Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 38 of 47 1 2 36 37 38 39 40 46 47
#4432233 - 07/29/18 05:04 PM Re: The SimHQ Diet and Training Thread - everyone feel free to join [Re: RSColonel_131st]  
mugwump Offline
mugwump  Offline

Vancouver, Canuckistan
I've been doing the keto diet for five months now and I lost 40 pounds. I'd tried it last summer and lost about 15 pounds but I quit when I got my blood work checked any my LDL and total cholesterol had gone up by about 30% from the healthy range and into the unhealthy range. Naturally, I gained most of the weight back in about 4 months. I read up on the keto diet and cholesterol and decided to try again but modify the diet in an effort to mitigate the cholesterol issues. Unfortunately, it didn't work. I've had my blood work checked twice while on this diet and the LDL and total cholesterol keep going up. It's now well into DANGER territory so I'm going to have to find a new solution. It's frustrating as this had been working well for me although I had plateaued and not lost any weight for about a month. I felt good on the diet and, after a few rough weeks adjusting to the requirements (planning meals, not going out to eat, spending a lot more on food), I found it easy to follow. I've done a lot of reading on the diet and it turns out there is a subset of the population who will experience massive spikes in cholesterol while on the keto diet. They're known as hyper responders. It appears that this may be linked to the APOE gene. This gene is also linked to Alzheimer's disease. The gene has three major varients, e2, e3, and e4. You'll inherit alleles from your parents and will likely see a combo of the two alleles (e2/e3 for example). Those with one or two e4 alleles seem to suffer from cholesterol spikes while on this diet.