Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4217863 - 01/16/16 08:38 PM Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
arquillos Offline
Junior Member
arquillos  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 4


16th January 2016 - The latest update for Battle Of Britain II has been released

Download link: A2A Server

Happy flying!

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4217888 - 01/16/16 09:57 PM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,727
HeinKill Offline
Senior Member
HeinKill  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,727
Cloud based
Big congrats!


[Linked Image]
#4221518 - 01/25/16 10:46 PM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Skoop Offline
Member
Skoop  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Ventura, CalifornIA
I have a windows7 machine so I may actually be able to fire this up. Does it support high resolution ? I have a 2560 x 1440 28" monitor, can I run it at that res or will there be black bars on each side ? I don't mind running it at 1960x1200 or 1960x1080 as long as it fills the screen of my monitor and there are no black bars on each side. I bet 1440p or 1660p would really spruce this up with the rendering in high pixels if it could support it.

Seriously, this sim is so good, I would pay for a direct x10 or 11 version. Rather than reinvent the wheel, why not modernize BOBII with directx 10/ 11 and x64. I wonder if it could be done ?

#4221626 - 01/26/16 07:02 AM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
PV1 Offline
sometime mudslinger
PV1  Offline
sometime mudslinger
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
Ladner, Wet Coast, Canada
There is a bdg.txt parameter called
"ALLOW_ULTRA_HIGH_FOVS"; set to ON for multimonitor
sorts of resolution numbers, should work OK.

We would love to upgrade the graphics, along with
all the other things, but we (bdg volunteers) don't
currently have the skills. It is always possible
someone may walk in the metaphorical door and offer
to do it.

Someday, A2A will probably bring out another sim of a
similar nature. They own the code, and have a long term
interest in such things, but have limited resources, as
well. A sim is not a huge money maker, so you can't
fund it the way you can a mass market game, and at the
same time it is quite a complex project. Even altering
the structure of the BoB code to do things like add new
planes, or transplant the scenario to another theatre
have proven too great a project for the size and experience
of A2A in the past, but they are gaining in both areas,
so it remains a potential for the future.

#4222442 - 01/28/16 08:07 AM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 432
Cougar_DK Offline
Member
Cougar_DK  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 432
Denmark, Farum
Great news!

I just installed but the game exits with a "Battle Of Britain English text has stopped working" error everything I click "Instant Action" or "Campaign" and select an airforce.

My pc is running windows 10 so I could be out of luck frown

Anyone running it on windows 10?

#4222464 - 01/28/16 11:11 AM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
PV1 Offline
sometime mudslinger
PV1  Offline
sometime mudslinger
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
Ladner, Wet Coast, Canada
As the 2.13 Install Readme says:

It has been reported that it works OK with Win10. Investigation of Win10
is ongoing, please check the forum, both General and Tech Supt, for the latest.

The Forum referred to is here:

http://www.a2asimulations.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=48817

(There is a little info here, down the page a bit, not much

http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/4079389/Windows_10#Post4079389 )

And the v2.13 Release Notes go into more detail:

Windows 10. Several people have reported some success running BoBII with Win10.
According to reports they have best results by doing these things:
 Run program in compatibility mode for Windows 7, as an administrator.
(Native Windows 10 mode may work?)
 In game videos will cause crashes, so turn them OFF.
 Use a font size of 96 pixels per inch.
 Some graphics settings in Options may have to be set lower than Maximum.
GroundObject Density no higher than High?

Currently, the major snag is that alt-x ing out of 3D
yields a crash, typically with a ntdll.dll module
VerSetConditionMask error, so something in Win10's handling,
I suspect the VerSet might be to do with Windows Version.
I believe this may make Campaign use impossible. We may
be able to solve it.

Anyway, it is certainly possible to run one mission of any
kind in 3D, with Win10, using the right settings. You can
turn the videos off in the GUI, best to exit the program
after making settings, as they only get written at exit,
before going into 3D, as they won't get written upon a crash.









#4222565 - 01/28/16 03:49 PM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 432
Cougar_DK Offline
Member
Cougar_DK  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 432
Denmark, Farum
Thanks PV1, disabling the movies by changing SKIP_VIDEOS=OFF to SKIP_VIDEOS=ON did the trick!!!

And it seems that I can alt-x after entering 3D in the Instant Action part of the sim. Will test it out in the Campaign also.

#4222571 - 01/28/16 04:03 PM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 432
Cougar_DK Offline
Member
Cougar_DK  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 432
Denmark, Farum
I had one crash with alt x when my planes was crashed before leaving 3d. Not problems leaving the 3d in the campaign as it seems.

#4222844 - 01/29/16 08:35 AM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
PV1 Offline
sometime mudslinger
PV1  Offline
sometime mudslinger
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
Ladner, Wet Coast, Canada
Reports seem to indicate it is intermittent, some
think it is to do with how long you've been in the 3D,
others suggest it relates to how many ground objects
are visible at the moment of exit - more failures
over cities and airfields and such.

#4223575 - 01/31/16 05:02 AM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
PV1 Offline
sometime mudslinger
PV1  Offline
sometime mudslinger
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
Ladner, Wet Coast, Canada
I put in a request a while back to have this thread swapped
out with the 2.12 one as a sticky, but nothing has happened yet;
it's been several months since Racer has made a post, and we
don't have a local resident moderator here anymore, so I guess
we just have to wait. Meanwhile, I can bump...


#4229652 - 02/16/16 07:12 AM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
PV1 Offline
sometime mudslinger
PV1  Offline
sometime mudslinger
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
Ladner, Wet Coast, Canada
Bumping this while i wait for it to get stickied...

#4235082 - 02/29/16 11:24 PM About that Englist txt error [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 93
Walt Watson Offline
Junior Member
Walt Watson  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 93

I have two machines that I run on the same monitor. One Windows 10 and the other Windows 7. Windows 10 seems to default to a different DPI than Windows 7. Actually I can't make the Windows 10 machine Icons the same size as Windows 7. They are smaller in Windows 7 and I have Windows 10 set to the smallest it will go. So I guess the Windows 10 operating system is not compatible with BOB2 v2.13 since I can't get rid of the intermittent English.txt error. I do not get this error on my Windows 7 machine.

- Walt Watson

#4281698 - 07/25/16 07:19 AM Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
PV1 Offline
sometime mudslinger
PV1  Offline
sometime mudslinger
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
Ladner, Wet Coast, Canada
Apparently no one is listening to PM requests to get the
stickies updated, so to keep this thread, and notice of
the current patch level, in view, it will require periodic
bumping, as now.


#4281748 - 07/25/16 12:16 PM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,827
McGonigle Offline
Emeritus Motorius
McGonigle  Offline
Emeritus Motorius
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,827
Copenhagen, Denmark
I returned my magic wand years ago so sadly I can't be of much help there.


Jens C. Lindblad


Sent from my Desktop
#4282028 - 07/26/16 09:54 AM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
PV1 Offline
sometime mudslinger
PV1  Offline
sometime mudslinger
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,010
Ladner, Wet Coast, Canada
Yeah, I had thought of you first, back last year,
only to find you no longer had the magic red lettering.

#4482338 - 07/11/19 01:24 AM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: arquillos]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 404
Agathosdaimon Offline
Member
Agathosdaimon  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 404
Melbourne, Australia
i have just installed the 2.13 patch but game crashes when it goes to fly the mission- also unless i set the game with compatibility setting of windowsxp then the game will crash when i go to select a mission - and there is no visible texto nt he screen - there is mention of font needing to be changed but i dont know how one does this, it would be great if someone might be able to help me on this if possible?

i have windows 10 16gb ram 2gb nvidia 860m, i7 - so i dont expect my system to be inedaquate except for teh "windows 10" part. this is quite a spot of bother as i was hoping to trying BOB2 as everyone raves about how good it is and all the good community work on it , i hope i can get it to work


- so far my efforts to get some old Battle britain themed games working is not doing so well - BOB1 is a no, BOB2 might be a no, and EAW i screwed up the UAW160 install, - will try that again later

fortunately i have Their Finest Hour working well in dosbox and will got Reach for the Skies going in to dosbox too which shouldnt be a problem i expect

#4487256 - 08/23/19 07:32 PM Re: Battle of Britain II - Wings of Victory v2.13 update released [Re: Agathosdaimon]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,071
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,071
Belfast, NI
I have BoB2 2.13 working in Windows 10, except that I get a CTD when quitting a mission, and in a campaign mission, sometimes earlier. This significantly inhibits playing campaigns (except from the map alone) but not the many single missions, each of which is playable from the standpoint of any pilot in any flyable aircraft in any squadron flying in the mission, on either side, or as a gunner any German bomber.

I can't recall what I did to get it working, but it was basic stuff like setting use desktop resolution to OFF, then manually setting both 2d and 3d resolution manually to the desktop resolution (ignoring that one of them displayed an exclamation mark). Not sure if I used XP SP3 or Win 7 compatibility or not (now using Win 7 dual boot instead of 10) but may have also turned off the fancy stuff in the Compatibility tab like disabling visual themes and disabling desktop composition, also NOT installing in the Program Files (x86) folder.

BoB1 can look well with some of Boreas's new mods but if you have BoB2 working, there's no reason at all to bother, apart from nostalgia or curiousity,

EDIT - I think it was the settings described by Buzz3 in post #4 in this thread, that got BoB2 working for me in Win 10 (apart from the aforementioned CTDs): https://steamcommunity.com/app/63950/discussions/0/1471968797464997938/

...namely:

Bob.exe customisation:
1. Run as Administrator
2. Win XP SP3 compatibility mode
(Instant Action menus and videos wouldn't run under Win 7 compatibility mode for me.)
(Alt-X doesn't crash for me under WinXPSP3 mode. It does crash for me under Win7 mode.)
3. Disable display scaling on high DPI settings (Disabling this eliminated many CTDs for me.)

In-game customisation:
4. Use Desktop Resolution: Off
5. 3D Resolution: set to normal desktop resolution (in my case, !1920x1080x32@60!)***
6. Campaign Resolution: set to normal desktop resolution (in my case, 1920x1080x32@60) *** If 3D Res & Campaign Res differ from each other, I get a CTD when running Instant Action.
7. Lower all graphics to low or medium (Alt-X will then work)
8. Anistropic set to 2x

...EXCEPT I have all the graphics settings (7) set to the max, apart from particle density which is Medium.

Last edited by 33lima; 08/23/19 08:31 PM.

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Hey, Bitcoin, Elon doesn't like you.
by Mr_Blastman. 05/13/21 02:34 AM
I'll be damned !!
by NoFlyBoy. 05/11/21 07:13 PM
RM Jet Suit Boarding
by Red2112. 05/08/21 02:07 PM
Idiot for the day
by rwatson. 05/07/21 10:55 AM
The cost of Epic free games
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 08:28 PM
That mettalic smell you feel is actually yours !
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 05:15 PM
Shiny American Rocket, cheaper by the dozen
by Nixer. 05/06/21 12:48 AM
House of the Dragon
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 05:45 PM
Some funny Facebook observations
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 11:53 AM
Chinese Rocket
by carrick58. 05/05/21 12:26 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0