Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
#4478060 - 06/14/19 12:11 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
I have found the little fix I made for my self two years ago, but I have no possibilities to test it at the moment, so no warranty about it winkngrin

I made it for 1.15.X, so please keep this in mind. Didn't know if it still works with 1.16. It's better to make a backup of your installation before you try it !!!

The archive can simply be unpacked to the main directory, as far as I remember.

Here is the DropBox link.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2n2x1w6qc...20Rotor%20FARP%20Collision%20Fix.7z?dl=0


Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478062 - 06/14/19 12:19 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 37
Phoenix54C Offline
Junior Member
Phoenix54C  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 37
OK Viper.

Will give this a run and see if it helps.

Thx guys...

#4478065 - 06/14/19 12:29 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
I think there was also another collision bug and that happened only in 1.16.

If you startet a mission and you were transfered to one of the airports (not the FARP), sometimes your helicopter collided with an object at the airport, which resulted in a complete crash. I never made a fix for this, cause it only happened in 1.16 with the much better looking airports and the additional objects that caused this crash. As I wanted to use 1.15.4 further; I only fixed some things for this version.


Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478069 - 06/14/19 12:48 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 37
Phoenix54C Offline
Junior Member
Phoenix54C  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 37
Dude you deserve a couple a cold beers for this...

The farps look great and the bigger hesco barriers fit in nicely.

All of the helos are now taking off and landing correctly.

Thx lots for this.

On a sidenote: Freefalcon 6 ran under the DX7 engine and ive always thought it looked great.

#4478075 - 06/14/19 01:03 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
Ha, found another one I made those days.

The black cockpit for the MI-28, but it was for 1.15.4 only, cause I don't know if it's still working with the cockpit-fix messyhead has done for 1.16 to get the needles in the gauges in the MI-28 working again.

They dissapeared in 1.16 because of DX9, same thing happened to the analouge engine bars, but as far as I know even messyhead wasn't able to fix the enginebars.

Here is the link to the MI-28 black pit. Same as before, please make a backup of your installation !!! I also think the pit only works with 1.15.X, but who knows...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/eht9b9op5wsvv77/EECH%20AllMods%20-%20MI-28%20Black%20Cockpit.7z?dl=0

I was also working a lot on the KA-50 and made some changes to the helo itself and the cockpit, but sadly never really finished the project. I hope I can do this later this year, if other things are done. Here is the link to the EECH thread from two years ago.

The helo: http://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/4385306/1

The pit: http://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/4385306/10

The download links do not work anymore, but as said, I will start again with the project and then link the new results also again.

Last edited by Viper1970; 06/14/19 01:34 PM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478077 - 06/14/19 01:24 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
@ Phoenix54C

Nice to hear that I could help a little bit. I made them for 1.15.4 and updated the graphics a little bit, cause in 1.15.4 they look not very nice.

I never had the system to run newer sims, until now. So I used a lot of older simulations, I collected over the years for my homepit (which sadly never really did any mission - only testing the last years). I also used FreeFalcon 5 and 6 which I really loved. Same goes for Strike Fighters Project 1 and 2 or the good old Janes Series like Longbow Anthology, F-15, F-18, USAF Fighters or IAF Fighters.

I think graphics aren't so much important if they are relatively ok, but there has to be a real vegetation (trees, bushes, river beds, hills) and more buildings etc. you could use for NOE flying in an attack helo sim for example. More traffic is also important. I do prefer this much more, as details like better clouds, sun reflections etc.

With the PC power of todays systems you would be able to do tons of such scenery/traffic additions to older simulations like EECH, which is in my opinion better then an overhauled graphics engine, but it seems I'm very lonely with this kind of opinion nope


Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478107 - 06/14/19 03:58 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
So, that are the things I personally would like to have in EECH Allmods somewhere in future winkngrin

- a renewed fully functional KA-50 with new cockpit (I will be on this later this year, but I will need the help of a coder to get the instruments and some other features running)

- a gunner pit for the MI-28 and maybe an upgrade of the cockpit to the more advanced MI-28N version (I also started some work at a 3D model of a two seater version of the cockpit but it's in an very early state)

- a more up to date KA-52 cockpit (also some work started, but not much)

- again a pilot/copilot cockpit for the MI-24 (as far as I remember this wasn't the case since 1.16)

- an AH-1F Cobra, cause it's my all time favorite attack helicopter since it looks very, very aggressive. Much more then the Apache in my opion. Really an awesome bird. And it was the main attack helicopter over a long period of time for the US Army. It would fit nice as a counterpart to the MI-24. I have also started working on a model, but it's still many work to do.

- additional to the MI-24, the upgraded version, the MI-35. I don't know what is the maximum of helicopters the menu in EECH supports, but if there is a limit, we could just do another version of EECH. One with the modern helo versions and one for the Coldwar era. I think that wouldn't be a problem to do. Just two parallel installs.

- the Blackhawk in 1.16.0 which was already there in 1.15.4 and as counterpart a flyable MI-8.

- a flyable MH-6J Little Bird

- and if I could dream a little bit further, somewhere in a far away future a flyable CH-53E Super Stallion and a CH-47 Chinook biggrin

Last edited by Viper1970; 06/14/19 04:03 PM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478109 - 06/14/19 04:06 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,428
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,428
Hi folks. I've been lurking, and seeing what everyone's been saying.

It bothers me that I never got my Blackhwak finished, as I was looking forward to it being in the game. I know there's a flyable cockpit in 1.15.4, but it's not as accurate as I was aiming for with my mod.

I had to stop, as I was really struggling with the graphic part to get the MFDs working. I was using code from other helos for the MFD, but then trying to modify how they were drawn to make them work. And figuring it out was beyond me. I work as a software tester, but I also do some Java and Python coding, mainly for writing automated tests. So figuring out C was sometimes difficult. And then the graphics engine was a whole other thing.

As for the Mi-28 engine gauges. From what I remember, in 1.15.4, they used direct draw to draw the bars, but in 1.16 the bars themselves had to be modelled in LW and then the code would move the object. Trying to work out a solution for that was quite tricky.

If there were a few modders around, that wanted to make a plan for what to fix/implement, and could help each other out when stuck, then I'd be more inclined to come back to modding this. The move to DX9 in 1.16 was done to ultimately improve the graphics engine, which would open up possibilites for the future. But as has been mentioned, it broke some of the cockpits.

If you look at the work that was done to transform Falcon, to Falcon BMS, you can see what the possibilities could be for EECH. But it needs a team of developers to work on it. Mostly the modders working on EECH work on their own ideas, or what they want to see in the game.

The other aspect of my Blackhawk that I needed to spend a lot of time on, is the texturing. At the moment, I know a lot of the textures are of the wrong size, or incomplete.

I'm soon moving to a new job, and I'm trying to work on some courses for my own professional development for that role. So most of my time at the laptop is spent on that.

I might check out my code again, and see if I can make some progress.


I had made this thread a while ago for people to post what they would like to see added...

http://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/4379380/eech-wishlist-feature-requests-and-bug-fixes

Last edited by messyhead; 06/14/19 04:06 PM.
#4478112 - 06/14/19 04:30 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
Hi messyhead,

nice to hear from you again! For the texture work at the Blackhawk I think I can help you, but my coding experience (if I could even mention this) is so bad, this is far away from making anything for EECH. Maybe javelin can help with this?

I'm also struggling with animations in 3D. There is still much I have to learn.

I`m also having a lot of other things to do, so I couldn't work at EECH the whole time, but I think we all together could make some minor steps to improve EECH again. Rather slowly than never! EECH has such an immensive potential, as you have noted before, it really could be for attack helos what Falcon BMS is for fighter jets.

I know that we aren't able at the moment to make big steps forward, but some minor continuous working at EECH could preserve this great simulation from dying.

I hope we can get some more guys to the project, even if we are only able to fix some bugs, this would be a great enrichment to EECH.

P.S: Sometimes I head a dream of what it could be to combine Falcon BMS with EECH Allmods. Imagine what could be possible then burger Sadly this will never be possible but if....

Last edited by Viper1970; 06/14/19 05:00 PM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478119 - 06/14/19 04:55 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Hey Viper1970, I like your wish list! Nice!

I don't see a limit to the number of helicopters anywhere.
If there is, it's just an array size somewhere which can be altered.

I've mapped all the Avionics files, now I just need to sort out where the gauge drawing code is and get started.

#4478122 - 06/14/19 05:07 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
Hi javelin,

that would be real nice! I think we all together could make some nice new improvements to EECH. At the moment I'm trying to find all my old files at my HD's, so that I could start again end of this summer. Maybe a little earlier, cause I'm infected again with the EECH-virus biggrin

My real love goes to helos, I also like fighter jets, but flying a helicopter NOE is so much more thrilling in my opinion copter

Even the startup of the engines of the Hueys that sometimes visted our airbase here in Fursty years ago, generated goose bumps. biggrin Only thing wich was missing, was the background sound of CCR's fortunate son.

Last edited by Viper1970; 06/14/19 05:13 PM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478126 - 06/14/19 05:14 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
"My real love goes to helos, I also like fighter jets, but flying a helicopter NOE is so much more thrilling in my opinion "
AMEN brother biggrin with Javelin FM it's quite a new experience.
its great that something move, my heart was broken like two months forum was silent.

Last edited by BANITA; 06/14/19 05:16 PM.
#4478129 - 06/14/19 05:27 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
Could there anything nicer, as the sound of an good old Huey at startup? biggrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lsg5nT8A2fI


Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478130 - 06/14/19 05:37 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,428
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,428
Originally Posted by Javelin
Hey Viper1970, I like your wish list! Nice!

I don't see a limit to the number of helicopters anywhere.
If there is, it's just an array size somewhere which can be altered.

I've mapped all the Avionics files, now I just need to sort out where the gauge drawing code is and get started.



The calls to draw the gauges is in _vckpt.c. For example, in bh_vckpt.c, there's

Code
				//
				// radar altimeter
				//

				search.search_depth = 0;
				search.search_object = virtual_cockpit_inst3d;
				search.sub_object_index = OBJECT_3D_SUB_OBJECT_BH_RDR_ALT_NEEDLE;

				if (find_object_3d_sub_object (&search) == SUB_OBJECT_SEARCH_RESULT_OBJECT_FOUND)
				{
					search.result_sub_object->relative_roll = get_blackhawk_virtual_cockpit_radar_altimeter_needle_value ();
				}


This refers to the 3D model of the needle - OBJECT_3D_SUB_OBJECT_BH_RDR_ALT_NEEDLE


The get_blackhawk_virtual_cockpit_radar_altimeter_needle_value calls a function in bh_instr.c

Code
float get_blackhawk_virtual_cockpit_radar_altimeter_needle_value(void)
{
	float
		altimeter_needle_value,
		roll;

	altimeter_needle_value = get_radar_altimeter_needle_value ();

	//
	// non-linear scale
	//

	if (altimeter_needle_value < 200.0)
		roll = altimeter_needle_value / 200.0 * rad(180.0);
	else if (altimeter_needle_value < 500)
		roll = rad(180) + (altimeter_needle_value - 200) / 300 * rad(20);
	else if (altimeter_needle_value > 500)
		roll = rad(200) + rad(80);

	return (-roll);
}


This makes a call get_radar_altimeter_needle_value in the same class, which eventually gets the value from current_flight_dynamics->radar_altitude.value

The rotation of the needle for is worked out from that. I found it was a bit of trial and error in this part to get the needle value to match the dial texture. There's probably a more accurate way to work it out than trial and error.

Code
	if (altimeter_needle_value < 200.0)
		roll = altimeter_needle_value / 200.0 * rad(180.0);
	else if (altimeter_needle_value < 500)
		roll = rad(180) + (altimeter_needle_value - 200) / 300 * rad(20);
	else if (altimeter_needle_value > 500)
		roll = rad(200) + rad(80);


That pattern is repeated for other needles.

Does that help?

#4478131 - 06/14/19 05:41 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
Here is a picture of the new KA-52N cockpit and some technical information about this version. I have started some cockpit work two years ago, but there is so much new in this pit and I had no glue how to get all of this working.

https://thaimilitaryandasianregion.wordpress.com/2015/11/09/ka-52-alligator-attack-helicopters/

Same goes for the MI-28 but I think it's not as difficult as the KA-52. Ok we have to built a gunner pit for the MI-28, but the KA-52 seems more complex.

And here is the same about the MI-35:

https://thaimilitaryandasianregion.wordpress.com/2016/08/07/mi-35m-hind-e-attack-helicopters-russia/

I think upgrading them would be a big piece of work, but it's definitely worth it. We could still use the older versions for a Coldwar scenario.

Last edited by Viper1970; 06/14/19 05:46 PM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478139 - 06/14/19 06:33 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
Ok, found some of the old things I worked at, again biggrin

But some things are still missing and I have really no clue what was the last status I worked at.

I just started to look at the LWO and LWS files again, but oh boy, two years are a long time if you have to manage completely other things!

I have already seen, that I have to relearn a lot of things. It's just difficult to remember what key does which function and so on sigh

But I'm a fighter, I have managed it two years ago, and I will do again biggrin

I will still need the help with the animation part (moving things like turret gun or nose-sensors) and the whole instrumentation. If I remember correctly, I was able to get the MFD's working but had no clue how to get analog instruments working again, if I moved them to another place.

Here are some of the things I found so far:


Attached Files AH-1F.jpgAH-1F-Cockpit.jpgKA-52.jpgMI-28-Cockpit.jpgKA-52-Cockpit.jpgKA50_CAMO.jpgKA50_CAMO_CONTRAST1.jpgKA50_CAMO-D.jpgKA50_CAMO-W.jpg
Last edited by Viper1970; 06/14/19 07:21 PM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478176 - 06/14/19 11:36 PM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 273
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
Hi Messyhead! Yes, that helps. I traced the gauges in the Havok back to the following 3D object file.
\EECHSourceCode\setup\cohokum\3ddata\objects\Mi-28_Havoc_Instruments\HAVOC_VIRTUAL_COCKPIT_INSTRUMENT_NEEDLES.EES

All of the Havok gauge needles are in this one file. I don't have LightWave so I can't convert the file and open it up to look at how each sub-object is set up for each needle in the file.
Basically as I understand it, the code searches and finds the correct needle sub-object, then computes a rotation angle to match the numerical value for the gauge, then it plots it to the 3D cockpit scene. The part I can't do (obviously without LightWave) is set up the 3D object file with the gauge needles in it. I would need that in order to set up the code to plot the needles to the gauges in the BlackShark or any other helo. The 3D object file contains all of the location information to get the needle onto the right gauge on the dash. I can see from the math how the rotations are calculated, I went through the Havok gauges and worked it out mentally for several of them. It matched, no trial and error needed. I'll go through the BlackShark code next to see where it's at.

I also traced back the Comanche MFD engine bar graphs to see how they are done. I traced it all the way back to the 2D box and line drawing commands in \EECHSourceCode\modules\2d\2dwrap.c Other than figuring out the texture plotting units, it doesn't look too bad. This one I can handle on my own, no LightWave required. Weren't you guys having problems with the engine bar graphs? The part I didn't pay attention to was how each MFD screen gets mapped to the right location on the dash. I may need to go back and figure that part out too.

#4478212 - 06/15/19 08:32 AM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 609
from whai i remember you can download lightwave,and use to see what you want. Only you cant save file. Btw newest versiion has different file system,and cause troubles when convert.

#4478214 - 06/15/19 09:35 AM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,428
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,428
Originally Posted by Javelin
Hi Messyhead! Yes, that helps. I traced the gauges in the Havok back to the following 3D object file.
\EECHSourceCode\setup\cohokum\3ddata\objects\Mi-28_Havoc_Instruments\HAVOC_VIRTUAL_COCKPIT_INSTRUMENT_NEEDLES.EES

All of the Havok gauge needles are in this one file. I don't have LightWave so I can't convert the file and open it up to look at how each sub-object is set up for each needle in the file.
Basically as I understand it, the code searches and finds the correct needle sub-object, then computes a rotation angle to match the numerical value for the gauge, then it plots it to the 3D cockpit scene. The part I can't do (obviously without LightWave) is set up the 3D object file with the gauge needles in it. I would need that in order to set up the code to plot the needles to the gauges in the BlackShark or any other helo. The 3D object file contains all of the location information to get the needle onto the right gauge on the dash. I can see from the math how the rotations are calculated, I went through the Havok gauges and worked it out mentally for several of them. It matched, no trial and error needed. I'll go through the BlackShark code next to see where it's at.

I also traced back the Comanche MFD engine bar graphs to see how they are done. I traced it all the way back to the 2D box and line drawing commands in \EECHSourceCode\modules\2d\2dwrap.c Other than figuring out the texture plotting units, it doesn't look too bad. This one I can handle on my own, no LightWave required. Weren't you guys having problems with the engine bar graphs? The part I didn't pay attention to was how each MFD screen gets mapped to the right location on the dash. I may need to go back and figure that part out too.



I think I might have started work on the Blackshark needles too, I'll need to go through my files.

As for the MFDs, there's a null object in the scene, with the MFD name that maps to theobject in the code. But then there's some drawing code that draws the size, of the MFD and the various symbols on it. I get stuck at that part.

As for the engine gauges, I think the comanche uses the old way of doing it, which is what the old Havoc did too. If you can work out how that works, then we could get the Havoc gauges working again, without needing to create a 3D object for the bars....

Oh wait, the Comanche isall MFDs isn't it. The havoc didn't have an MFD for the engine gauges, so I couldn't work out how to draw the bars outside of an MFD.

Maybe the easiest thing, although a lot of work, is to upgarde the Mi28 cockpit to the N model as it has MFDs. I would imagine they would be the same as the Blackshark.

I'll PM you about Lightwave

#4478215 - 06/15/19 10:13 AM Re: Anyone still working on EECH-Allmods? [Re: Viper1970]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,428
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,428
I found I have this Blackshark cockpit model. I think it might be the same one that Sockzien used when he created the original cockpit, however the geometry looks a lot tidier. I'll compare them today, and see what they're like. This is taken from a DCS mod.

Attached Files cockpit1.JPGcockpit2.JPGcockpit3.JPG
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  messyhead, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Memphis Belle in Color
by NoFlyBoy. 11/13/19 05:30 AM
Warner Brothers Studio Evacuated
by vonBaur. 11/11/19 03:28 PM
Veterans Day
by oldgrognard. 11/11/19 01:30 PM
U.S.S. Grayback has been located, after 75 years.
by CyBerkut. 11/11/19 06:36 AM
naval action
by coasty. 11/11/19 02:33 AM
Dart, are you OK?
by KraziKanuK. 11/10/19 08:58 AM
Watchmen
by DM. 11/09/19 08:50 PM
Random musical questions.
by DM. 11/09/19 07:22 PM
Pause. Reflect. Remember.
by F4UDash4. 11/09/19 05:16 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0