Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4500458 - 12/16/19 12:26 AM Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd.  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
https://youtu.be/OngP6uEfQoE?t=209

Because it streams in all planets and etc... You need an ssd to get even remotely playable performance.

#4500561 - 12/16/19 06:42 PM Re: Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd. [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mr_Blastman Offline
Hotshot
Mr_Blastman  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,483
Atlanta, GA
Even with my SSD, I get sizeable pauses sometimes - ten to twenty seconds long on Area 18. My theory is that this is due to my swap file being on my platter drive and only having 16 gigs of RAM.

I was running the game on a platter drive for a few months before buying a cheap SSD and they aren't kidding about the load times.

#4500563 - 12/16/19 06:51 PM Re: Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd. [Re: Master]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,087
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,087
UK
When I was running 8GB and a platter drive it was unplayable.

Now on 16GB and an SSD I just get the the odd stutter.


EV's are the Devils matchbox.
#4500564 - 12/16/19 06:53 PM Re: Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd. [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mr_Blastman Offline
Hotshot
Mr_Blastman  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,483
Atlanta, GA
Is your operating system on your SSD, too, Chucky?

#4500567 - 12/16/19 07:14 PM Re: Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd. [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 3,692
RedOneAlpha Offline
Senior Member
RedOneAlpha  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 3,692
LEGE
It does depend on the game itself too. Trainz 2019 takes it´s time to load some routes on my PC, but not so anymore with SC since I got a SSD. It has to do with good, or bad programing in a way. If the house is a mess, it´s takes more time to find anything.


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, Sapphire Pulse AMD RX 6700 12GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB, 447GB SSD´s, Samsung G6 32" , Logitech G13, G502, Warthog HOTAS, CH Pedals, Simagic Alpha Mini, and Formula Extreme FX, DC Simracing DC1 pedals, GT Omega ART cockpit, TrackIR 5.0.
AUDIO: Aiyima A07 Max, Topping E50 and L50 stack, Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20 , and Shennheiser HD 560s. DAP: Hiby R3, Hiby Seeds, and iBasso IT01, Sharp MD-MT 80H Minidisc.
#4500573 - 12/16/19 07:42 PM Re: Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd. [Re: Mr_Blastman]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,087
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,087
UK
Originally Posted by Mr_Blastman
Is your operating system on your SSD, too, Chucky?



My O/S is on a m.2 nvme SSD.

I have a separate SSD for games that need it,the rest go on a platter drive.


EV's are the Devils matchbox.
#4500577 - 12/16/19 08:09 PM Re: Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd. [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mr_Blastman Offline
Hotshot
Mr_Blastman  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,483
Atlanta, GA
I'll try moving my swap file to my SSD then and see if that helps.

#4500693 - 12/17/19 04:31 PM Re: Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd. [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mr_Blastman Offline
Hotshot
Mr_Blastman  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,483
Atlanta, GA
I moved my swap file to my SSD and... performance at Area 18t increased immensely. Who would have thought?

#4500711 - 12/17/19 05:41 PM Re: Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd. [Re: Master]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,087
Chucky Offline
Veteran
Chucky  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,087
UK
I can't imagine not having an SSD today to be honest. Prices are now reasonable.


EV's are the Devils matchbox.
#4500758 - 12/17/19 11:46 PM Re: Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd. [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 3,692
RedOneAlpha Offline
Senior Member
RedOneAlpha  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 3,692
LEGE
I agree, some are even cheaper, or same as mechanical ones. Life span might not be as long though...


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, Sapphire Pulse AMD RX 6700 12GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB, 447GB SSD´s, Samsung G6 32" , Logitech G13, G502, Warthog HOTAS, CH Pedals, Simagic Alpha Mini, and Formula Extreme FX, DC Simracing DC1 pedals, GT Omega ART cockpit, TrackIR 5.0.
AUDIO: Aiyima A07 Max, Topping E50 and L50 stack, Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20 , and Shennheiser HD 560s. DAP: Hiby R3, Hiby Seeds, and iBasso IT01, Sharp MD-MT 80H Minidisc.
#4500768 - 12/18/19 01:58 AM Re: Public service reminder: starcitizen needs an ssd. [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Unless you are doing something crazy an SSD should outlive a normal HDD. The current ones are just better in every way... well... maybe not as good at long term power off storage but then again HDDs had issues with that too. For that you need magnetic tape drives.


Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
HMS Northumberland
by RedOneAlpha. 02/26/24 09:01 AM
Eagle Cams
by NoFlyBoy. 02/25/24 07:20 PM
For us old farts
by oldgrognard. 02/25/24 02:03 PM
Forty Four Years Ago....
by F4UDash4. 02/23/24 02:40 AM
Live Moon Landing: NOW
by F4UDash4. 02/22/24 10:46 PM
Excalibur
by PanzerMeyer. 02/22/24 07:29 PM
SimHQ Formula 1 Fantasy League
by DBond. 02/21/24 05:48 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0