Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4434018 - 08/12/18 06:37 PM But does it FLY??  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 650
5555 Offline
Phil S
5555  Offline
Phil S
Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 650
Civilized California


Is 1CS Support on vacation? I have sent several questions to them without a response (support@1cgs.net).

How can I download Flying Circus I which I purchased two weeks ago? If I attempt to download it via my backlog, I receive another copy of Battle for Moscow. For that matter, how can I download any file in my 1CGS how can I download the various airplanes and plane collections or campaigns such as Bodenplatte

Help! Guidance will certainly be appreciated since 1CGS support and sales has gone amazingly silent during new product releases.....

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4434028 - 08/12/18 07:59 PM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,863
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,863
NW Alabama, USA
All of the IL2 products download into one game package. So download the IL2 Battle Of Stalingrad downloader from the website.

http://cdn.il2sturmovik.net/x64/IL2_setup_BoS.exe

Install Batttle of Stalingrad (even if you never bought Battle of Stalingrad) and the rest of your content will appear in game. All of the games uses the Battle of Stalingrad as a content manager.

Its confusing as #%&*$# and completely stupid for them to do it this way. It confuses almost everyone who tried to buy one of their products but they refuse to see it as a problem.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com
Blood, Guts and Oil, My youtube channel
twitch.tv/masterjts

Unofficial SimHQ Discord
#4434033 - 08/12/18 08:49 PM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 650
5555 Offline
Phil S
5555  Offline
Phil S
Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 650
Civilized California

Dear Master,


I read your response to my questions and then ventured to the BOS, which I do own along with Kuban along with Bodenplatte (which I cannot download to install either), download link and followed the download instructions. I now have a reinstalled BOM and BOS. In the main game menu I can see references to other 1CGS programs which I own such as Bodenplatte and Flying Circus. But how do I use this "link" to obtain access to the installers of these two programs? So, much help is still needed to unravel this mess.....

#4434034 - 08/12/18 08:57 PM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,490
ArgonV Online tunes
Hotshot
ArgonV  Online Tunes
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,490
College Station, Texas, USA
Originally Posted by 5555

Dear Master,


I read your response to my questions and then ventured to the BOS, which I do own along with Kuban along with Bodenplatte (which I cannot download to install either), download link and followed the download instructions. I now have a reinstalled BOM and BOS. In the main game menu I can see references to other 1CGS programs which I own such as Bodenplatte and Flying Circus. But how do I use this "link" to obtain access to the installers of these two programs? So, much help is still needed to unravel this mess.....


There are no separate installers as of yet, the WWI content is within BoS/BoM/etc. Just run your BoS game, and you should see the WWI aircraft available for selection.

Remember gents, this is all early access. Don't expect much polish with the install process or content at this point.


"Go Fly A Kite!"
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader
FS-WWI Plane Pack Site

Intel i7 990X @ 4.0Ghz
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R motherboard
12GB Patriot Viper II Sector 7 Edition DDR3
AMD XFX 295x2 8GB Hydra Edition
3x1 ASUS PA248Q 24" LCDs in Eyefinity
1200W Thermaltake Toughpower Grand PSU
600GB Velociraptor 10k rpm HDD
1TB Velociraptor 10k rpm HDD
Sound Blaster ZxR
Win 7 x64 Ultimate
HOTAS Cougar #4069 w/Uber II Nxt mod #284 & UTM bushings
#4434043 - 08/12/18 10:52 PM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 650
5555 Offline
Phil S
5555  Offline
Phil S
Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 650
Civilized California


Alas my hero Argon V.................................Basic Marketing Questions: Why release and announce several new products when there is no factory support? Why bury the installer of a new product in the main menu of an older product? And again without "support". By the way, I have tried to access as yet uninstalled 1CGS products (eg. Bodenplatte and Flying Circus) from the main menu of BOS. No response. Where is Jason????

#4434109 - 08/13/18 06:07 PM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,863
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,863
NW Alabama, USA
Jason doesnt post at SimHQ anymore (or at least not often). You should try their official forums.

They are trying to rebrand IL2 as a combined arms sims across multiple theaters and times. They think that the IL2 Sturmovik names has enough recognition that it should be used for a product unrelated to that actual plane.

That is their error as it confuses a lot of people.

But think of it like this. There is ONE installer for ALL of their products. Like DCS World. Except they didnt rename it to something that people would understand smile. Imagine DCS World and all of it's product under the SU-27 Flanker product name biggrin


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com
Blood, Guts and Oil, My youtube channel
twitch.tv/masterjts

Unofficial SimHQ Discord
#4434138 - 08/13/18 10:38 PM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 650
5555 Offline
Phil S
5555  Offline
Phil S
Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 650
Civilized California

I see the "collusion linkage" in the Russian product development. However, I am yet to find a "module manager" as in DCS World which facilitates installations. Note though the DCS World module manager works only when the most up to date revision is first installed. There are new revisions each week.

First Eagles did not have a product launch. It had a "product escape" which was well announced, but unsupported. I am now three weeks into my 1CGS or 777 Studios purchase and have no information regarding product the product installer for which I paid $69 to acquire. Neither have I had a response to the emails I have sent to Support@1cgs.net or Sales@1cgs.net and to their Face Book page.

I have looked to my account at 1CGS, yet each time I attempt to download First Eagles via the license key or product name the only download link provided is to BOM. I have opened BOS and see the names of the products I have purchased listed on the main menu, but no link to a DCS module manager-like product updater or installer.

If anyone knows of a master installer for 1CGS/777 Studios, I would like very much to learn how to access it. In my years of PC gaming, or professional life, have I witnessed and the fool to participate in an extremely poor product marketing management experience.

#4434221 - 08/14/18 07:13 PM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,863
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,863
NW Alabama, USA
IL-2 Battle of Stalingrad IS the module manager.

Start up IL2:BoS and log into the game. Then go to the instant mission maker and use the drop down to select either the Spad or DR1.

The content is there. Problem is that FC doesnt have any content other than the two planes in the beta. You can only fly them on ww2 terrains and only against each other or against ww2 planes.

To play Flying Circus you MUST (HAVE TO, THE ONLY WAY) download the IL2 Battle of Stalingrad launcher/downloader.

I think there must be a language barrier going on here. So watch this video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YSDRPvAQSy8


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com
Blood, Guts and Oil, My youtube channel
twitch.tv/masterjts

Unofficial SimHQ Discord
#4434223 - 08/14/18 07:20 PM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 24,450
Dart Offline
Measured in Llamathrusts
Dart  Offline
Measured in Llamathrusts
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 24,450
Alabaster, AL USA
That's pretty weird.


The opinions of this poster are largely based on facts and portray a possible version of the actual events.

More dumb stuff at http://www.darts-page.com

From Laser:
"The forum is the place where combat (real time) flight simulator fans come to play turn based strategy combat."
#4434225 - 08/14/18 07:38 PM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,863
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,863
NW Alabama, USA
Dont post that over at the official IL2 forums... everyone thinks its perfectly standard and normal to hide tank crew and Flying Circus in the menus of IL2BoS lol

They should have just done a full rebrand. If they HAVE to keep the IL2 then make it IL-2: Historic Battles or whatever.

But leaving it as IL-2 Battle of Stalingrad: Historic Battle Series is just stupid.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com
Blood, Guts and Oil, My youtube channel
twitch.tv/masterjts

Unofficial SimHQ Discord
#4434241 - 08/14/18 09:27 PM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 650
5555 Offline
Phil S
5555  Offline
Phil S
Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 650
Civilized California


What a marvelous adventure! Dart might think it weird. I believe this early of a yet finished code is a pyramid game. I did go to "Quick Mission" and stumbled into the "click and hope" search for a WWI aircraft. Once located I tried to intuit where the plane controls might be, like engine power. I failed to find the engine power controls and subsequently crashed on to a field of Rhzev (really?? A complete Russian conspiracy. I thought I was only involved in adoptions). I thank Master for pointing out how the sophomores think. I have sent several emails addressing my "annoyed jabber" and commented on the 1CGS forum.

Does anyone know when this "game" escape to independent status?

#4434274 - 08/15/18 02:51 AM Re: But does it FLY?? [Re: 5555]  
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 622
FlyingMonkey Offline
Member
FlyingMonkey  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 622
Down under in Adelaide
Well to be fair, they are in the process of rebranding the general thing "IL2 Great Battles".
5555, Flying Circus will not be independently installed, it will remain a part of IL2 Great Battles. When the French map will be ready, you'll be able to use the quickmission builder to fly WWI mission there, and I think we'll get a scripted campaign for it, and if yes that would simply appear along other campaigns there. If we're lucky and there's enough support for Flying Circus we might get a career mode for that, and then you'll be able to go into "Career" and choose one from WWI instead of WWII.
Personally I fail to see what's wrong with that, apart from the fact that we're currently lacking a UI which gives a WWI look and feel, but hopefully that will come later on in the career mode. I'm just glad we're getting a modern engine in which to run WWI aerial combat. This is not ROF II (I would have been fine with that too though).


Moderated by  Avimimus, RacerGT, Wklink 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
New Half Life game.... but VR only?
by Khai. 11/19/19 01:31 PM
Too Funny
by vonBaur. 11/17/19 04:51 PM
Important Birthday Tomorrow
by rwatson. 11/17/19 12:00 PM
70 weeks of intense self-learning
by MarkG. 11/16/19 07:15 PM
We are about to hit peak Nicolas Cage
by Ajay. 11/16/19 12:52 AM
Legacy Rock Bands
by PanzerMeyer. 11/14/19 04:02 PM
Memphis Belle in Color
by NoFlyBoy. 11/13/19 05:30 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0