Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
#4434879 - 08/19/18 05:03 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn
New update build (1023) and "Hot-Fix" patch released...

GB Hot-Fix Patch #001

Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4435526 - 08/23/18 10:01 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,832
Paradaz Offline
Senior Member
Paradaz  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,832
UK
I had a very short run around one of the maps just to get a feel for the mechanics, I'll be revisiting but the one thing that stood out immediately.......

Why can't devs get looking down a sight correctly.?....Ground Branch is exactly the same as Arma 3 early access before Bohemia went back to the drawing board. Please oh please can the devs look down a sight and they will see that;

Looking down a sight loses a lot if almost all peripheral vision....of there is any peripheral vision then it is blurred because it is not what you're focusing on.

The sight picture is only sharp when you look through the centre of the sight

Your arms are not fully extended when looking through the optics

I'm ex-military and yes, I have OCD when I see something so simple done so wrong.....Ill post a picture tomorrow but I hope the devs have a closer look at this.


On the Eighth day God created Paratroopers and the Devil stood to attention.
#4435568 - 08/24/18 11:59 AM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn
Build update #002...

Change log:
Change Log #002

Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4436569 - 08/31/18 08:55 AM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,832
Paradaz Offline
Senior Member
Paradaz  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,832
UK
Here's my beef regarding the optics/camera views from first 2 minutes of play, all settings/binding are default so not sure if there is anything I'm missing or whether it can be changed with the camera settings?

With weapon brought up into the 'ready' position the 3rd person view and sight picture is viewed as below;

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

However, when you bring the sight up and supposedly look through the optics, see below;

The 3rd party view doesn't look too bad, and I appreciate that your eyes are varying distances away for different optics.....i.e your eyes will be almost touching the sight on a sniper scope but will be further back for an ACOG......but Ground Branch just seems to have it all wrong whereas in many other areas of the game they've got it bang on.....

[Linked Image]

...but this is the one that really gives me a massive bug-bear

[Linked Image]

If you looking through the optics to get this sort of sight picture, there is no way that much of butt of the weapon is visible, nor would it be the periphery be in focus and nor would you have peripheral vision left, right and above the scope (and certainly not with the same clarity of the view you get through the sight) and to be honest if your eyes were that far away from the optics you wouldn't be viewing an image as clear as that through the eye-piece anyway. If I recall correctly, Arma 3 had the same problem in early access but then it was rectified into something very realistic.

[Linked Image]


On the Eighth day God created Paratroopers and the Devil stood to attention.
#4437307 - 09/05/18 12:13 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 40
jsonedecker Offline
Junior Member
jsonedecker  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks for the feedback. Remember that you can move your optic on the rail and in this instance you still have plenty of space to move it closer to the rear. That will get you the sight picture you are after.

I also hear you on the optic's behavior when farther away. Unfortunately that is a tough issue to tackle with scope shadows and various other visual issues. Its something we don't have the resources to tackle at the moment.

#4439091 - 09/15/18 12:03 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn
New update (#003 FUBAR) on a new Unreal engine update. Circa 2.1GB download. Read about it below...
GB Update #003 FUBAR

Great stuff John/GB Team!

Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4439269 - 09/16/18 09:07 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: jsonedecker]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
North Yorkshire, UK
Hi,

Ive just picked this up and just had a quick run through on the training level maps.

Liking what I see. But don't get how you move the sight back? When I go into the setup screen I move the sight to the rear of the rail, click "apply" go back into the game and the sight is still in the previous posistion. (Which as Para mentions is way too far forward).

I'm I missing something?

Thanks!

#4439381 - 09/17/18 03:23 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Ratcatcher]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn
Originally Posted by Ratcatcher
Hi,

Ive just picked this up and just had a quick run through on the training level maps.

Liking what I see. But don't get how you move the sight back? When I go into the setup screen I move the sight to the rear of the rail, click "apply" go back into the game and the sight is still in the previous posistion. (Which as Para mentions is way too far forward).

I'm I missing something?

Thanks!


Hi,

While in the setup (loadout) screen, when you "move" any Item, you will see a green or orange outline around the object you are moving. Move the object in such a way (on the rail) so that the outline is "green", that means that the object can and will snap to that location. Release the object and it should stay were you left it, if the green outline was there on release. Hope it makes sense...

Sometimes you wont see the green or orange outline because you are out of the snap area, in other words, the object can not be placed there. Orange outline means that object is selected, green outline means it can snap/fit to that object/location.

Have fun!

Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4439927 - 09/20/18 05:05 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
North Yorkshire, UK
Originally Posted by Red2112


Hi,

While in the setup (loadout) screen, when you "move" any Item, you will see a green or orange outline around the object you are moving. Move the object in such a way (on the rail) so that the outline is "green", that means that the object can and will snap to that location. Release the object and it should stay were you left it, if the green outline was there on release. Hope it makes sense...

Sometimes you wont see the green or orange outline because you are out of the snap area, in other words, the object can not be placed there. Orange outline means that object is selected, green outline means it can snap/fit to that object/location.

Have fun!

Red


Hey Red,

Many thanks for taking the time to explain that! Much appreciated.

Makes sense, will try it out as soon as I can. Though had been setting the sight as far back as the rail went so I guess it wont be as far back as I would like!

Cheers

thumbsup

#4440374 - 09/23/18 05:43 AM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
North Yorkshire, UK
Well I still haven't had much time recently to explore this game properly, but did spend some time last night trying to set the weapons up. No matter what I tried I can not get the sight to stay in the posistion I set it at.

I get the orange outline as I move it from one point to another. I only get the green outline when I am moving the sight toward the weapon. When it actually moves onto the rail it just stays orange. I've tried all sorts of differnet sights and swopped weapons about. Still no joy.

Baffled!

#4440388 - 09/23/18 10:01 AM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Ratcatcher]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn
Originally Posted by Ratcatcher
Well I still haven't had much time recently to explore this game properly, but did spend some time last night trying to set the weapons up. No matter what I tried I can not get the sight to stay in the posistion I set it at.

I get the orange outline as I move it from one point to another. I only get the green outline when I am moving the sight toward the weapon. When it actually moves onto the rail it just stays orange. I've tried all sorts of differnet sights and swopped weapons about. Still no joy.

Baffled!


Green outline means it can "snap" to that position. Somtimes it´s hard to see and the "snap" guide has very little margen from being up or down. It´s like a thin line that you have to follow in a horizontal plain. So once you see the green outline show up hold your mouse steady in that horizontal plain and move it left or right, then release your mouse key and it should snap to that position if the green outline was there when you released it.


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4440445 - 09/23/18 05:51 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
North Yorkshire, UK
Hey Red, thanks again for helping out.

I finally fixed it and it was all to do with my Anti Virus. I had to disable it scanning my "User" folder/Ground Branch, without doing this it wont allow the game to save changes to the files!

Blimey, thought I was going mad. LOL. BTW if anyone else has this issue - I'm using Bitdefender.

Cheers!

#4440460 - 09/23/18 07:50 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Ratcatcher]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn
Your welcome. Glad you got it fix and working.

Have fun!


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4440514 - 09/24/18 09:56 AM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
North Yorkshire, UK
Not sure if these have been noted (or even if the Dev's still drop in here) but thought I'd mention them:

1: Weapon sight picture - When you stand its rock solid. When you crouch it has a small amount of sway! Should be the other way round or even better. Largest amount of sway when moving, Less when standing still and smallest amount when kneeling. Adoption of an ability to rest agianst low walls, over furnture, etc (ala SQUAD) would be great!

I would like to see implementation of fatigue as well - nothing too mad. SCUM/SQUAD does it quite well as does ARMA but havent played that in a loooong time.

I also would like to see a "hold breath" mechanic.

2: Bino's. At the moment if I use binoculars on my 29" monitor it only has a black mask for about half the screen. So you get the optic in the center surrounded by about 4" of the mask then the rest of the screen is showing through.

Cheers

Last edited by Ratcatcher; 09/24/18 09:59 AM.
#4440629 - 09/24/18 07:40 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn
Yes alot of these things are being looked at and/or in WIP. You can join the GB Discord channel which is were most of us hang out or look for other players for multiplayer sessions, join teams ect. Devs are there too, so you can ask questions aswell and they will be happy to reply...

Discord invite:
GB Discord channel

Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4440634 - 09/24/18 08:30 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 606
North Yorkshire, UK
Thanks agian Red, will be sure to check out the forum when I get chance. Hopefully I can drop in before I leave for our hols on Thursday!

Good to hear that those things are being looked at. thumbsup

#4442511 - 10/06/18 04:39 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn
New build update #005 is live...
Ground Branch update #005 notes.

Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4449618 - 11/20/18 01:31 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn
New build update #6 (281,1mb)...

Log:
Ground Branch Build #6 Dev Log

On sale at Green Man Gaming 20% off (€13,43):
Green Man Gaming 20% off sale (GB)

Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4452506 - 12/09/18 12:13 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn


Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
#4453151 - 12/13/18 07:58 PM Re: Ground Branch [Re: Red2112]  
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Red2112 Offline
Member
Red2112  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 599
Airborn
New build update #007...
Update log

Although in it´s first pass, you can now host your own server from your PC. smile2 See update log for more info and how-to.

Red


Win10 Pro(x64), i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32GB ram DDR4, EVGA GTX 1070ti 8GB, M.2 PCIe NVMe (x2) 480GB + 960GB SSD´s, LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9 monitor Logitech G13, G502, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, TrackIR 5.0, Corsair Void Pro 7.1 USB.
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  Meatsheild, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
WW2 still finding bodies
by Alicatt. 10/10/19 04:10 PM
That moment in time....
by Bill_Grant. 10/09/19 01:35 PM
A minister, a priest and a rabbi ....
by Bill_Grant. 10/08/19 04:56 PM
Old folks and old tricks
by Sluggish Controls. 10/08/19 06:11 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0