Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4440296 - 09/22/18 07:46 PM Skins  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
nbryant Offline
Junior Member
nbryant  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
Maryland USA
Didn't see a thread for this so if there is one please point me too it.


First, I take no credit for the base products used to compile this. The file is generated from the Robert Wiggins clean file.

Not sure I'm happy with this yet, they do say more is less so if anyone uses it feedback will be appreciated. Minor weathering, modded engine exhaust wear, a few other minor adds. There are a few more tweaks that may not be bad that I have in mind.


RAF Sqd 17: V5628

[Linked Image]



Last edited by nbryant; 09/23/18 11:21 PM.
#4440298 - 09/22/18 08:00 PM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,922
Adger Offline
Member
Adger  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,922
Il certainly give it a try..il try post a few pics later nbryant Thanks


"Vis unita fortior"

"United Strength is Stronger"
#4440308 - 09/22/18 08:49 PM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
nbryant Offline
Junior Member
nbryant  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
Maryland USA

#4440361 - 09/23/18 02:36 AM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,945
carrick58 Offline
Senior Member
carrick58  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,945
thanks guys, we really need the to flesh out the Sqn's

#4440410 - 09/23/18 01:25 PM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,444
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,444
Guys, skins you make must also have the accompanying damage2.dds skin (which must match the originals alpha to go along with every skin.

for example;

Hurricane_MKIa_RAF 56 USC.dds
needs;
Hurricane_MKIa_RAF 56 USC_damage2.dds

See originals for example

Last edited by Polovski; 09/23/18 01:25 PM.

Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4440423 - 09/23/18 03:13 PM Re: Skins [Re: Polovski]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
nbryant Offline
Junior Member
nbryant  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
Maryland USA
Originally Posted by Polovski
Guys, skins you make must also have the accompanying damage2.dds skin (which must match the originals alpha to go along with every skin.

for example;

Hurricane_MKIa_RAF 56 USC.dds
needs;
Hurricane_MKIa_RAF 56 USC_damage2.dds

See originals for example


Yes sir, trying to work out the copying of the required damage layer to complete the set. Takes time to copy each, piece by piece. Re-engineering templates is a PITA!

#4440487 - 09/23/18 11:27 PM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
nbryant Offline
Junior Member
nbryant  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
Maryland USA
Ok, RAF 17 Sqd V5628 reposted with both base and damage model. From my in-game runs all appears well but please let me know if you find issues. Base model has the exhaust weathering, wing exhaust weathering, underwing shell ports, etc. Not much, just some added details.

BASE:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Lwq9ravIXSjWDx-9-OESETGPzZHFFD_Y/view?usp=sharing

DAMAGED:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1wdxRroNi0s9JJqeuyuNmvyIKgr4GUtCX/view?usp=sharing

Last edited by nbryant; 09/25/18 01:35 AM.
#4440688 - 09/25/18 01:33 AM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
nbryant Offline
Junior Member
nbryant  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
Maryland USA
For your enjoyment: RAF 1 P3395 - Flight Leader Arthur Clowes. Before one of you purest points it out the nose cone is missing a yellow stripe. As soon as I can get a "clean" stripe that doesn't give you nausea in flight from it being out of round I will update it. I have used these in game but have not seen the full effect of the damage model. Should you find an issue please let me know.


[Linked Image]


Base:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1c-KoNA0d3r7HYNFERuztBHRxu6LT0lGo/view?usp=sharing


Damage:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1AEBg3EjimdrYvFMh5a6FIeEcQW3vlz8q/view?usp=sharing

Last edited by nbryant; 09/25/18 01:43 AM.
#4440695 - 09/25/18 03:07 AM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,066
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,066
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
nbryant;

Just in case you may not be aware of it, there were two camo wing patterns used on the Hurricanes in BoB. Scheme "A" and "B". Check your research material to confirm the correct pattern before you release more skins.
You have scheme "B" on 17 Sqn., which is correct.

Best Regards


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4440723 - 09/25/18 12:19 PM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
nbryant Offline
Junior Member
nbryant  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
Maryland USA
They can be used or not. My intent is to be as accurate as possible in doing so but without access to the templates used it becomes a burden to try to re-engineer the dds files provided in the game in which the 2nd scheme wasn't included, yet.

That being said I will continue to try to aid in the accuracy of the skins.

Last edited by nbryant; 09/25/18 12:40 PM.
#4440746 - 09/25/18 03:03 PM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,906
Trooper117 Offline
Hotshot
Trooper117  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,906
UK
Does anyone know how to stop every single member of my sqn using the same bloody skin as me?
It may be a small thing to some, but for me, I see the same skin on every plane as I'm flying, and then when I land, I taxi over to the hangers and every plane there has got the same skin too.
It kind of breaks the immersion for me somewhat frown

#4440748 - 09/25/18 03:22 PM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,066
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,066
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Just hang in there Trooper. I suspect that issue will be addressed reasonably soon. OBD is addressing the shortage of skins so I suspect we will see some improvements coming. It is early in the WOTR development/release phase and there is much to do. WOFF went through the same process to get to where it is now and we must realize it is only a very small development team creating all this for us.

Best Regards;


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4440752 - 09/25/18 03:47 PM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
nbryant Offline
Junior Member
nbryant  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 78
Maryland USA
Robert, an initial consideration may be to have the base aircraft assigned each unit only have that units designation and not the pilots specific designation. That way it comes across as a unit flying but yours can still be unique.

#4440753 - 09/25/18 03:49 PM Re: Skins [Re: Trooper117]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,649
JJJ65 Online cool
Member
JJJ65  Online Cool
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,649
Czech Rep.
Originally Posted by Trooper117
Does anyone know how to stop every single member of my sqn using the same bloody skin as me?
It may be a small thing to some, but for me, I see the same skin on every plane as I'm flying, and then when I land, I taxi over to the hangers and every plane there has got the same skin too.
It kind of breaks the immersion for me somewhat frown

Ref. here

#4440757 - 09/25/18 04:18 PM Re: Skins [Re: nbryant]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,945
carrick58 Offline
Senior Member
carrick58  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,945
As an interim measure for Sqn letters, just use the letters available on the few skins we have. For example do a Battle of Britian Job ( look for movie clips on U tube ) Just use 1 Letter after the roundel or Mix and match which is what I did for the AAR's on 145 Sqn. A perfect answer ? No , but it works and helps the immersion. or Just use the Sqn Letters ( Nbryant's idea } and not the single Letter. Just my 2 cents hope it helps.


Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Games
by carrick58. 08/25/19 02:54 AM
The College Football thread
by piper. 08/25/19 12:18 AM
The Mandalorian
by Chaz. 08/24/19 04:36 AM
Speaking of flat earthers
by Ajay. 08/23/19 12:55 AM
63...63...63...63
by 462cid. 08/22/19 10:16 PM
Say WHAT?!?!?
by vonBaur. 08/22/19 09:53 PM
disturbing image for Flat Earthers
by Tom_Weiss. 08/22/19 11:47 AM
Lost my best friend
by NH2112. 08/22/19 03:25 AM
Ramree Island WW2
by oldgrognard. 08/22/19 02:24 AM
Pilot films being in the water after crash
by oldgrognard. 08/21/19 09:48 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0