Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4431752 - 07/25/18 06:08 PM Router necessary ??  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,576
rwatson Offline
Senior Member
rwatson  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,576
New Concord, Ohio
Recently had my router/modem replace because my internet connection kept dropping out...The tech?/ put in a bare bones modem...Here I have one computer no wireless..I fly EAW on-line ,,Spectrum gave me a McAfee security suite that sticks blocks too many legitimate sites and seemed to block my on-line flying...So should i call them and get back my modem/router setup I had before??..It's was OK until it started randomly dropping my connection Thanks for any advice


Russ
Semper Fi
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4431753 - 07/25/18 06:25 PM Re: Router necessary ?? [Re: rwatson]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,574
Bill_Grant Offline
Hotshot
Bill_Grant  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,574
Dallas, TX
No sir, it is not necessary.
But a Router does add a layer of protection. It hides the devices behind your modem.


~Bill

Warning: My sense of Humor may hurt your feelings!
#4431773 - 07/25/18 09:37 PM Re: Router necessary ?? [Re: rwatson]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,576
rwatson Offline
Senior Member
rwatson  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,576
New Concord, Ohio
That's what I'm trying to figure out Bill..I'm a low ball tech guy ..just a P.C.and don't intend on anything wireless,,Spectrum has a McAfee security suite but screwed up my EAW on-line..I suppose I'm best off because all my bill paying and Amazon are done on line Just googling on=line most sites predict disaster if you don't use a router even with just one machine


Russ
Semper Fi
#4431777 - 07/25/18 09:54 PM Re: Router necessary ?? [Re: rwatson]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,861
RSColonel_131st Offline
Lifer
RSColonel_131st  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,861
Vienna, 2nd rock left.
Too many possible attack vectors if your system is online without NAT. Software Firewalls will not cover all you need and are easy to auto-missconfigure themselves. The most basic wired router will do the job and only cost you about 20-30 bucks. Your modem is USB or Ethernet?

#4431814 - 07/26/18 02:25 AM Re: Router necessary ?? [Re: rwatson]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19,390
Raw Kryptonite Offline
Beat the Kobayashi Maru
Raw Kryptonite  Offline
Beat the Kobayashi Maru
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19,390
MS
Uninstall McAfee, it’s firewall is most likely the issue. That wouldn’t change even if you went back to the old hardware.
Windows built in suite is fine, assuming you’re on Win 7,8 or 10.
A home “router” is typically a multifunction device including a router, switch and wireless access...it isn’t just about putting wifi in the house. You can have the wifi off if you want but still have the security a router provides, including a more intelligent firewall than McAfee.


·Steam: Raw Kryptonite ·MWO & Elite Dangerous: Defcon Won ·Meager youtube channel
·Intel i5-9600K ·EVGA GTX1070 FTW 8GB ·EVGA CLC 120 Cooler
·16 GB Patriot Memory VIPER 4 3000MHz ·GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WiFi Mobo
· CORSAIR CARBIDE AIR 540 case ·BenQ BL3200PT monitor
#4431834 - 07/26/18 08:16 AM Re: Router necessary ?? [Re: rwatson]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,576
rwatson Offline
Senior Member
rwatson  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,576
New Concord, Ohio
Thanks Col and RK..I'm going ahead and have a tech coming today to switch me back to a router/modem setup.I mostly fly EAW on line and before I had a modem router that died and it was simple enough to forward a few ports and connected easily......An extra level of security won't hurt and maybe some where down the line I might want to try a streaming service for movies or perhaps a kindle.Then I''ll fire up the wireless .I',m getting tired of walking back and forth to the library and my neighbor showed me his kindle and I kind of liked it,,although I'm old school and just enjoy holding a real book and turning paper pages..But my book shelf is full up and might take the plunge Col it's an Ethernet connection


Russ
Semper Fi
#4431872 - 07/26/18 02:50 PM Re: Router necessary ?? [Re: rwatson]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,106
Brigstock Offline
Senior Member
Brigstock  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,106
London, England
Good move. As Col said you don't need a router, but the added layer of security it gives you is a must in this day and age.

#4431958 - 07/27/18 07:37 AM Re: Router necessary ?? [Re: rwatson]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,576
rwatson Offline
Senior Member
rwatson  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,576
New Concord, Ohio
got the router installed and this time it's a seperate router not the all in one thing,,all is working fine and found the page for the set up and got my ports forwarded to fly on line,,,checking out kindles and moving up tech wise


Russ
Semper Fi

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Re floating of the USS Oklahoma
by 3instein. 12/12/19 08:26 AM
Are we having too many children?
by NoFlyBoy. 12/12/19 03:03 AM
Arrowverse Crisis crossover special
by Raw Kryptonite. 12/12/19 12:17 AM
Highest Scoring Aces Still Living
by F4UDash4. 12/11/19 02:18 PM
Ghostbusters : Afterlife
by Khai. 12/09/19 02:33 PM
Honey Badger doesn't give a #%&*$#
by Chucky. 12/09/19 01:51 PM
Pin-Up: World of Warships musical
by Sokol1. 12/09/19 01:40 PM
Current state of "Study" sims
by Andy T. 12/09/19 03:32 AM
René Auberjonois was 79
by F4UDash4. 12/09/19 03:23 AM
The movies coming soon thread.
by NoFlyBoy. 12/08/19 09:18 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0