Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4498918 - 12/02/19 01:50 AM Climbout  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,693
vonBaur Offline
Member
vonBaur  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,693
Not sure if it's been addressed before but why must all climbouts be done over a spot a few kilometers from base? And why always to several thousand meters, even when the target is a balloon?

I can kind of see climbing if you're attacking a ground target that's significantly behind enemy lines. But balloons are low and always close to the front. A low altitude (just out of range of rifle fire) approach is much more sensible as it allows for less exposure and reduces the chances of not being seen by any covering aircraft circling high above the target. It also makes it easier to spot the balloon without aids.

As to the first part, climbing while enroute to your patrol area (assuming it's far enough away) makes much more sense, both from pilot fatigue and fuel usage standpoints. And for intercept missions it's critical. To be told "There are enemy aircraft inbound at X. Get up there and intercept them." and then spend 25 minutes or more climbing to altitude followed by another 25 minutes to X pretty much guarantees they'll be gone by the time you get there.

When I'm flight leader I always circle low and near the airfield until the flight is formed up and then head out, climbing as I go. And if we're attacking a balloon I'll rarely climb higher than 1,000 meters.


SALUTE TO ALL!
#4498919 - 12/02/19 02:20 AM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 944
77_Scout Online content
Member
77_Scout  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 944
Vancouver Island, Canada
I have been getting back into WOTR since the last big upgrade and really like how in WOTR we take off and head straight out on the mission. It skips a pretty long boring part of the mission.

I'd be fine with a lessened height of climbout in WOFF, leaving a good chunk of the climb for the portion of the mission where we head towards the target. If a climbout is historically accurate for WW1 then it should be in there, but maybe it could be dialed back?

#4498936 - 12/02/19 06:48 AM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,786
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,786
Czech Rep.
Sorry, I do not want to be boring or iritating and repeat myself, but have you tried Mission Editor? You can customize any waypoint in your campaign mission - altitude, coordinates, speed, type, etc., there. Mission Editor - tool created by WOFF enthusiast to WOFF enthusiasts wink .

#4498937 - 12/02/19 08:08 AM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 859
Creaghorn Offline
Member
Creaghorn  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 859
N�rnberg Frankonia
As soon as your flight goes into this circling press ctrl+W, then your flight will fly straight to the next waypoint, climbing as they go.

Cheers

#4498944 - 12/02/19 09:46 AM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,660
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,660
I believe flights would usually gain altitude before crossing the lines. Low and you are a sitting duck for both MG and aircraft.
Balloons are worth climbing for, as you can dive on which helps you avoid the above dangers more. But as Craighorn says simply press next waypoint (actually Shift+W) to skip to the next waypoint (once the flight is formed up) and off you go no climbing first.


Last edited by Polovski; 12/02/19 11:04 AM.

Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4498946 - 12/02/19 10:13 AM Re: Climbout [Re: Creaghorn]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,786
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,786
Czech Rep.
Originally Posted by Creaghorn
As soon as your flight goes into this circling press ctrl+W, then your flight will fly straight to the next waypoint, climbing as they go.

Cheers


Not sure, but do not you have to be a flight leader?

#4498948 - 12/02/19 10:43 AM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7,128
Trooper117 Online smile
Hotshot
Trooper117  Online Smile
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7,128
UK
You don't have to be flight leader to get your flight to go to next waypoint

#4498949 - 12/02/19 11:05 AM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,660
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,660
Shift + W is next waypoint, and as Trooper says no need to be leader for that one.

You could always use Air Start too.

Covered in FAQ sections 45 and 41


Last edited by Polovski; 12/02/19 11:18 AM.

Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4498971 - 12/02/19 02:03 PM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 859
Creaghorn Offline
Member
Creaghorn  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 859
N�rnberg Frankonia
Shift+W of course :-).

If I'm in a squadron rather close to the frontlines, I usually let them circle up first. If far away, then I skip it via Shift+W.
On airfield attacks mostly I circle up as well because if skipping, A Flight usually continue their circling, and so both flights get seperated too much.

#4498990 - 12/02/19 03:55 PM Re: Climbout [Re: Polovski]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,693
vonBaur Offline
Member
vonBaur  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,693
Originally Posted by Polovski
I believe flights would usually gain altitude before crossing the lines. Low and you are a sitting duck for both MG and aircraft.
Balloons are worth climbing for, as you can dive on which helps you avoid the above dangers more. But as Craighorn says simply press next waypoint (actually Shift+W) to skip to the next waypoint (once the flight is formed up) and off you go no climbing first.

I get reaching altitude before reaching the lines, but as I said when it's a twenty to thirty minute flight to the lines it seems silly to me to spend another twenty to thirty climbing before you even start heading for them. Even if standard procedure was to do so I'm guessing that at least some pilots on each side would have come to the same conclusion, making the Shift+W solution not nonhistoric, imo. Thanx for the info Creaghorn and Pol.


SALUTE TO ALL!
#4499036 - 12/02/19 09:14 PM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,660
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,660
It's not daft though as some aircraft would take more than 30 minutes to reach max altitude, also you could possibly meet enemies on your side of the lines high up - even German bombers came over high. Yes sometimes you could climb some of that on the way etc - but we have to set missions up to cope with most craft types and climb rates etc. I guess you could get all the climb rates and adjust mission climb outs based on those for each type etc, a job for a modder maybe. So many things, so little time.


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4499039 - 12/02/19 09:48 PM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,384
carrick58 Offline
Hotshot
carrick58  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,384
I agree, Most of the written accounts refer to gaining Height before crossing the lines. Even then ( as pointed out ) the Huns ( because of better machines } were above and out numbered them picking where and when to fight. as the saying goes " Beware of the Hun in the Sun " A good Oral reference is the Interview by C.A. Lewis on U Tube about his Air Patrols in a SE 5A. Link is below.


https://youtu.be/9QSaDmuVKLs

#4499040 - 12/02/19 10:00 PM Re: Climbout [Re: Polovski]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,693
vonBaur Offline
Member
vonBaur  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,693
Originally Posted by Polovski
So many things, so little time.

I can't argue that point. And that's kind of why I posted. I can imagine that setting individual procedures for each aircraft type and each mission would be exTREMEly time-consuming. And for the number of people who would notice the difference I can see where the time would be better spent elsewhere. Especially when SHIFT+W provides the player the opportunity to merge the climbout with flying to your patrol area, if you so desire. In one iteration of the sim (a looong time ago) it wasn't possible to advance waypoints unless you were the flight leader. I didn't know that had changed.

And it works perfectly, by the way. I had an intercept mission at about 20 miles this afternoon that I wasn't leading. So after taking off and forming up I hit SHIFT+W twice (the first time we were just heading to an intermediate dogleg point). We started heading directly to our patrol area and by the time we got to the lines we were at 9,000 feet (flying a Pup...obviously the timing would have to be adjusted if you're flying a DH2 or Halberstadt, etc.). And after only about ten minutes we encountered a flight of Albatros DIII's already heading home. If we had done a traditional climbout we probably would have missed them completely.

Thanx again.


SALUTE TO ALL!
#4499149 - 12/04/19 04:17 AM Re: Climbout [Re: Creaghorn]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 944
77_Scout Online content
Member
77_Scout  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 944
Vancouver Island, Canada
Originally Posted by Creaghorn
As soon as your flight goes into this circling press ctrl+W, then your flight will fly straight to the next waypoint, climbing as they go.

Cheers


I use this trick a lot ... the disadvantage is that you leave A-Flight behind, as they stick to the full-climbout.

#4499165 - 12/04/19 12:15 PM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,583
Fullofit Online content
Senior Member
Fullofit  Online Content
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,583
Ajax, ON
That’s why the Mission Editor is such a great tool. You can adjust the height of the rally point, eliminate the extra waypoint of the dogleg, and adjust the height of the return waypoint because they don’t have to climb back up to 3000 m just to land. Then click the checkbox to copy the same flightpath to A flight so that they follow. You get it all there, just the way you like it.


"Take the cylinder out of my kidneys,
The connecting rod out of my brain, my brain,
From out of my arse take the camshaft,
And assemble the engine again."
#4499247 - 12/05/19 02:16 PM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,183
Wodin Offline
Member
Wodin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,183
Liverpool
Really? Ive always found balloon and ground attack the flight stays alot lower than recon patrol etc. Infact Ive been abit confused why at times offensive patrols may only be at around 5000ft, more so if doing air start.

Last edited by Wodin; 12/05/19 02:17 PM.
#4499254 - 12/05/19 03:35 PM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,693
vonBaur Offline
Member
vonBaur  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,693
Might be your airstart, Wodin. My typical balloon attack mission (that I didn't lead) would consist of climbing to a reasonably normal altitude (8,000-12,000 feet), staying at that altitude until the last waypoint prior to the attack, and then descending to the attack altitude. Depending on the distance from that waypoint to the balloon that descent could take 20 miles or 2 miles. I could be wrong, but I seem to recall one or two that started their descent immediately after reaching maximum altitude.


SALUTE TO ALL!
#4499264 - 12/05/19 04:58 PM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 729
Stache Offline
Member
Stache  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 729
Michigan, USA
Possible it is related to the year?
Early in the war planes stay lower?
Recently flying in late 1917 with Camel and yes, I have seen ground attacks going up to 10K feet or more and flying a very long round about flight path to get to a target just across the lines, 20 miles as the crow flies.
I understand the reasons why this was could be historically correct.
I normally just let the flight get up to 5K and then skip waypoints.

I am fine with the way this is currently implemented.


Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. A. Einstein

(System Specs:)

I7-6700k OC 4.4GHZ, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz; Gigabyte Gaming 7 MB, G1 OC'ed GTX980ti; Three-Acer XB271HU WQHD Gsync 144Mhz; Samsung 950-512GB NVMe SSD; WD 2TB-7200rpm; Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Nepton 240M cooler, V1000 PS; Windows 10 PRO; VKB GunfighterPro Stick; Thrustmaster TPR Pedals; Saitek Throttle; Dual TM MFD panels; TrackIR 5
#4499348 - 12/06/19 04:58 PM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 71
Becker01 Offline
Junior Member
Becker01  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 71
Yes, I agree @Stache. The later the higher.
So we can see the the historical nearness of WOFF (compliment OBD-Team!).
And because of that I'm a little bit confused about some things I did read in this thread: I have WOFF because of the historical relevance of the sim. And so I switched the settings in workshop at "historical". But what's the use of it, if I change the campaign-missions with the editor than, because I don't like the flightline?
To high > lower
flight Duration too Long > Shorter
more action please today > no problem, I fly deeper in enemy's land.
etc.
Than -slowly but surely- I do it more and more, get used to it more and more. And one day I have left the historical base and only "Play" WOFF like X-BOX-Gaming in my opinion.
I hope the development of of WOFF doesn't go this way.

#4499461 - 12/07/19 08:40 PM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,660
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,660
We don't have any plans to change things. There are options in the workshop for players to tailor things somewhat to limit the height of flights too (in the more settings page) if you prefer lower missions and so on.


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4502846 - 01/06/20 02:48 PM Re: Climbout [Re: vonBaur]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 391
Sailor_Steve Offline
Member
Sailor_Steve  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 391
Salt Lake City, Utah, U.S. of ...
I use the Mission Editor before the start of each mission. The main change I make is to the climbout. I still let them circle while climbing to operation altitude, but I change it so the circling is done over my own field, rather than several kilometres away. Also if I'm stationed on the coast I change both outbound and inbound waypoints so we stay over land as much as possible.


Some people are born stupid. I've had to work hard my whole life to get this way. I'm proud of the job I've done
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
HITMAN 2, et al
by DBond. 02/17/20 01:52 PM
I didn't know this. Women Top Guns.
by NoFlyBoy. 02/17/20 03:46 AM
Betelgeuse
by Red2112. 02/16/20 11:35 PM
Heck just a good jam
by rwatson. 02/16/20 01:57 PM
EPIC Games = epic PITA
by Dunolde. 02/15/20 09:05 PM
WWII Nose Art
by F4UDash4. 02/15/20 01:25 AM
weird ads i only see at Simhq
by Ajay. 02/15/20 12:53 AM
Wernher von Braun - 1955 Disney educational film
by PanzerMeyer. 02/14/20 11:34 AM
This commercial cracked me up!
by Force10. 02/13/20 08:03 PM
What's your rarest Steam achievement?
by DBond. 02/13/20 04:09 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0