Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
#4504451 - 01/21/20 05:35 PM Anyone still driving a manual transmission car  
oldgrognard Online content
Administrator
oldgrognard  Online Content
Administrator
Lifer

USA
I was talking with some younger people and found almost none are driving a manual and more than half never have.

I am still driving a manual; sort of.

Good people sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.

Someday your life will flash in front of your eyes. Make sure it is worth watching.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4504455 - 01/21/20 05:48 PM Re: Anyone still driving a manual transmission car [Re: oldgrognard]  
PanzerMeyer Offline
Pro-Consul of Florida
PanzerMeyer  Offline
Pro-Consul of Florida
King Crimson - SimHQ's Top Poster

Miami, FL USA
I never learned. When I took driver's ed class in high school all of the cars were automatics and then I didn't even own a car until after I graduated from college.

To be perfectly honest, it's a waste to have a manual transmission car in the stop and go traffic congestion of Miami. The thought of constantly upshifting and downshifting is not my idea of fun.

“Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster. And if you gaze long enough into an abyss, the abyss will gaze back into you.”
#4504459 - 01/21/20 05:56 PM Re: Anyone still driving a manual transmission car [Re: oldgrognard]  
Arthonon Online content
Veteran
Arthonon  Online Content
Veteran

California
I drove manuals up until June of 2018, when I bought my latest Mustang with a 10-speed auto. I got the auto because it had better performance, and Ford made some changes to the manual that reduced performance. I sometimes miss the connection of shifting, but am trying to use the manual shift option in the auto more, which I find does provide similar control to having a manual, but it still doesn't use the third pedal, etc.

Ken Cartwright