Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#4466392 - 03/19/19 09:12 AM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
rollnloop. Offline
Member
rollnloop.  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
France
Thanks for letting us know, I'll download asap cheers

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4466404 - 03/19/19 10:29 AM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
rollnloop. Offline
Member
rollnloop.  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
France
Well, I saw no improvements and now HUD seems porked (need to put my fpm at +5 to get a steady altimeter), plus carrier cat seems now broken. No need to frustrate myself right now , off to games that work for the moment cheers

#4466418 - 03/19/19 12:24 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,546
mdwa Offline
Member
mdwa  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,546
Way over in Perth, Western Aus...
Weird, seems ok to me - cat works fine in SP haven't tried MP, RE the HUD I'm assuming you mean in Landing mode? I find it hard to get use to the old school HUD no altitude no airspeed... I think the FPM needs to go on the horizon, and the other symbol (equivalent to VV) needs to go on the 0 deg pitch ladder. Anyway I need to learn more about this HUD

I guess it's a 1st Gen HUD...!


mdwa
#4466419 - 03/19/19 12:26 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,546
mdwa Offline
Member
mdwa  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,546
Way over in Perth, Western Aus...
Edit I think the right side scale is radar alt?


mdwa
#4466440 - 03/19/19 01:27 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
rollnloop. Offline
Member
rollnloop.  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
France
If I put the fpm on HUD horizon (at least in carrier landing training), aircraft descends fast. Since it's possible to trim the HUD horizon (bottom right button), I think it's just improperly trimmed, not very practical for a training mission.

#4466444 - 03/19/19 01:48 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,726
bisher Online content
I'll be your Huckleberry
bisher  Online Content
I'll be your Huckleberry
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,726
Manitoba, Canada
The Hotfix really helped performance for me, load times are better previous to the Tomcat and no lock ups

I had to add 8 Gbs RAM to make this game playable as well, up to 16 Gbs smile



#4466449 - 03/19/19 02:42 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 89
Justin Case Offline
Junior Member
Justin Case  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 89
Barcelona
The pitch ladder on the HUD is not aligned with the actual horizon. Think of it as a regular ADI that just happens to be placed in the wind screen. The FPV however, shows your path in relation to the horizon...1st gen HUD like mdwa said.

#4466457 - 03/19/19 03:31 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
rollnloop. Offline
Member
rollnloop.  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
France
I' m sorry but I can't use an ADI on which I must point 5° up to keep a level flight. If you have any written evidence that supports this affirmation I'd be glad to read it.

edit: using the HUD trim (rotary on VDI right side), one can set the HUD relative to earth horizon in order to have a usabe HUD.

Why it is 5° too low by default is still a mystery.

Last edited by rollnloop.; 03/19/19 08:02 PM.
#4466554 - 03/19/19 11:40 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
jaguara5 Offline
Junior Member
jaguara5  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php?p=3844547&postcount=2
Explanation from user Victory 205 (former tomcat pilot, If you don't have already, read also all his pinned posts)

Last edited by jaguara5; 03/19/19 11:40 PM.
#4466555 - 03/20/19 12:07 AM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 89
Justin Case Offline
Junior Member
Justin Case  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 89
Barcelona
Thanks! I was looking through the NATOPS but couldn’t find any text saying what Victory 205 explained. It’s a very odd solution compared to what we are used to today, or even just a few years later in other aircraft.

#4466557 - 03/20/19 12:16 AM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
rollnloop. Offline
Member
rollnloop.  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
France
Didn't find anything in natops, but the hud trim rotary description.

No procédure, no mention of the offset.

Thanks for reference jag.

Anyone knows if he was a Phantom pilot prior to flying the tomcat ?

Last edited by rollnloop.; 03/20/19 12:17 AM.
#4466581 - 03/20/19 02:37 AM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 89
Justin Case Offline
Junior Member
Justin Case  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 89
Barcelona
What sort of procedure are you thinking of? The pitch ladder and the reference symbol works just like any ADI.

#4466747 - 03/20/19 11:19 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
rollnloop. Offline
Member
rollnloop.  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,246
France
Well I don't think of any in particular, but usually when a button/rotary/switch exists in a cockpit, there is often (not always, but often) a procedure (standard/supplementary/abnormal) that calls for its use. For this rotary, I didn't find its mention anywhere but in system description.

#4466929 - 03/21/19 09:11 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 89
Justin Case Offline
Junior Member
Justin Case  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 89
Barcelona
I see. I guess we are free to trim it to our own liking then. This usefulness of this HUD is quite limited to target indication, which is strange since the A-7 Crusader had a HUD similiar to what became standard later on. I do find the quirkiness a bit interesting though.

#4468692 - 04/03/19 09:32 AM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: rollnloop.]  
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 76
Chaos Offline
Junior Member
Chaos  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 76
The pitch ladder on the HUD is calibrated when you're on the ground. It will introduce an error the higher you climb. You can re-calibrate it when you're flying straight and level by using the adjustment knob provided. The FPM is something else entirely and that's where I feel the confusion sets in. Anytime your fpm is on the (actual-) horizon [NOT the HUD 0 degr. pitch ladder!), you're flying level. If you line it up with the 0 degr. pitch on the HUD it is anyone's guess where you're going to end up.

This is from an era when knowing pitch/power and using your steam gauges was all you had to fly your airplane properly. The HUD really is just there for aiming your weapons and VERY rudimentary flight path control. Use your Heads-Down instruments for that as well as your outside references.

Last edited by Chaos; 04/03/19 10:13 AM.

"It's not the years honey, it's the mileage..."
#4471580 - 04/23/19 08:30 AM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 754
Winfield Offline
model citizen
Winfield  Offline
model citizen
Member

Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 754
QLD
I watched a few the grim reapers youtube vids on this aircraft.....I thought I was watching japanese anime cartoons in cockpit view.
personally, I'll wait another 12 months before I invest, and that Jester popup needs a complete overhaul as in remove it completely and bind it to just keyboard\joystick functions.
It looks like a copy and paste from the battlefield series with a cartoon version of a maverick ..gif in the middle.

#4471626 - 04/23/19 05:19 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,936
GrayGhost Online content
Hotshot
GrayGhost  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,936
They used the circle as it is to enable use by VR users, and of course TIR users. You can bind a lot of the consistent jester commands, but not anything that is filled dynamically.
Maybe they could add a 'jester' keybind that doesn't bring up the circle, then you have a choice for it to appear vs. not appear.

I don't know that GR are the best at presenting aircraft and their features. I believe Jabbers did a lot better.


--
44th VFW
#4472627 - 05/01/19 10:24 PM Re: F-14 Tomcat [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
SUBS_17 Offline
Member
SUBS_17  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672


DCS F-14 Hammerhead stall.



"Trust me I know what I'm doing" Detective Sledge Hammer
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
WW2 still finding bodies
by Alicatt. 10/10/19 04:10 PM
That moment in time....
by Bill_Grant. 10/09/19 01:35 PM
A minister, a priest and a rabbi ....
by Bill_Grant. 10/08/19 04:56 PM
Old folks and old tricks
by Sluggish Controls. 10/08/19 06:11 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0