTwo. 03/29/20 12:27 PM
HILARIOUS videos found on YouTube.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/28/20 09:59 PM
Stuka!
by RedToo. 03/28/20 04:56 PM
social distancing
by KraziKanuK. 03/27/20 07:30 PM
How to correctly wash your hands properly.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/25/20 12:58 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0