Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#43983 - 12/09/99 06:31 PM SAMs and keeping from getting hit!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hi, I'm new to air combat. I'm flying Jane's USAF and it's great!!!

Question: What do I do to avoid getting hit by SAMs if I know where they are coming from and I deploy flares and chaff?

The flares and chaff don't seem to keep me alive. Is there a tactic I could use? Example: the SAM is heading for me on the nose.

Thanks, Tim

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#43984 - 12/10/99 12:31 AM Re: SAMs and keeping from getting hit!  
Andy Bush Offline
Site Emeritus
Air Combat Forum Moderator
Andy Bush  Offline
Site Emeritus
Air Combat Forum Moderator

Hotshot

St Charles, MO
Hi Tim

The accepted SAM defense is to turn to put the missile about 30 to 45 degrees either side of your nose as you nose your plane over slightly and begin a descent to gain speed.

Your game plan is to fly a hard, rolling maneuver into the missile, forcing it to maneuver in more than one plane of motion. The result is that the missile will not be able to pull enough lead to make the intercept.

The problem from your point of view is knowing when to begin the defensive maneuver. In the real world, this will vary depending on the missile type. In the sim world, it all depends on how the sim artificial intelligence (AI)...meaning its program...has the missile behave. This may or may not be 'realistic', and in any case, the AI may have you getting hit no matter what you do. Such is the world of sims!!