Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4405619 - 02/17/18 11:57 AM To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,817
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,817
EURO-zone
Based on some readings here and at the Rof forum, I did noticed some positive remarks on a program called Nvidia Inspector. So yep why not Google about this and I did found this for reading:
http://www.simforums.com/forums/topic36586&MobileView=off.html
https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/nvidia-inspector-introduction-and-guide.403676/

Intresting in my point of view. Only I would like to know as an member of the “keep your system lean & mean” does this have impact on your system performance, does this Inspector run on the back ground or only adjust the hidden Nvidia settings?
So what is your experience on Woff, is it needed for Woff or is it better to move over to an old 2010 alternative like Nhancer that can better handle an old CFS3 game engine?
http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/nhancer-2-5-9.html

I’m using Win10-64bit btw

#4405626 - 02/17/18 01:33 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: dutch]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,686
RAF_Louvert Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
Senior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,686
L'Etoile du Nord
Dutch, I did use Nvidia Inspector in the past but since switching to W10 I have gone back to the standard Nvidia CP as I was seeing no improvement and at times some hinky behavior, likely because Inspector and W10 don't always play well together. Others here may well have different experiences with the combination. HTH.

Lou

#4405644 - 02/17/18 02:31 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,081
Hellshade Offline
Hellshade
Hellshade  Offline
Hellshade
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,081
Florida
Originally Posted by RAF_Louvert
Dutch, I did use Nvidia Inspector in the past but since switching to W10 I have gone back to the standard Nvidia CP as I was seeing no improvement and at times some hinky behavior, likely because Inspector and W10 don't always play well together. Others here may well have different experiences with the combination. HTH.

Lou



Lou,

That has been my same experience. I just use the Nvidia Control Panel and all works well for me.


Flying Wings Over Flanders Fields Ultimate Edition 5.x
videos at www.youtube.com/hellshade68

System Specs
(warning)
Intel i7 6700K OC 4.6 Ghz
Corsair Hydro H60 Liquid Cooler
16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM
2 x EVO 850 1TB SSD Drives (OS & Games)
1 Intel 240GB SSD drive (Scratch drive for videos)
MSI Z170 GAMER M7 Motherboard
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Corsair CX850M Power Supply
Acer XB280HK 27" G-SYNC Monitor
Corsair RGB STRAFE MX Silent Keyboard
Windows 10 Home 64 bit

#4406151 - 02/19/18 06:10 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,817
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,817
EURO-zone
Thanks for the info.

#4406315 - 02/20/18 02:44 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,289
MajorMagee Online content
Member
MajorMagee  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,289
Dayton, OH
I still need to use NVIDIA Profile Inspector to set Antialiasing compatibility for my 980 GTX and G-Sync monitor.

Ever since the Win 10 Fall Creators Update my optimal AA settings no longer do anything in game (edges are very jagged) if I don't use Inspector to set the extra compatibility bits.

In my case the setting Override Any Application Setting, 4x Multisampling, 4x Sparse Grid Supersampling, and LOD Bias -1.0 that used to work with great results, now only works if I set 0x004412C1 compatibility as well, and that can't be done through the Standard Control Panel.

FXAA, the post process version of AA can still be successfully set in CP without the compatibility bits, but that is not nearly as effective as SGSSAA in reducing texture shimmering, and tends to make things blurry.


Service To The Line,
On The Line,
On Time

US Army Ordnance Corps.
#4406330 - 02/20/18 03:25 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: MajorMagee]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,214
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,214
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by MajorMagee
I still need to use NVIDIA Profile Inspector to set Antialiasing compatibility for my 980 GTX and G-Sync monitor.

Ever since the Win 10 Fall Creators Update my optimal AA settings no longer do anything in game (edges are very jagged) if I don't use Inspector to set the extra compatibility bits.

In my case the setting Override Any Application Setting, 4x Multisampling, 4x Sparse Grid Supersampling, and LOD Bias -1.0 that used to work with great results, now only works if I set 0x004412C1 compatibility as well, and that can't be done through the Standard Control Panel.

FXAA, the post process version of AA can still be successfully set in CP without the compatibility bits, but that is not nearly as effective as SGSSAA in reducing texture shimmering, and tends to make things blurry.


Major, that is very interesting and makes me wonder why your graphics requirement is so different from Lou's. He is also on Win 10 but I am not sure about whether he has the Fall Creators Update. My system is still win 7 with 980ti and G-sync and I don't need inspector....yet!


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4406412 - 02/20/18 08:18 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,289
MajorMagee Online content
Member
MajorMagee  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,289
Dayton, OH
It's probably a function call that was "improved" in the updated WDDM that came out with the Fall Creators Update. When I noticed that AA had stopped working I tried new NVIDIA video drivers, reinstalling DX9c, and a wide range of other control panel settings changes both in the game and in the NVCP all to no effect. What I finally found that actually worked was using NvidiaProfileInspector to set the AA Compatibility bits. In the past this was not needed, and the value could remain at the default 0x00000000. Now it needs one of several that end with 40, 41, or C1.

40
41
240
1040
1241
F0C1
100C1
20041
401241
401840
4412C1

There are subtle effect differences between each one, but generally they fall into the three main groups defined by the last two digits. Right now I've settled on the last one, as it's biased toward darkening the edges its aliasing.


Service To The Line,
On The Line,
On Time

US Army Ordnance Corps.
#4503123 - 01/08/20 06:13 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: MajorMagee]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,219
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,219
Originally Posted by MajorMagee
It's probably a function call that was "improved" in the updated WDDM that came out with the Fall Creators Update. When I noticed that AA had stopped working I tried new NVIDIA video drivers, reinstalling DX9c, and a wide range of other control panel settings changes both in the game and in the NVCP all to no effect. What I finally found that actually worked was using NvidiaProfileInspector to set the AA Compatibility bits. In the past this was not needed, and the value could remain at the default 0x00000000. Now it needs one of several that end with 40, 41, or C1.

40
41
240
1040
1241
F0C1
100C1
20041
401241
401840
4412C1

There are subtle effect differences between each one, but generally they fall into the three main groups defined by the last two digits. Right now I've settled on the last one, as it's biased toward darkening the edges its aliasing.


Since our current DiD campaign is suspended due to poor weather, I have time this week to look at antialiasing, which is the final area of possible improvement for me right now: I searched the forums and came up with your post, which I had not seen before, Major. I am well aware that Nvidia driver updates tend to reset Inspector profile settings (or at least, switch off the .exe specific profiles until you reselect them with Inspector, which is a pain). I wasn't aware that MS Win 10 updates alos messed with things? Are you still maintaining this tweak or is it outdated at this point? I guess I can mess with it to see smile

#4503124 - 01/08/20 06:17 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: HarryH]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,219
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,219
The other related point here, is that I've found the in-game antialiasing to be better than anything I could achieve with Inspector to date, but it comes with a performance hit. It would be really nice to be able to offload that processing and be able to get things shimmer-free smile

#4503127 - 01/08/20 06:42 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,219
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,219
.... OK, Major, you're a genius! Your settings work superbly for me. That was pretty much the last thing on my wish list! I would never have discovered this in a million years, so thank you! What an awesome collection of knowledge we have here, albeit a little scattered about wink

[Linked Image]

#4503212 - 01/09/20 07:50 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: HarryH]  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 706
CaptSopwith Offline
Barmy WingNut
CaptSopwith  Offline
Barmy WingNut
Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 706
United States
Originally Posted by HarryH
.... OK, Major, you're a genius! Your settings work superbly for me. That was pretty much the last thing on my wish list! I would never have discovered this in a million years, so thank you! What an awesome collection of knowledge we have here, albeit a little scattered about wink

[Linked Image]


Harry, that screenshot looks staggering! Have your workshop settings changed at all since you posted them in the TrackIR guide?

#4503221 - 01/09/20 08:58 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,219
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,219
I confess they have, Capt. I still stand by what I say in the guide, that with PE, the scenery and object density settings can be reduced to improve performance and things still look pretty darn good. However, once I was able to offload anti-aliasing tasks to the GPU I found that I could crank those settings back up to max and still have smooth, consistent flight, pretty much all the time. So now every single workshop setting is at max, with the exception of aircraft density, which is still a major hog when increased past medium (esp 1918). I'm also using a custom variant of PR's scenery enhancement mod to push the distance way out. AA is a well known performance hit. I still think WOFF's internal AA does a slightly nicer job, but with Major's settings, it was an easy decision for me to switch, because then everything else can be turned up smile

If I ever get to putting together the 'Tweaker's Guide', all this will go in there, of course. Right now, the info is scattered about the forum. This is a perfect example. I could not understand why AA on the Nvidia card looked so bad. The Major found out why and I had missed it entirely first time around.

Cheers

#4503234 - 01/09/20 11:03 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,289
MajorMagee Online content
Member
MajorMagee  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,289
Dayton, OH
I've recently updated my system to a Ryzen 7 3700X / RTX 2070 and yes, I'm still using the Nvidia Antialiasing Compatibility Bits for Diablo III. I check every once in a while with different Win 10 versions and Nvidia drivers and AA still doesn't work in CFS3 without the extra bits.

Last edited by MajorMagee; 01/09/20 11:10 PM.

Service To The Line,
On The Line,
On Time

US Army Ordnance Corps.
#4503235 - 01/09/20 11:06 PM Re: To use Nvidia Inspector or not to use, that is the question [Re: MajorMagee]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,219
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,219
Originally Posted by MajorMagee
Yes, I'm still using the Nvidia Antialiasing Compatibility Bits for Diablo III. I check every once in a while and with Win 10 the AA still doesn't work in CFS3 without them.


well, excellent work, and thank you again.


Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
HITMAN 2, et al
by DBond. 02/17/20 01:52 PM
I didn't know this. Women Top Guns.
by NoFlyBoy. 02/17/20 03:46 AM
Betelgeuse
by Red2112. 02/16/20 11:35 PM
Heck just a good jam
by rwatson. 02/16/20 01:57 PM
EPIC Games = epic PITA
by Dunolde. 02/15/20 09:05 PM
WWII Nose Art
by F4UDash4. 02/15/20 01:25 AM
weird ads i only see at Simhq
by Ajay. 02/15/20 12:53 AM
Wernher von Braun - 1955 Disney educational film
by PanzerMeyer. 02/14/20 11:34 AM
This commercial cracked me up!
by Force10. 02/13/20 08:03 PM
What's your rarest Steam achievement?
by DBond. 02/13/20 04:09 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0