Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4473221 - 05/06/19 10:16 PM need help about dots  
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Emca Offline
Junior Member
Emca  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Greetings all!
I had few problems with game and reading forum I solved them, but for this one I couldn't find solution.My problem is that I can't
see planes, they are blended with scenery and if I loose track of plane just for a moment, I cant find it again. I know that I can use
labels but they are to big and will break immersion big time. For me, most appropriate is to use dots, but alas they appears only at min distance
of 1,5 km and beyond. My question is can I somehow set dots to start appears at 200 m, or to be present all the time?

#4473224 - 05/06/19 10:38 PM Re: need help about dots [Re: Emca]  
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,480
Fullofit Online content
Member
Fullofit  Online Content
Member

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,480
Ajax, ON
Emca, welcome to the forum. You may want to adjust the Distance Factor down under Labels Avg. Distance in Workshops. See if that helps any.
[Linked Image]

Attached Files Capture.jpg

"Take the cylinder out of my kidneys,
The connecting rod out of my brain, my brain,
From out of my arse take the camshaft,
And assemble the engine again."
#4473230 - 05/06/19 11:52 PM Re: need help about dots [Re: Fullofit]  
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Emca Offline
Junior Member
Emca  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Thank you Fullofit for trying to help.
I saw those settings but they don't affect min range of dots at all, only range of labels identity, dots are still at min. range of 1500m.
To clarify I would like to see dots on planes from 200m to 3000m. Now I can see dots only if plane is at 1500m and beyond that range, and if he is closer to me I cant see dots.

#4473232 - 05/07/19 12:11 AM Re: need help about dots [Re: Emca]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 611
BuckeyeBob Offline
Member
BuckeyeBob  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 611
Ohio, USA
I know you prefer not to use labels because they are too intrusive, but there is a mod somewhere around here (try Sandbagger's webpage) that decreases the brightness and intensity of the font colors and the background labels so they don't interfere as much with the immersion. You might want to give that a try, at least as an experiment.

#4473233 - 05/07/19 12:24 AM Re: need help about dots [Re: Emca]  
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,480
Fullofit Online content
Member
Fullofit  Online Content
Member

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,480
Ajax, ON
Sorry that didn't work. I think JJJ65 Multimod controls the label's colours and background.


"Take the cylinder out of my kidneys,
The connecting rod out of my brain, my brain,
From out of my arse take the camshaft,
And assemble the engine again."
#4473249 - 05/07/19 06:29 AM Re: need help about dots [Re: Fullofit]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,756
JJJ65 Online cool
Member
JJJ65  Online Cool
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,756
Czech Rep.
Originally Posted by Fullofit
Sorry that didn't work. I think JJJ65 Multimod controls the label's colours and background.

Yep, youre right, Fullofit. You can set color and opacity of all labels and dots in WOFF. For example, I have set enemy labels opacity to 0, so all enemy labels are transparent (invisible) and I am not warned in advance about presence of enemy. Download link is here.

#4473256 - 05/07/19 11:44 AM Re: need help about dots [Re: Emca]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 727
gaw1 Offline
Member
gaw1  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 727
Emca..........welcome. For whatever it's worth.....it's ALWAYS difficult to find the other guys.....it's supposed to be. I'm pretty sure is was that way back in the day and it's modelled perfectly in WOFF. You're right....the labels can be an immersion killer, so use your TAC if you want to see what's going on around you. Select a good guy/bad guy and shift views to target to player view to see who and what they are.....you can detail that view shift to a key....bv default it's F1. Also you can hit lock view to taget and you'll see where they are from your cockpit......invaluable, and the only way I've been able to fudge an edge on the odds. No doubt you may know all this already......they're great workarounds to having everybody flying around with a colored label or a dot on them. Labels off is usually the first thing to go by the board once you have the feel of things. Good luck!

Last edited by gaw1; 05/07/19 05:39 PM.
#4473359 - 05/08/19 05:47 AM Re: need help about dots [Re: Fullofit]  
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Emca Offline
Junior Member
Emca  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Finally it works.
After dozens of experimentation I mange to find satisfactory solution. Fullofit you were right, distance factor does affect min. range of dot, when I reduced distance factor I couldn't see it coz it's small and color is pale. I change dot to cross and change its color and size, now it is visible alot.
Thank you all for help.

#4473572 - 05/10/19 12:26 AM Re: need help about dots [Re: Emca]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,516
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,516
High over the Front
And welcome to the greatest flight sim ever.


Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
New Half Life game.... but VR only?
by Khai. 11/19/19 01:31 PM
Too Funny
by vonBaur. 11/17/19 04:51 PM
Important Birthday Tomorrow
by rwatson. 11/17/19 12:00 PM
70 weeks of intense self-learning
by MarkG. 11/16/19 07:15 PM
We are about to hit peak Nicolas Cage
by Ajay. 11/16/19 12:52 AM
Legacy Rock Bands
by PanzerMeyer. 11/14/19 04:02 PM
Memphis Belle in Color
by NoFlyBoy. 11/13/19 05:30 AM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0