Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 6 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
#4482745 - 07/14/19 03:07 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Round two didn't work either. I guess it will have to wait until tomorrow before I try round three.

#4482803 - 07/14/19 06:32 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Messyhead, I have a question... Which way is the quad facing for the engine gauges eeo? If it's backwards (facing away from the pilot) that might be why it always renders black.

#4482806 - 07/14/19 06:56 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
BANITA Online content
Member
BANITA  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
messy
for a try you can copy this mfd paste, turn it over and leave both in another place .if it is, it should work. also remember about 100% brightness

Last edited by BANITA; 07/14/19 06:57 PM.
#4482811 - 07/14/19 08:14 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Tried a few other things, like rotating the HAVOC_TRQ_GAUGE object in the cockpit, which worked after I added it to the SUB-OBJECT listing. I know I've got the correct object.

Until we can get the object to render in the cockpit with a texture, there just isn't anything I can do to get it to work.
All I can think of is delete the current Object, then copy a working Object with a texture (please bigger than two dots) to it's location, name it HAVOC_TRQ_GAUGE and we can try it again.

#4482817 - 07/14/19 08:46 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
BANITA Online content
Member
BANITA  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
thealx wrote once that only this cockpit does not meet any modern standards.
it has bugged not working lighting, the textures are darkened in different parts(this is my experience).and you need all the surroundings copy everything from ka52.I do not know what that mean , and I suspect that's what it's about.
that it is still this bugged old cockpit, not modern with proper lighting as in all others.probably that's why it does not work.
maybe try do this in another cockpit? ka50 for example.
and if it works, it will simply remove the old ka50 cockpit and paste the new (old) mi28.

Last edited by BANITA; 07/14/19 09:34 PM.
#4482852 - 07/15/19 02:38 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Banita, What does 100% brightness mean? It looks like I'm going to have to learn some Lightwave in order to fix this.

#4482857 - 07/15/19 04:23 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
messyhead Online smile
messyhead  Online Smile

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
Originally Posted by BANITA
messy
for a try you can copy this mfd paste, turn it over and leave both in another place .if it is, it should work. also remember about 100% brightness


I don't think 100% brightness makes a difference. Other models have MFDs, and the surface they use isn't set to 100% brightness.

Originally Posted by BANITA
thealx wrote once that only this cockpit does not meet any modern standards.
it has bugged not working lighting, the textures are darkened in different parts(this is my experience).and you need all the surroundings copy everything from ka52.I do not know what that mean , and I suspect that's what it's about.
that it is still this bugged old cockpit, not modern with proper lighting as in all others.probably that's why it does not work.
maybe try do this in another cockpit? ka50 for example.
and if it works, it will simply remove the old ka50 cockpit and paste the new (old) mi28.


The cockpit already has one MFD for the TV screen, so I copied how that worked. I don't think it matters that it's an old cockpit.


I'll spend some time on it again, and see if I can get a surface to render. I seem to remember trying this anyway, and without having the code in place, the surface showed as a texture. It was only once the code was there, that it showed up as black.

#4482858 - 07/15/19 04:24 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
messyhead Online smile
messyhead  Online Smile

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
Also, I seem to remember having the same issue in my Blackhawk cockpit when I tried to add a new MFD

#4482860 - 07/15/19 05:48 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
messyhead Online smile
messyhead  Online Smile

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
Ok, so it seems the luminosity of the surface needs to be set to 100%. I did this, and now the surface shows as textured and not black.

In the textname.h class, it lists all of the textures in the game. In ha_mfd.c it shows there that the texture to be used for the CRT is called TEXTURE_INDEX_HVCKPT_DISPLAY_CRT. I tried changing the texture to TEXTURE_INDEX_HAVOC_TRQ_GAUGE, the texture file is called HAVOC_TRQ_GAUGE.bmp. But when I try to go into the cockpit in the game, it just crashes out to desktop. My idea was to try and get the main CRT to display on this other texture.

Attached Files IMAGE013.jpg
#4482861 - 07/15/19 05:51 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
messyhead Online smile
messyhead  Online Smile

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
Here's the updated files with the luminosity at 100%

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1I_vThSVjLyuaqQwbtE5XPsJdOFzpD_eO

#4482863 - 07/15/19 06:31 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
BANITA Online content
Member
BANITA  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
"Banita, What does 100% brightness mean"
If you not set surface mfd luminosity to 100% picture on mfd is very dark,like old lltv in ka50.
maybe it does not work on all monitors, but on those that have been modified by thealx works.and this is the old advice from thealx

Are you sure you use bmp texture for mfd,not tga?

Last edited by BANITA; 07/15/19 06:43 AM.
#4482864 - 07/15/19 07:16 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
messyhead Online smile
messyhead  Online Smile

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
Originally Posted by BANITA
"Banita, What does 100% brightness mean"
If you not set surface mfd luminosity to 100% picture on mfd is very dark,like old lltv in ka50.
maybe it does not work on all monitors, but on those that have been modified by thealx works.and this is the old advice from thealx

Are you sure you use bmp texture for mfd,not tga?


I don't think it matters

#4482865 - 07/15/19 08:25 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
BANITA Online content
Member
BANITA  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
and I'm 100% sure. once again you undermine my opinion, so goodbye, good luck guys.

#4482866 - 07/15/19 08:28 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
messyhead Online smile
messyhead  Online Smile

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
Originally Posted by BANITA
and I'm 100% sure. once again you undermine my opinion, so goodbye, good luck guys.


Seriously? There's no need for your reaction.

There's such a mix of TGA and BMP files in the textures, I didn't think it was important which file type was used. If it needs to be a TGA, then I'll convert it and try again.

#4482867 - 07/15/19 09:04 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
messyhead Online smile
messyhead  Online Smile

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
Originally Posted by messyhead
Originally Posted by BANITA
"Banita, What does 100% brightness mean"
If you not set surface mfd luminosity to 100% picture on mfd is very dark,like old lltv in ka50.
maybe it does not work on all monitors, but on those that have been modified by thealx works.and this is the old advice from thealx

Are you sure you use bmp texture for mfd,not tga?


I don't think it matters


Just to clarify why I said this. When I look in the code, it only refers to the texture name to be used, and nothing to do with the file type. So I couldn't see anything saying it has to be a tga file.

#4482868 - 07/15/19 10:22 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
BANITA Online content
Member
BANITA  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
Export new cockpit file,put tga instead bmp to mfd texture,and run game. Will be not working mfd. Dont know why ,im normal user,not programmer but work only with bmp. I say this many times. Maybe Javelin waste one week work,because you dont think. It is for real? Come on.... frown

#4482880 - 07/15/19 12:06 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Hi guys, Thumbs up on the luminosity! And it probably does matter for an MFD since you are trying to write to the texture, not just display it. BMP format is simple, TGA is not. I'm not sure what the code does with a texture once it's loaded, but it's easy to test so I'll check it just to be sure. I did try both TGA and BMP before just in case it mattered, but since the texture wan't displaying I didn't see a difference, just a black square.
And i figured out how to size, rotate and move an Object in the code so getting the rectangle in exactly the right spot in Lightwave doesn't matter.

#4482896 - 07/15/19 03:09 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
messyhead Online smile
messyhead  Online Smile

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
I checked the MFD textures in my Blackhawk, and they actually use the Comanche textures as it was copied from that cockpit. The texture name is COMANCHE_MFDx.tga, where x is a number depending on which MFD it's used on. So I think the Comanche also uses tga files. The texture itself is actually 1x1 pixel dark grey square when you open it in photoshop, and it's then just tiled across the surface.

@Banita, do the BMP textures need to be used in the older style cockpits for them to work?

I also checked the extracted textures from the textures in the game, and they're all TGA files. I'm not sure if the converter did that though.

It's pretty confusing now, which textures work and which don't.

Last edited by messyhead; 07/15/19 03:11 PM.
#4482897 - 07/15/19 03:20 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
messyhead Online smile
messyhead  Online Smile

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,412
Originally Posted by messyhead
Originally Posted by BANITA
"Banita, What does 100% brightness mean"
If you not set surface mfd luminosity to 100% picture on mfd is very dark,like old lltv in ka50.
maybe it does not work on all monitors, but on those that have been modified by thealx works.and this is the old advice from thealx

Are you sure you use bmp texture for mfd,not tga?


I don't think it matters



I just read this again. My comment about it not mattering, was to do with the MFD texture file. Not the luminosity. I already 2 posts before that changing the luminosity worked.

#4482898 - 07/15/19 03:36 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
BANITA Online content
Member
BANITA  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 570
Game converter extract tga,i know this. But in my cockpits tga not work. I use always from 2013 128x128 white bmp texture for all mfds and this always work.i think all new and modified old mfd must be 100% luminosity . And surface for mfd also white.

Last edited by BANITA; 07/15/19 03:56 PM.
Page 6 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Moderated by  messyhead, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
The Mandalorian
by Chaz. 08/24/19 04:36 AM
Speaking of flat earthers
by Ajay. 08/23/19 12:55 AM
63...63...63...63
by 462cid. 08/22/19 10:16 PM
Say WHAT?!?!?
by vonBaur. 08/22/19 09:53 PM
disturbing image for Flat Earthers
by Tom_Weiss. 08/22/19 11:47 AM
Lost my best friend
by NH2112. 08/22/19 03:25 AM
Ramree Island WW2
by oldgrognard. 08/22/19 02:24 AM
Pilot films being in the water after crash
by oldgrognard. 08/21/19 09:48 PM
Request for help!
by Fracture. 08/21/19 07:36 PM
Bye bye iTunes
by Red2112. 08/21/19 06:33 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0