Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#4481502 - 07/05/19 06:18 AM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 591
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 591
Check other folders,probably you have copy in another place in eech\. Dont do backup graphic files in game folder!. Is always cause mess and problems.

#4481512 - 07/05/19 10:38 AM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 60
PatrykW Offline
Junior Member
PatrykW  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 60
Gillingham
Javelin - thanks for confirming this. When I was redoing the HD textures for AH cockpit it was the most annoying thing - did everything yet at some point the cockpit was still showing the old textures and not the HD ones. I nearly punched the screen lol biggrin

#4481722 - 07/06/19 08:04 AM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
Do we know how much of the cockpit improvements made it into 1.16?

http://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3961554/cockpits-improvement-program#Post3961554

#4481724 - 07/06/19 08:34 AM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 591
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 591
Nothing frown apache avionics is most complete, mi24 is complete in 50%. Will be great finish apache,new symbology Pnvs,new terrain folowing radar symbolgy 2x bigger mfd resolution new flir symbology wacky

#4481725 - 07/06/19 08:44 AM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 751
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 751
Bavaria, near Munich
Just seen yesterday while testing, that there is no more WUT-file loaded in the new "cohokum_test12.exe"?

I don't know if this was also the case in the original 1.16 Fix1 version, cause I mainly used the 1.15.4 back those days.

Last edited by Viper1970; 07/06/19 08:45 AM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4481734 - 07/06/19 10:05 AM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 60
PatrykW Offline
Junior Member
PatrykW  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 60
Gillingham
Now, big question for you guys - all these improvements will have some impact on the performance. How smooth things will work? Don't get me wrong, these improvements are bloody brilliant but I have noticed that certain things can kill the FPS (or maybe my PC is just a pile of sh£$% biggrin ).

In the past I have noticed that if I have the hi res map on one MFD there is a noticeable performance drop. Smoke can do the same to my FPS. I guessing all this is related to the original code that was not really optimised for modern machines.

#4481738 - 07/06/19 10:42 AM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 751
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 751
Bavaria, near Munich
Maybe this has also to do with Win 10. Don't know what version of windows you use, I still use the good old Win 7 64. No problems even with my old low spec laptop. Ok, I only did a bit of keyboard-test-flying, no missions or something else.

I avoid Win 10 like plague, although I'm already having Win 10 licenses. But sadly it will not be possible to stay with Win 7 in future with new machines.

No more drivers and even the install is a pain on modern PC's. I had to use an old PS2 keyboard and mouse to setup the system of my girlfriends son (very similar to the systems I still bought).

There is no native support of USB 3.0 in Win 7 and you need this to get your USB-keyboard and mouse running during the setup. On the other hand there is still a support for the old PS/2 confused , but here you need an y-adapter to get both running, mouse and keyboard. And of course you have to own a old PS/2-mouse/keyboard.


Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4481748 - 07/06/19 11:14 AM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
I just ran both cohokum_test12 and 13 and GWUT 1160 shows up in the upper right corner of the screen. I didn't change anything.

Yes, DirectX 9 is very processor oriented, GPU's hadn't taken over the graphics yet back then.

#4481749 - 07/06/19 11:24 AM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 751
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 751
Bavaria, near Munich
Hmm, must be a problem with my installation. Doesn't really matter I only noticed it yesterday.

I thought that this could have to do something with all the new changes, but if it's running for other guys, there is something wrong with my own install. biggrin


Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4481750 - 07/06/19 11:33 AM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 591
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 591
We taking about fps. Is possible check.why in apache cockpit in cpg i have 10 fps less than in pilot seat? Im 100% sure this,checked many times. Maybe is some bug? Or this is normal?

#4481781 - 07/06/19 03:22 PM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 554
AndyB Offline
Member
AndyB  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 554
Ayrshire, Scotland
Hi Guys,

Very glad to see work being done on the sim again. Thought it was dead for a while there.

I have a request please.

When you are in working on the code, could you look and see, if there any way to include a few exports from the game ?

Specifically I'd like the flare and chaff count exported and, if possible, the "Up Front Display" message exported. I think there was some work done on this a while ago. Even if it was exporting a code for each message. i.e 1=engine on fire, 2=oil pressure low etc

I could pick the codes up in SIOC and re-create the full message to send to the simpit UFD.

Cheers,

Andy


Andy's simpit: http://www.simpit.me.uk
#4481788 - 07/06/19 04:14 PM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 751
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 751
Bavaria, near Munich
Hi Andy,

nice to see you here again!

You are using SIOC for your homepit eek . I had also looked at SIOC as a solution for some things in my homepit, but I quickly resigned with it. It was to complex for my knowledge biggrin

I'm still searching for a solution to get the different simulations I would like to run, working.

I think Javelin is the right guy to ask about exports. He had also made some new other exports for EECH. It would be real nice to have some more exports to have an option to interface them with homecockpit. Don't know if it is possible, but Javelin had made a lot of cool things the last months thumbsup

Last edited by Viper1970; 07/06/19 04:21 PM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4481805 - 07/06/19 06:49 PM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Hi AndyB, I've looked through a bit of the code, it's exported via the commserver app which hasn't been touched in a while. I got it to compile after fixing a few errors. It's a lot more complicated than you'd expect. If I can get the new values inserted into the shared memory data structures, I have no idea how to test it. All I can do is hand it off to you and you'll have to test it and tell me what went wrong. C++ is not my native language, it always takes me a while to figure out what the other guy did.

Last edited by Javelin; 07/06/19 06:49 PM.
#4481903 - 07/07/19 02:41 PM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 554
AndyB Offline
Member
AndyB  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 554
Ayrshire, Scotland
Hi Guys,

Any help would be appreciated. I understand how difficult it is to pick up on someone else's code. I believe it was either Firebird or Thealx that wrote the original commserver app.

If I knew the address range in memory that the shared memory area was located, I could use a memory editor to view it and see if it was right. Like you, C++ is not my language. Did some Pascal, Machine Code, Basic, HTML, ASP, the usual stuff.

Cheers,

Andy


Andy's simpit: http://www.simpit.me.uk
#4481950 - 07/07/19 09:54 PM Re: New release - what add ?discussion [Re: BANITA]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
OK AndyB, there is a new thread on the Commserver just for you. I think I have it exporting data, but you will have to test it and tell me.

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  messyhead, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
IJN Kaga found.
by NH2112. 10/19/19 10:32 PM
Grouch (Joker Parady)
by Arthonon. 10/19/19 02:19 PM
Nike vs B-17
by KraziKanuK. 10/18/19 08:30 PM
Grouch
by Chaz. 10/18/19 01:49 PM
How to pi$$ off Londoners...
by Chucky. 10/17/19 12:16 PM
Video game map size comparison
by DM. 10/17/19 09:45 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0