Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#4481482 - 07/05/19 12:32 AM Re: MFD Export Upgrades [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
OK, I've got another upgrade for you guys. I went in and fixed the TV views, LLLTV and DTV, so they are now truly low light cameras. They work well even at midnight. The following shots were taken at Dusk. I also increased the contrast on the FLIR camera views, you can now see some background behind the hot foreground items. If you guys think this is too much, let me know and I can turn the contrast down some. Thinking about it, I think I will tone it down a bit, it's too good at night when you should be switching to FLIR. I'll tone it down a bit tomorrow.

You can download the upgrade at the front of this thread as usual, it's cohokum_test13.exe now.

First, an LLLTV and DTV shot at Dusk.
[Linked Image]

And a shot of aircraft on the runway in the improved-contrast FLIR camera view.
[Linked Image]

Last edited by Javelin; 07/05/19 12:42 AM.
#4481588 - 07/05/19 05:25 PM Re: MFD Export Upgrades [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Hey Banita, there is a quirk in EECH relating to the LLLTV camera external monitors (and probably the DTV's also). The scene rendering turns off the main terrain lighting when the MFD's are not in view in the main window. Lower your cockpit view down until the MFD monitors are at least halfway into view on the screen with the LLLTV on and it should render the terrain textures clearly. It's an on/off switch, you'll see it immediately when it goes on or off on your second monitor. I've tried to find it, but it could be just about anywhere in the rendering code. I haven't been able to find the switch to disable it.

You will also notice the LLLTV camera has a light-adjust built into it, it increases the contrast automatically from dark to bright over about 2 or 3 seconds after you select LLLTV. Once it's on all the way, move your view up and down to bring the MFD's in and out of the view and you'll see the switch snap the texture lighting on and off in the external MFD.

I'll look for the switch more, but it doesn't look like I will be able to find it. It's too hidden in the code.

If you don't have external MFD's in a cockpit, this quirk won't affect you.

Last edited by Javelin; 07/05/19 05:50 PM.
#4481613 - 07/05/19 06:22 PM Re: MFD Export Upgrades [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
I tested it out on six different helicopters and it affected all of them.
I also figured out a way to see the bug without an external monitor. It is evident on the Comanche MFD when you have widescreen mode selected "\".

The bug might also be the spotlight direction vector tilting up and down with the cockpit viewpoint. I just tried to redirect it, but it didn't work. I think I'll go work on something else.

Last edited by Javelin; 07/05/19 06:34 PM.
#4481707 - 07/06/19 03:03 AM Re: MFD Export Upgrades [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Yes, but I don't have any claim on the rendering routines, I just made them work externally. I've noticed some goofy stuff too, now that I can see the MFD up close. It happens on objects that are partly outside the clipping boundaries of the viewport. Maybe I'll look at it if I can't think of a more important task to work on.

#4482078 - 07/09/19 02:34 AM Re: MFD Export Upgrades [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Well, I didn't changed anything in the rendering, just the light levels. The picture was just too dark to see anything before. I might also add, all of the MFD's are only 256 x 256 pixel textures so there isn't much detail there in the first place. No anti-aliasing either, so edges get the jaggies. It will take someone who knows DirectX 9 well to upgrade it. That's not me, I don't know anything about pixel shaders. But you can do it!

Last edited by Javelin; 07/13/19 03:05 PM.
#4482607 - 07/13/19 12:26 AM Re: MFD Export Upgrades [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 266
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Hi Guys, I added labels to list what all of the Icons do on the Icons I made for my MFD's. Here it is.

[Linked Image]

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  messyhead, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
The Mandalorian
by Chaz. 08/24/19 04:36 AM
Speaking of flat earthers
by Ajay. 08/23/19 12:55 AM
63...63...63...63
by 462cid. 08/22/19 10:16 PM
Say WHAT?!?!?
by vonBaur. 08/22/19 09:53 PM
disturbing image for Flat Earthers
by Tom_Weiss. 08/22/19 11:47 AM
Lost my best friend
by NH2112. 08/22/19 03:25 AM
Ramree Island WW2
by oldgrognard. 08/22/19 02:24 AM
Pilot films being in the water after crash
by oldgrognard. 08/21/19 09:48 PM
Request for help!
by Fracture. 08/21/19 07:36 PM
Bye bye iTunes
by Red2112. 08/21/19 06:33 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0