Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4505226 - 01/28/20 09:10 AM I found a controller issue (and how to fix)  
Joined: Jan 2020
Posts: 29
Evochron Offline
Junior Member
Evochron  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2020
Posts: 29
I am loving this and woff - I bought them both just recently - fantastic immersion!!!

Anyway in woff my thrustmaster warthog and vbksim rudder pedals were easy to assign.

But in wotr it would recognize my pedals as rxaxis and then I woul choose bind and save the profile and exit. Flying or coming back in to assign keys it would be gone.

I checked key files for both games and the only difference I could see was a space after the name of the rudder pedals in wotr.

I copied and pasted the rudder section from woff to wotr key files and now it all works.

Just in case the fix helps someone and reporting a bug.

#4505342 - 01/28/20 10:08 PM Re: I found a controller issue (and how to fix) [Re: Evochron]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,820
Polovski Online content
Polovski  Online Content

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,820
OK thanks Evochron- the naming used by manufacturers of controller is a bit of a pain - some have multiple seemingly random extra spaces in the hardware name, most we catch.


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4505379 - 01/29/20 09:44 AM Re: I found a controller issue (and how to fix) [Re: Evochron]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,820
Polovski Online content
Polovski  Online Content

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,820
BTW what is the problem name of the vbksim in WOTR controller setup?


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4505380 - 01/29/20 09:51 AM Re: I found a controller issue (and how to fix) [Re: Evochron]  
Joined: Jan 2020
Posts: 29
Evochron Offline
Junior Member
Evochron  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2020
Posts: 29
Here it is, thanks smile

This is it working:
<Device Type="VKBsim Black Box">

Not working:
<Device Type="VKBsim Black Box ">

#4505381 - 01/29/20 10:14 AM Re: I found a controller issue (and how to fix) [Re: Evochron]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,820
Polovski Online content
Polovski  Online Content

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,820
Have you updated WOTR btw, what version are you running please? Also what date stamp is on WOTRKeys.exe in Toolbox?
What time stamp on WOFFKeys.exe too please?

Thanks for the names, we have had a lot of trouble with VKB stuff, spaces galore in various places.. we'll have a look for a future patch maybe.

BTW something that occurred to us... one thing if you have used the WOTRKeys in an older WOTR version, then patched it, then run it again it will not "fix" old entries in the WOTRkeys.xca. You need to reset to default, save, then reconfigure fresh, save. That could be it.

Last edited by Polovski; 01/30/20 10:24 AM.

Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4505488 - 01/30/20 12:47 AM Re: I found a controller issue (and how to fix) [Re: Evochron]  
Joined: Jan 2020
Posts: 29
Evochron Offline
Junior Member
Evochron  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2020
Posts: 29
I am at work so cannot answer fully now but I bought WOFF UE a few weeks ago and ran the patch at that time.

1 week ago I bought WOTR and I believe I ran the patch to put in the spitfire at the same install.

I used the default key setup for both and then in the sim made changes using the UI.

However this did not work (as above) so I then pasted the fix in manually - AFTER that.

edit - sorry for changes now understood what you wrote smile

Last edited by Evochron; 01/30/20 12:55 AM.
#4505513 - 01/30/20 10:28 AM Re: I found a controller issue (and how to fix) [Re: Evochron]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,820
Polovski Online content
Polovski  Online Content

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,820
OK thanks, if you can check on those items please when you are home - it would help if check you have the latest WOTR installed, then backup the WOTRkeys.xca file then do the reset as detailed above, just to see if it works correctly. You can put your working .xca back in manually afterwards.
The file is in C:\Users\<YOURLOGON>\AppData\Roaming\OBD_Games\OBDWW2 Wings Over The Reich
Thanks

Last edited by Polovski; 01/30/20 10:28 AM.

Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Landing in the middle of the bushes
by Blade_RJ. 07/12/20 02:05 PM
Spitfire: The People's Plane (BBC podcast)
by Patrocles. 07/11/20 09:26 PM
Crimson Skies PC multiplayer online
by CrimsonBoofee5. 07/10/20 06:26 PM
Need help ID two Alien invasion features.
by NoFlyBoy. 07/09/20 10:48 AM
Lunatic Fringe
by KRT_Bong. 07/09/20 02:19 AM
Charlie Daniels was 83
by F4UDash4. 07/06/20 08:09 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0