Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4500806 - 12/18/19 02:00 PM Dummy antennas? Purpose?  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
TheCabal Offline
Junior Member
TheCabal  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
EU
Hello folks,

my brain-input got out of control recently and I think that's why I failed to grasp what the dummy antennas on the SA-2's are for. Any hints what to do with them?

Greetings,
Cabal


Streaming and conserving old simulators as well as other military pc titles on known plattforms. Please visit, follow and enjoy!

http://www.twitch.tv/tertius_oculus
http://www.twitter.com/tertius_oculus
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtoN73hHYN0oTlqknOwxIUw
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4500811 - 12/18/19 02:34 PM Re: Dummy antennas? Purpose? [Re: TheCabal]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,813
piston79 Offline
Member
piston79  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,813
Originally Posted by TheCabal
Hello folks,

my brain-input got out of control recently and I think that's why I failed to grasp what the dummy antennas on the SA-2's are for. Any hints what to do with them?

Greetings,
Cabal



As it took time for the ancient electronics to react, and because sometimes it is important to follow strict emission control, the fastest way is just to transfer the high power from transmitter to the dummy load.... This is what I know....

#4501409 - 12/24/19 02:52 PM Re: Dummy antennas? Purpose? [Re: piston79]  
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 614
Alien_MasterMynd Offline
Member
Alien_MasterMynd  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 614
Czech Republic
Originally Posted by piston79
Originally Posted by TheCabal
Hello folks,

my brain-input got out of control recently and I think that's why I failed to grasp what the dummy antennas on the SA-2's are for. Any hints what to do with them?

Greetings,
Cabal



As it took time for the ancient electronics to react, and because sometimes it is important to follow strict emission control, the fastest way is just to transfer the high power from transmitter to the dummy load.... This is what I know....

Yes, exactly, you cannot simply switch off high voltage or heating for the vacuum tubes (especially with powerful ones as in transmitters). And they need time to heat up again, so it is the fastest and easiest solution to route the RF energy to a non-radiating load (dummy antennas).
With newer systems (Vega for example) it is possible to switch off high voltage for power tubes, but not so for the older systems.


Moderated by  Cat, Hpasp, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Just a little feel good flying thing
by Nixer. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Now, This is Cool (Even if it WAS a Dog)
by vonBaur. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
HITMAN 2, et al
by DBond. 02/17/20 01:52 PM
I didn't know this. Women Top Guns.
by NoFlyBoy. 02/17/20 03:46 AM
Betelgeuse
by Red2112. 02/16/20 11:35 PM
Heck just a good jam
by rwatson. 02/16/20 01:57 PM
EPIC Games = epic PITA
by Dunolde. 02/15/20 09:05 PM
WWII Nose Art
by F4UDash4. 02/15/20 01:25 AM
weird ads i only see at Simhq
by Ajay. 02/15/20 12:53 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0