Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 31 of 35 1 2 29 30 31 32 33 34 35
#4461775 - 02/17/19 04:06 PM Re: Mission Editor ***** [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,234
lederhosen Offline
Member
lederhosen  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,234
Germany
probably been asked before, but......

I'd like to use the Pfalz AI (my real plane is the Aviatik) and can do so using your mod. I have a custom skin for the Pfalz but cant assign it to my pfalz.

It takes on an old deleted one that I had used in another campaign


p.s. solved it
created and started a new campaign with a squad in 1915 with Pfalz AI's. Picked my skin started mission, quick RTB and end flight.
Now the editer seems to take last skin used and I have what I wanted.

Last edited by lederhosen; 02/17/19 05:31 PM.

make mistakes and learn from them

I5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asrock B85m Pro3, Gtx 1060 3GB
#4461854 - 02/18/19 10:59 AM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,764
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,764
Czech Rep.
Oh, that reminds me I have not publicly released the latest version 1.7.5 of Mission Editor yet. On request of hoongadoonga I have implemented the Player custom skin selection button - now you can select custom skins for selected aircraft in Mission Editor Pilot menu - see enclosed picture.
Additional fixes:
1) "No lightning" radiobutton did not work - fixed
2) Pilot restoration from backup routine fixed
3) Added new button Save as default - you can save your formation as default. Non functional at present - WIP

Enjoy!

Download available here.

[Linked Image]

Attached Files cust_skin.jpg
Last edited by JJJ65; 02/18/19 11:00 AM.
#4461881 - 02/18/19 04:27 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,234
lederhosen Offline
Member
lederhosen  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,234
Germany
arghhhhhhhh...cool


make mistakes and learn from them

I5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asrock B85m Pro3, Gtx 1060 3GB
#4461906 - 02/18/19 07:47 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 416
hoongadoonga Offline
Member
hoongadoonga  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 416
Thanks again for doing this. I've been using this version for quite a while now and it's great. The ME already was my favorite mod and this just made it even better.

#4461909 - 02/18/19 07:58 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 486
AceMedic88 Offline
Member
AceMedic88  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 486
Niagara Falls, NY
You keep making the mod better. You're the man!


I got fired as the door man at a sperm bank.
Apparently it's in poor taste to tell leaving customers "Thanks for coming."

Former U.S. Army Medic - SGT.
#4475072 - 05/22/19 06:35 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,155
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,155
JJJ, I have an idea for how the ME might improve performance. I'm quite certain that WOFF performance temporarily suffers whenever either allied or entente flights take to the air during the player's mission. Furthermore, I think we all know that overall performance goes down as the total number of AI flights goes up. I suspect that a large number of the AI missions that are taking place will never even cross paths with the player's own flight, unless of course the player (or the AI) decides to deviate significantly from the predetermined mission flightpath.

So here's the idea: could you implement an option to "delete" AI missions that ME calculates as "unlikely" to cross paths with the player's flight? This would help to improve performance (albeit at a slight cost to historical realism), especially in late 1917 and into 1918.

Cheers

H

#4475149 - 05/23/19 11:28 AM Re: Mission Editor [Re: HarryH]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 494
kksnowbear Offline
Member
kksnowbear  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 494
Originally Posted by HarryH
JJJ, I have an idea for how the ME might improve performance. I'm quite certain that WOFF performance temporarily suffers whenever either allied or entente flights take to the air during the player's mission. Furthermore, I think we all know that overall performance goes down as the total number of AI flights goes up. I suspect that a large number of the AI missions that are taking place will never even cross paths with the player's own flight, unless of course the player (or the AI) decides to deviate significantly from the predetermined mission flightpath.

So here's the idea: could you implement an option to "delete" AI missions that ME calculates as "unlikely" to cross paths with the player's flight? This would help to improve performance (albeit at a slight cost to historical realism), especially in late 1917 and into 1918.

Cheers

H



Hey, call me stupid, but isn't that what the Workshop "Regional Air Activity" is supposed to be doing? Is it not an adequate level of change (meaning, it doesn't completely eliminate all other activity, and that's what you're asking to do)? What about the stutters that occur because of aircraft/objects that you are likely to encounter?

#4475186 - 05/23/19 02:53 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: kksnowbear]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,155
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,155
For the ones you're likely to encounter, if there's less aircraft loading simultaneously (assuming there is indeed a contributing factor toward stutters from aircraft loading) then the stutter effect should be reduced somewhat.

As I think OBD has explained it previously if I recall correctly, regional activity reduces the density of air traffic, both near and far. There is still far traffic being generated. If that's not the case then yes, it's no different than setting lower air activity, and that's certainly another tool that can be used to improve performance, regardless.

#4475240 - 05/23/19 08:19 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,155
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,155
OK having spent the last couple of hours messing with the ME, I can say with some confidence that by increasing regional activity you are introducing more aircraft, both friendly and enemy, across the whole "map". I can also say that a meaningful number of those aircraft are unlikely to have any contact with your current mission path. Now this may not matter as much early in the war, but in 1918 it could make a significant difference. If it were possible to cull flights that were never likely to intersect with your own, you might in some instances be able to reduce the load by as much as half (early guesstimate). As an example, my system is generally comfortable and smooth up to ~ 150 planes. Beyond that it starts to noticeably bog down. This is not stutters. It's a consistent degradation of the overall smoothness, In 1918 with regional air activity set to medium I often see 300+ planes and it's not super playable. If I could get that down to 150 I'd recover some smoothness and hopefully not miss out too significantly on EA encounters. Make sense? The downside might be that you'd be altering the balance of power in such a way that you might gain an unfair advantage, simply because less friendly flights would be culled due to their proximity...? Not sure about that. I'm also not sure if simply dropping air activity would have the same effect but I am going to guess for now that you'd have more enemy encounters with regional air activity set higher, but with the advantage of less craft in the air overall, hence the idea for the feature. Seems logical, to me anyhow smile

As for "spawn stutters" I'm still investigating this.

Last edited by HarryH; 05/23/19 08:24 PM.
#4475250 - 05/23/19 09:23 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: HarryH]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 494
kksnowbear Offline
Member
kksnowbear  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 494
Originally Posted by HarryH
This is not stutters


An interesting note, and one that actually corroborates my own experience: Setting regional air activity up, down (sideways...) has zero effect on stutters. You (I) still see exactly the same stutters as I always have, at precisely the same moments (in a controlled test QC run). So, the 'stutters' are something else.

#4475259 - 05/23/19 10:37 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: kksnowbear]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,155
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,155
yes I concur

#4475290 - 05/24/19 09:07 AM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,764
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,764
Czech Rep.
Thx for idea and support, guys. I will think about it, however, presently I am on vacation and not able to do any coding till 2nd June. In addition, I have just received bug report from Robert Wiggins stating that ME is not compatible with WOFF 4.22 update, so, I am going to correct that issue first. I will keep you informed.

#4475340 - 05/24/19 02:52 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,155
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,155
No problem, thanks for everything!
Originally Posted by JJJ65
Thx for idea and support, guys. I will think about it, however, presently I am on vacation and not able to do any coding till 2nd June. In addition, I have just received bug report from Robert Wiggins stating that ME is not compatible with WOFF 4.22 update, so, I am going to correct that issue first. I will keep you informed.

No problem, thanks for everything!

#4475861 - 05/28/19 10:54 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 52
WallysWorld Offline
Junior Member
WallysWorld  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 52
Alberta, Canada
So I just updated WOFF UE to 4.22a and I am trying to load the first mission file for my career with this new update and the editor just sits at "Loading mission file" and never does load the file. Does anyone else have this issue since the latest update?

Other than the 4.22a update, nothing else has changed for my WOFF UE install.

#4475872 - 05/28/19 11:11 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,166
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,166
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
ME needs to be updated in order to work with 4.22. JJJ65 is aware of this and will likely have a fix soon.


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4475883 - 05/29/19 12:42 AM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 52
WallysWorld Offline
Junior Member
WallysWorld  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 52
Alberta, Canada
Super! Thanks for that info, Robert. I'll hold off on my career until JJJ65 does his magic.

#4475905 - 05/29/19 06:28 AM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,764
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,764
Czech Rep.
Sorry guys, I am on vacation right now without access to ME source code, so update will not be ready earlier than the next week.
Accept,pls, my apology.

#4475914 - 05/29/19 12:10 PM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,166
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,166
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
No apologies necessary Jara. You can do your magic when you get your wand fixed biggrin


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4476486 - 06/03/19 09:36 AM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,764
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,764
Czech Rep.
Mission Editor v 1.7.6 released, download available here.
Revision changes:
1. Solved (hopefully) compatibility issue with WOFF UE 4.22+ update
2. Various randomization of enemy ambush situation (thx to Fullofit's request) - still WIP

Enjoy!

#4476489 - 06/03/19 10:41 AM Re: Mission Editor [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,504
Fullofit Online content
Senior Member
Fullofit  Online Content
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,504
Ajax, ON
Oh yes! Thank you for this Triple-J. You work fast! I can finally use the new patch. salute


"Take the cylinder out of my kidneys,
The connecting rod out of my brain, my brain,
From out of my arse take the camshaft,
And assemble the engine again."
Page 31 of 35 1 2 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
The other Football thread.
by NoFlyBoy. 12/15/19 09:55 PM
Joke: "I'm tired of you. I'm leaving!!"
by Bill_Grant. 12/14/19 02:43 PM
Eagle VS Octopus
by rwatson. 12/14/19 01:03 PM
50 Cal's
by carrick58. 12/14/19 04:21 AM
His Dark Materials (possible small spoilers)
by NH2112. 12/14/19 04:15 AM
103 mph AVERAGE across the USA!
by Nixer. 12/12/19 02:22 PM
Russian Aircraft Carrier Kuznetsov on fire
by Tom_Weiss. 12/12/19 11:45 AM
Re floating of the USS Oklahoma
by 3instein. 12/12/19 08:26 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0